We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but starting to lapse?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Arch London to your Saves list
The Arch London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England (Marylebone)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Oxford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great but starting to lapse?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've stayed here four or five times now, mostly for one or two nights. We discovered it online at a bargain price, great location, but since then tripadvisor has seemingly made it more expensive as its popularity has deservingly skyrocketed! This time around I stayed for one night, about a week ago. Unfortunately, we encountered a few issues. The room was not ready on arrival and we therefore wondered whether to wait or head out. We were then told, as we asked to leave our luggage, that it would only be 15 mins. 30 mins later I asked about the room, and it seemed the reception staff had forgotten. We were told it would be another five to ten minutes. I asked three times before the room was finally ready, an hour after we were originally told. This was slightly irritating but we let it go. We didn't receive an apology or acknowledgement of our wait. The porter was also very very young, and we ended up taking care of the luggage ourselves. Again, this wasn't really a problem but was a little offputting after our wait. My bed that night was very soft, and I woke up with a stiff neck, although our room, as always was lovely. The next day I asked about late checkout and was told, quite brusquely, that it was not possible. This experience has been disheartening, and at 400pounds a night, I expect better. We will probably give it one more chance before we make any changes.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest

We could and should have done better, we have shared your feedback with the team and learnt from the comments. I do hope you will give us another chance to prove we can get it right.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    138
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
103
403
60
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you are looking for a first-class, charming, friendly and modern boutique hotel in central London, look no further. The Arch London offers warm, sumptuous rooms in a sophisticated, modern setting. There is nothing old or tired about this place. I am very picky about overall cleanliness, crisp bed linens and spotless bathrooms. The Arch gets an A+ on all three fronts. The staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating without even a hint of arrogance or attitude. The bar and restaurant offer pricey, but delicious fare. Although the noise and traffic of Marble Arch is only two blocks away, this hotel is on a very quiet street with mainly foot traffic. This is a wonderful hotel that offers great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the super comments about your stay, we all hope to see you really soon.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great hotel in a more boutique style. Clean and modern with nice amenities. Superb location for Oxford Street shopping and Mayfair restaurants.as well as a very short walk to Hyde Park.
One of my favourite London hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for such wonderful comments about our hotel.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Arch is well located and has a warm boutique feel that makes it a nice home away from home. The staff were very helpful to us on our first morning helping to find a venue for 12 for lunch around the corner that could have been a real challenge for us as family converged on London for a get together. The beautiful library served us well as family arrived ahead of lunch, and other requests were no problem. Our room was not large however well appointed and it was a nice touch to have complimentary water and soft drinks. The breakfast choice and service was excellent and very efficient. The gym was well equipped. Overall an excellent place to stay. The only constructive feedback on improvements would be to find a way to let guests know if the limited public areas will not be available in advance, the library was booked one day, and the study was the same on another.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your generous comments about our hotel.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I realise it's not really fair to compare this place with Whatley Manor because it's in the middle of London rather than Wiltshire, but having stayed down there the previous weekend it did set the bar pretty high and the Arch was charging about the same for a Saturday night (around £300). I'm not really familiar with central London luxury boutique hotels but obviously you don't get huge gardens, croquet lawns and countryside views. What you do get is a decent sized room (with no noise from outside - go for the 'courtyard' view) with Sky TV on the big screen, a huge and really comfortable bed (maybe a bit soft? I had a bad back the next day), good air-con, and a bath with a TV at the end! It loses marks for having a shower over the bath rather than separate unit, and for having a fairly chaotic check-out, but then gains a few for the fact that soft drinks are free in the mini bar (and the lady who came round virtually insisted we take some free water bottles). It's a lovely old building near Hyde Park with a little park at the end of the road. We didn't try the food (the price didn't include breakfast, which was a bit disappointing) but enjoyed a drink at the buzzing bar. All in all, a really good base for central London if you have a few (hundred) quid spare.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the comments and if you do book well in advance we provide great discounts on our room rates,

See you soon.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 days last week at the hotel. Good location. Nice rooms. Restaurant very expensive and portions small. Food okay but not great. Also hotel very expensive. Don't ask them to book a taxi to the airport. Came a car in bad condition and the driver actually hit two pedestrians and shouted at them while it was his fault. They also charge 65 pounds for it plus an extra 6 pounds commission. You can get a cab just on the road. If you are without luggage walk 300 meter and cross Oxford Street and take a few cab there as it takes long for the cab just to cross the road. All in all good hotel and nice staff. Okay food. For the price we paid expected more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for its good location for Hyde Park as attended concert there. Walkable. We have stayed here before and have previously had good experiences which is why we returned this time. Our room was small but ok, decent bed and large, powerful shower. Stopped by in bar for pre-concert drink and charged it to our room as we ordered. Drank and got up to leave at which point an overly ambitious female member of staff virtually rugby tackled us to the floor and shouted "have you paid your bill?" in front of other residents. Very embarrassing and, more disappointingly, no apology from this rude woman once her colleague had assured her we had done so earlier. Forgot about it and went to concert. Up again at breakfast, waited an age to be seated even though a waitress gave us eye contact several times. The table we sat at was not clean. Breakfast ok but waitress made confusing fuss about difference in price of continental and full English - unnecessary. Left feeling a bit disappointed that this once lovely hotel has lowered it's standards in customer service substantially enough to ensure we will continue to use the Firmdale group of hotels which provide a far superior level of service for not much more money. Perhaps this place could learn a thing or two from them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London
The Arch London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arch London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.