We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galvin La Chapelle

Galvin La Chapelle
35 Spital Square, London E1 6DY, England
+44 20 7299 0400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $86 - $233
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The third restaurant to be opened by acclaimed chef brothers Chris and Jeff Galvin, La Chapelle has been consistently praised, winning no less than 8 top restaurant awards in its first year, including AA London Restaurant of the Year, and Tatler magazine's Restaurant of the Year. Chef Patron, Jeff Galvin, provides a menu of modern French cuisine, gaining a Michelin star in the 2011 Red Guide, just a year after the restaurant opened. There is also a menu gourmand, prix fixe lunch, early dinner menu, and Sunday Roast lunch menu. The service, under the direction of Alessandro Piombino and his team, effortlessly combines warm, friendly and attentive hospitality with a fine sense of tradition and decorum, in keeping with the grandeur of this Grade II-listed building. The restaurant is one of the few restaurants in London to hold a vertical list of Hermitage La Chapelle wines.
midlands
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Have wanted to do this place for a while Did lunch prix fixee today Excellent quality food and impeccable service Great atmosphere Will definitely be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    198
    69
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bed expirienc”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Food was not delices. Small disease over price all over. We were 4 . And all of us very disappointing.we will not come back!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a pleasant lunch. Smoked eel was a great choice as a starter and the red mullet main course was also very nice. I didn't have dessert so can't comment. Good wine list but not cheap. Service was efficient and polite. Was fairly quiet. I would eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Went there for a business lunch, found the quality of the food good, but the service was incredibly slow. Took ages for us to have our order taken, bread was slow, time between courses too long. We ended up being the last people in pretty much. Very nice surroundings though.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining experience at Galvin La Chapelle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I dined at Galvin La Chapelle last night, (for the closing ceremony of my 40th birthday celebrations), and we had a fabulous time.

We were tempted by the tasting menu, but opted for the a'la carte, and we cannot fault our menu choices.

We were waited on impeccably, and Henry in particular was especially attentive.

We would definitely return to dine here, and can highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galvin La Chapelle also viewed

 

Been to Galvin La Chapelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galvin La Chapelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.