We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed grill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guinea Grill

Guinea Grill
Bruton Place, London W1J 6NL, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
020 7409 1728
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Guinea Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #344 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $49 - $98
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My brother is a (relatively) fat cat city banker and loves this place. It appeals to his sense of all things British and all that goes with that description.

The GG delivers on old style British, right from the doorman in his hand-me-down Harrod's security guard outfit with bowler hat to the the enthusiastic but slightly surreal waiting staff - think Manuel from Fawlty Towers.

It would be nice to believe that the interior has been knowingly created in a shabby-chic style but it is actually just chic that has become a little bit shabby.

The menu is a carnivore's delight. Lots of aged lumps of steak, chops, grills, platters and pies but with some seafood options popping up here and there.

Our order took a long while to arrive (approx 50 minutes) but when it did hit the plate it was very good. The accompanying wines were also reasonable considering their reasonable price.

The restaurant's clientele seemed to be drawn either from that strata of city trader who is enduring an unhappy marriage and wants a place where can take his similarly afflicted mates so that they can enjoy the sort of food that they served at public school, or middle-aged coach party Americans seeking a slice of the quaint.

On the evening when we went, both groups seemed to be having a great time.

I enjoyed the food but won't be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina S, General Manager at Guinea Grill, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Guinea and I’m glad you enjoyed the food and wine. As for the clientele, I’ve been running the Guinea for 25 years and I’m still waiting for our first coach party of Americans or indeed coach party from anywhere. In fact our customers are diverse and fiercely loyal, they just happen to be folk who like what they know and know what they like.

Carl Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    59
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Old style at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Funnily enough I've never been here before & it was a genuine joy to see old style British dining still alive & well. Great old style pub slightly off the beaten track near Berkeley Square. Lovely cosy restaurant at the back which does exactly what it says on the tin - well sourced, well-cooked, unfussy food. Venison excellent, great fillet & great mixed grill (lamb chop & kidney excellent). Proper waiters who serve you & aren't running around being too impressed by where they're working. Nice wine list to match. Steak pie looked amazing but not in the particular mood for it at the time. Really loved it. 3 of us - 2 starters, 3 main courses, moderate bottle of red, water & coffees c£50 a head. Not cheap but we loved it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina S, General Manager at Guinea Grill, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed the Guinea. We’ll look out for you on your next visit.

Carl Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Quaint pub with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had our wedding reception in this pub and grill last weekend. The staff were very welcoming and the beer of course was superb. The menu we chose was well balanced and the food excellent. Our 28 (the maximum they can accommodate sitting) ate in The Boardroom, a lovely atmospheric private dining room one flight up from the main bar. Katarina helped us every bit of the way to organise our evening - from the meal, to choosing the wine, flowers, wedding cake, personalised menus and place settings. We were very happy with everything - and I have now rediscovered a pub I last visited in 1976! It will not be 37 years before I visit again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina S, General Manager at Guinea Grill, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Katarina does a great job of managing our private dining events and yours was only the 2nd wedding reception we’ve ever undertaken. We’re delighted it went so well. Thank you for being such lovely guests.

Carl Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was our first time at this restaurant and we really enjoyed the place and the dinner. It is expensive but justified by the quality you get out of what you pay. The service and food was outstanding. Both, the rib eye and the sirloin were done to perfection and the side plates were very tasty. We loved the place and would definitely dine here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina S, General Manager at Guinea Grill, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you, much appreciate your kind comments

Carl Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

There is little to say except "go in with confidence". I was recommended this place by my flatmate: i will listen to him more often. Food was perfect, atmosphere fantastic and i would particularly commend the service; attentive, prompt and elegant. Do reques the services of the "sommelier" and the in-house butcher, they are great. The place is expensive; be prepared to pull out dosh; but rest assured it will be invested in a great dining experience. Perfect to visit with friends; i would also recommend it for business dinners. It sounds odd i know but the place was packed with American, British, Italian and even Japanese business men. Oh, it might be a pub, but it is quite elegant, a shirt is a must or i guarantee you will feel out of place. In any case check it out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina S, General Manager at Guinea Grill, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Really pleased you liked the Guinea.
Most of our staff have been with us for many years and they take pride in greeting new and old customers with warmth and good humour.

Carl Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guinea Grill also viewed

 

Been to Guinea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guinea Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.