We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better than the old-school 5*s in london...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Arch London to your Saves list
The Arch London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England (Marylebone)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
123 GO!
Ranked #5 of 1,060 Hotels in London
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So much better than the old-school 5*s in london...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The best 'small' hotel i've ever stayed in. So many nice touches and the staff were utterly fantastic.
The complimentary Nespresso machine, Sky tv, and a shower so powerful it felt like I was being beaten up by it (but in a good way)...all in all an exemplary hotel that I would visit again and again until I run out of money. Which would happen all too soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest

What a joy to read today that you felt we are the best small boutique hotel you have ever stayed in.

We all are hoping to see you back at The Arch London very soon.

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    147
    35
    4
    6
See reviews for
120
448
71
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I were only lucky enough to stay at The Arch Hotel for one night on this occasion. From the moment we walked in we knew we had found something very special. The Reception team greeted us in a professional and friendly manner. The check-in process was seamless and before we knew it we were relaxing in the stunning surroundings of our very spacious and stunning suite. The amenities in the room exceeded our expectations. High quality selection of teas and coffee, well stocked mini bar, nibbles, chocolates and fresh fruit platter. The interior design was rich, luxurious and inviting. The soft furnishings, linen and towels were beautiful as were the interesting quirky and pleasing pictures, ornaments and books dotted around. We enjoyed drinks and nibbles sitting outside in our private courtyard area, the London drizzle did little to dampen our spirits as we were as warm as toast thanks to the outdoor heaters. The bathroom was spacious, spotless and fabulous! A huge shower and Plasma screen to enjoy whilst relaxing in the bath and a stunning range of bathroom products.
Before venturing out into the city for dinner we had a couple of drinks and a selection of exquisite complimentary canapés in bar area of HUNter 486 Brasserie. We were recommended to try the Peach Martini with Champagne which was amazing! The boutique atmosphere, style and design were wonderful l. The perfect environment to relax and enjoy that Friday night feeling! We had plans to eat at a favourite restaurant in Soho and definitely found it very difficult to leave the bar!
After a very long night out on the town we retreated back to the hotel where we slept exceptionally well. Our room was very quiet which considering the central position of the hotel was incredible. The following morning we were treated to a beautiful cooked breakfast, cereals, toast, fresh juice, tea and coffee in the stunning restaurant. There was a cooked breakfast menu along with an extensive buffet to choose from offering breads, cured meats, cheese, fresh fruit, cereals, toast and preserves, we ate from both and left feeling more than satisfied. The food was fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. I say we enjoyed breakfast … I enjoyed breakfast alone as my husband was feeling a little worse for ware and returned to the room for more sleep!
In summary, we highly recommend The Arch Hotel London and look forward to returning on many more occasions in the future. Finally a huge ‘thank you’ to all of the team for making us feel so very welcome. You have a beautiful hotel and we loved it!

Room Tip: We had a ground level suite which was beautiful. Very private, quiet and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed one night, we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist team who checked us in straight away. Unfortunately our room was not ready (we did arrive earlier than usual due to staying over for business). However this wasn't a problem for us as we went out for lunch, returned back after an hour, to find they had left our cases on our bed awaiting our arrival.

The room was gorgeous very boutique feeling, nice touches like sky HD, nespresso machine, TV in the bathroom and of course your standard touches like a mini bar, nice wardrobe, robes and slippers.

The bed for me was far to soft but this is my own personal feeling, as I suffer with a bad back I much prefer to have a firmer bed but certainly would not mark it down for this as this is my personal choice. The bath and shower were just perfect as to where the toiletries.

We never eat in the bar / restaurant but we did have a few drinks, the bar had a nice contemporary feeling, the service was spot on. The hotel staff in general were excellent offering top professional service at all times.

Overall fantastic hotel, would certainly come back and would certainly recommend this hotel if looking for a nice contemporary boutique hotel in central London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a great room rate for 3 nights to attend some paralympic events but our room was too small for a 3 night stay. Travel to the venues was easy from this location but
we were disappointed after our visit when the hotel was new.
Lots of niggles, the noise of feet walking along the corridor interrupted our sleep, the delightful Malin and Goetz amenities seemed to be on their way out, the duty manager ushered us to a " minion" upon our arrival and kept us waiting, the shower flooded during use....

Some good points, dinners were excellent and restaurant staff were exceedingly well trained, polite, efficient and good.
So if you like the bustle of the shops on Oxford Street give it a go but reserve the biggest room you can afford, to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at The Arch Hotel for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment of booking staff could not have been more helpful, providing excellent advice and assisting with other bookings for our trip.

Check in was quick, efficient and friendly. We were fortunate enough to be allocated a room upgrade and our room was ready early which allowed us to drop off our bags and freshen up. The room was excellent, quality fittings and furniture and lighting. We particularly liked the "night light" in the bathroom which avoided having to put the light on and disturb each other when using the toilet overnight. The bathroom was also high quality and I enjoyed watching tv while in the bath! We both slept soundly, both the bed and the pillows were extremely comfortable.

We had a lovely meal at a nearby restaurant which had been recommended by the concierge and it was just perfect for what we were looking for.

The buffet breakfast was adequate with more than enough options. There were also additional cooked options which would have cost extra but we didn't try these as we felt there was enough in the buffet.

As a person who hates the crowds and noise in London, The Arch was the perfect place to stay and we would definitely come back if we had to visit London again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Arch and the check-in process was efficient, which appreciated after a long flight and the room whilst on the small side (as expected in London) was modern, clean and slept well. The room service menu was limited, however tasty. We enjoyed the breakfast, the only let down was the hotel wanting to check GBP 20 to extend check out from 12 noon to 1 pm (despite being told the day before there would be no charge) the lady at the front desk who handled our request did not present herself as other staff members did (she was rude and abrupt). We enjoyed the breakfast and location to Oxford Street. If you don't try and extend your checkout we can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is one room right near the lift, that would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stay at The Arch London for 5 days. The location of the boutique hotel is really convenient -- just a few blocks from the Marble Arch subway station and the shopping area of Oxford Street.

The concierge was very friendly and efficient upon check-in. We found the rooms clean and enjoyed the amenities such as Nespresso machine with complimentary flavors. Rainfall shower was nice, and the heated towel bars were really helpful to keep our towels dry and warm (which is a plus when the weather is cold out). Housekeeping was good at keeping our rooms clean.

Several reviews mention that the rooms are small, which we agree. Then again it is what we expect for hotel rooms in London. Our room was small but still cozy, and since we spent most of our time outdoors size wasn't an issue. We were told the there was high occupancy at the hotel, but it didn't feel like it as we were able to sleep well (no noise) and didn't see much of the other guests around the hallways or lobby.

Didn't try the hotel restaurant despite reading some good reviews online.

The rates at The Arch are a bit expensive, so it is definitely not for you if you are on a budget. But, compared to other hotels in its class, I would say it is one of the better ones. Definitely will stay again on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#10 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London
The Arch London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arch London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.