We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Arch London to your Saves list
The Arch London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England (Marylebone)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Tel aviv
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This unique hotel is simply unparalleled in my many travel experiences. Seems like they have everything one can hope for in a hotel experience down to a tee.

From the moment you walk into the warm stylish lobby you realize you are in a hotel where every little detail has been carefully thought-out and designed, making it state-of-the art. It was very modern but warm, extremely comfortable, the modern furniture simply luxurious but also very personal and inviting. The sophisticated lighting throughout the hotel creates an atmosphere I've seen in no other city hotel.

The rooms are much larger than probably any other hotels I've seen in London, beds and room furniture great, making the physical stay in the hotel room also very convenient. Location is outstanding, 2-3 minutes from Marble Arch but completely quiet at the same time.

The hotel itself and its amenities are only equaled by the impeccable and really friendly and caring service of the Arch's staff. I saw how every single staff member I encountered - management as well - did the utmost to ensure that I as their guest was 100% satisfied during my stay.
Although this related to every detail, I will give 2 examples that are simply outstanding in the level of service one can hope for: 1) For an early morning meeting with one of my business associates we were offered and escorted by staff to meet in one of the amazing meeting rooms at the Arch. We peeked into the warm and homey room, only to see that two other staff people were in the midst of a meeting in the room. Nevertheless, they would not hear of us not using the room, and despite our own insistence they stopped their meeting and literally ran out of the room, absolutely insisting that we use the room for our meeting, 2) I left a pair of shoes in my room after checkout. Within hours I received an e-mail from management notifying me that the shoes have been found and will be sent by mail to my home,

It was so excellent and the staff were so helpful that I eventually tried to transfer any meeting I could to the Arch (the restaurant itself has this kind of lounge area that is very conducive for meetings) . BTW, any of the business people with whom I met at the Arch were completely impressed as well. What a better way of doing business, and then when done within minutes being able to unwind and enjoy the relaxed leisurely vacation atmosphere which the Arch creates.

Can't wait to get back to the Arch !!





I stayed at the Arch for 3 days.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Gabe613,

Thank you for the lovely feedback - we all love the title!

The team and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, the facilities, location and service we provide.

Please do let me know personally whenever you are planning to return, it would be wonderful to look after you again.

With warmest personal regards and thank you fro your genuine support!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    138
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
104
404
60
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week. First impression of this hotel was a little disappointing. The lobby area is small and the walkway towards our room is narrow. It is certainly unlike the grander hotels like Hilton or Hyatt. Our hotel room is tiny and we had difficulty walking around especially with 2 huge luggages in the room.

However, the hotel staff are extremely pleasant. We dined at the restaurant 3 times during our stay and the food is great! The breakfast sets looks stunning and taste good too. There is a cosy little room opposite the restaurant for afternoon tea as well.

The location is fantastic as well. Just 5-8 mins walk to Oxford street. I would recommend this hotel to tourists who love shopping!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Jane_Shen,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay and thank you for staying with us!

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and especially liked your comment regarding the service you received and our restaurant here - thank you.

Regarding the design of the lobby and corridors and first impressions, The Arch was build out of 7 Townhouses and being relatively small with only 82 bedrooms the hotel does certainly have a more intimate feel when you first step in - very different to a larger corporate hotel. As we are small and family owned we try hard to match this boutique feel and I am pleased you felt the service was personable, sophisticated and friendly.

Please do let me know personally whenever you are planning to return to The Arch. It would be my pleasure to show you a variety of bedrooms which all come in different shapes and sizes and I am sure we will find the right match for you.

Thank you again for staying with us and with warmest personal regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Arch is a great boutique hotel just a few minutes from Marble Arch. Located on a quiet part of the block, the rooms are very nice and modern, nice bathrooms, free mini bar selections, and very quiet. The staff, from the door man to front desk, and the restaurant servers were all very friendly and really go out of their way to provide excellent service. The hotel is nicely decorated and had comfortable vibe, not 'stuffy old English' as many other places. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Jeff G,

Thank you for the lovely feedback.

I am especially pleased to see that you enjoyed the service aspect of your visit and you felt "at Home".

This is exactly what we are trying to achieve and I am pleased you felt the hospitality you received was genuine and warm.

Please do let me know personally if I can be of assistance in the future.

With warmest regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times, and it's completely fine-- good neighborhood, close to the city (and shopping). The rooms need refreshing, as things like paint was peeling from the bathroom doors, marks on the wall from the mirror and mirrors hanging off the wall-- and there were marks/ smudges on doors, etc. The decor is a little over the top but the service excellent and the beds comfortable. Also nice to have robes and the tvs by the bathtubs are nice for a soak and a relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear dromamania4evr,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in December 2013.

Being only 4 years old we are a relatively new hotel but regardless of this the maintenance of bedrooms and public areas is a top priority for us. I am sorry that your room was not up to our very high standards at the time of your visit

I wanted to let you know that since you stayed with us last year a lot of redecorating has been done especially in the bedrooms. We currently have a preventative maintenance system in place where each room is completely redecorated at least once a year.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will come and join us again whenever your travel brings you back to London.

With warmest regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had a group of 35 people from India coming to London for an incentive and we stayed at the Arch London for four nights. I cannot speak highly enough of the level of service we received! The attention to detail was impeccable and all the staff worked so hard to make our stay and the event seamless! The hotel is stunning, both the communal areas and the room - I had such a fantastic night sleep which is uncommon on event! This is my new favourite London hotel by far!! :) Thank you for such a great service!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear SuzieG,

Oh I remember it well!

Thank you for the lovely comment, it was very nice working with you and your team. I am thrilled the event went well for you.

Please do let me know if I can be of assistance in the future.

With warmest personal regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed at the Arch whilst in town on business. Hired a meeting room and the staff were great in terms of refreshements and pointing our guests in the right direction. Great hotel, will stay here again and can definately recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear DavidP,

Thank you for the lovely feedback, I am glad your meeting here went well and please come and visit us again regardless if it is business or leisure!

With warmest personal regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

What an amazing experience! Thank you!
We visited The Arch for my partners birthday. The staff made our experience very special throughout our stay. Excellent attention to detail and customer service. The room was very impressive with a beautiful bathroom and great wifi/sky facilities. I would recommend any one to this hotel which provides a more personal and better standard of service than other 5 star hotels in London. Conciege and reception team were very knowledgable and helpful with our car and luggage. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Worth going for an Executive Room as the bath has a TV in it and soft drinks are complimentary. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear MRY82,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the wider audience here on tripadivsor, it is noted and appreciated.

The team and I are so pleased you enjoyed your partners birthday visit, the service and facilities of the hotel and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back whenever you are in London.

With warmest regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Luxury Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London
The Arch London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arch London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.