We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Courtauld Gallery

The Courtauld Gallery
Somerset House, Strand, London WC2R 0RN , England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
0207 8348 2526
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Courtauld Gallery is one of the finest small museums in the world. Its collection stretches from the early Renaissance into the 20th century and is particularly renowned for the unrivalled collection of Impressionist and Post-Impressionist paintings. The Gallery also holds an outstanding collection of drawings and prints and fine example of sculpture and decorative arts.
Portlad, OR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A museum many large US cities would die for. Also and excellent and elegant cafe. We enjoyed the special exhibit of English water colorists in Paris.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,225
    353
    50
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Surprisingly underwhelming!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm a total sucker for Impressionist paintings, so Courtauld was high on my must-see list. I ended up feeling underwhelmed by it, though, and felt that the National Gallery offered a better selection of this kind of art! Courtauld is basically two small floors of artwork in a very beautiful building/area.

I'm not sad I went here (it was free with our London Pass cards), but I wouldn't call this the must-see site that I, myself, expected it to be.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gallery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was a terrific gallery to go to in London. It had a wonderful selections of paintings-many Impressionist, some Russian artists, Rubens, etc. The best thing was that it was small enough that you could see every piece of artwork. Also nice cafes right outside to enjoy a latte.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Time After Time And I Never Tire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A wonderful collection of varied genres that I visit time and again as there is always something "new" to pick up on and connect with other collections around the world. The most sensational piece is Edourd Manet's swan song, A Bar At The FOLIES-BERGÈRE. The expanse of the canvas, the correct hanging, positioning and lighting make the display an experience not to miss. The subject matter is an everyday event that Manet transforms into a reflection to ponder. Another interesting work is Death of Achilles by Peter Paul Rubens. The myth of the Trojan War and Troy is fascinating as historians have proved that the echoes of fable are accurate and that the visualisations and tales are largely true.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small and selective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fine selection mostly of impressionist art is very well displayed in a mansion. The floors are wood and easy on the feet, less noisy than most big museums too. Hint - take lift to top and start with special exhibit ( now Gaughin). then walk down the spiral staircase enjoying the art and objects.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courtauld Gallery also viewed

 

Been to The Courtauld Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courtauld Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.