We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stale cakes” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie Deux Amis

Patisserie Deux Amis
63 Judd Street, London, England (Bloomsbury)
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 234 Bakeries in London
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stale cakes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The cakes were very stale.... Brownie rock hard with no moistness or chewiness at all. Apple cake was OK but I only chose it because it looked like it had some moisture in it! Coffee was OK, a bit weak. I was very disappointed as it is a nice little shop and looks very inviting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“don't go, it's mine, ok?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I don't really want to tell you how good this place is, because I'm intent on keeping it for me. It's the most civilised, delicious, tranquil corner of Bloomsbury, where I always breakfast when working at the British Library. Good coffee, excellent fresh French pastries, an old-fashioned corner-cafe feel, and pleasant European staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love this cafe for breakfast or for a relaxing afternoon tea. The coffee is good but nothing special - the pastries and cakes are the real attraction; the croissants are probably the best I have had in London. There are two outdoor tables and a few indoors which gives it a cosy "front room" sort of feel with a relaxing ambiance. a selection of daily newspapers and polite, friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The place is well located, the food is good and of quality (my friends even said the pain au chocolat beat their local bakery's back in France!!) and it is nice to be able to sit down and have a coffee and a chat. The only downside is the one waiter: can make things a bit hectic at times, but we got served quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good all year around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I go to this little cafe quite often, on my way to work. At 9.00 on the dot they are up and running, although I wish they opened earlier. My husband and I LOVE their pastries and cakes and I sometimes buy their lovely little cakes topped with fruit as weekend treats for family/friends. However, I have to admit that they can do much better with coffee quality/preparation. For that reason I often pick up one or two pastries and have them with coffee prepared in the office or at home.
As for staff friendliness, I think one cannot ask for more, they are always attentive, respectful and approachable.
There are always a number of newspapers to peruse while you get your coffee, as well as great bread loaves for sale.
All in all it is very good value for money (including the coffee!). I remember they kept their prices quite low for a very long while, just updating them last year: check a little display by the counter, and you will see that prices are from 2012.
Be aware that there are only a few tables, so you might be able to overhear some unrequested conversations!
TIP: They do not accept cards.
PS: TripAdvisor, please update this cafe's details: it's called Deux Amis (with S, not E).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Deux Amis also viewed

 

Been to Patisserie Deux Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patisserie Deux Amis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.