We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Genie's at Hollands

Genie's at Hollands
6, Portland Road | Holland Park, London, England
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Genie's at Hollands is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12,888 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Thai, Fusion, Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had a very nice meal here - the setting is beautiful, and the hostess is extremely welcoming. The food was the best. I wish I had discovered this on my first night in town instead of the last.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Saturday night at Genies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I loved the decor of the restaurant and the staff were friendly, but we were the only people in the restaurant on a Saturday night! The food was good, although overpriced for what it is. On Saturdays they have live entertainment and as the guy set up he burped loudly whilst we ate! He apologised, but for someone working in a restaurant this is somewhat inappropriate. All in all we will not rush back there in a hurry. Which is a shame as they could do well in the location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Always a fun night!! I've been there for many times now-Dinner at the restaurant, private dining upstairs. Food, service and pianist were excellent! Loved it and will always come back. What a great little find at Holland Park. Thank u to all the staff that made it!! Will always recommend you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Frozen food served at high prices!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very expensive for average, greasy food. The waitress recommended us a starter dish but it was all fried, greasy stuff not worth the money - all fried from frozen (which you can buy from any freezer in any chinese supermarket. It's not fresh and its tasteless. It's a cheek to charge so much for tasteless stuff fried from frozen that probably cost no more than £2 for the whole platter!

This restaurant would be great if they provided fresh, good food at a reasonable price. You can get much better food around Notting Hill Gate.

Genie really needs to take a good look at the decour, which is old and looks tasteless! It can be modernised even if it is traditional. Its about creating Style.

The restaurant is probably still running because of the music....definately no for its food!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Over the top pricing for average food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Looks nice from the outside but very dated on the inside and smells "old" - 80's decor which by the pictures of events dating back to 1995 was the last time it was updated.

The menu is Anglo Asian with prices which are ridiculous for what you get; even in Notting Hill.

As others have said the starters are deep fried directly from frozen catering packs. Crunchy mushrooms are just deep fried bread crumbed mushrooms with mayonnaise and a 80's cafe style salad garnish (lettuce and cucumber), much the same quality for the Camembert. Both served in a style and on plate you might expect while in an NHS hospital not a restaurant.

For main we had Thai which though quite flavoursome was extremely meagre in size. Dishes were £8.95 with rice an extra at £2.95 which isn't obvious when looking at the menu outside. The most outrageous is their price for drinks a bottle of Thai beer @ £4.95 and a small coke £3.25, or a bottle of average Sauvignon Blanc at an eye watering £45.

Bill took over 20 minutes to come and the place was quite quiet.

Thankfully we had a Gourmet Society card and received a 50% discount on the food, but they cleverly add a 12% tip (what for I am not sure) calculated before the discount and which they wrote the discount over in biro - I guess so they thought we wouldn't see it. When we asked they said it was "normal practice" - I always thought tips were optional in the UK.

A disappointing dining experience in all.

Save your money and spend it in one of the far better establishments in Notting Hill or pop into one of the restaurants in WestField

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genie's at Hollands also viewed

 

Been to Genie's at Hollands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genie's at Hollands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.