We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely respite from the bustle of London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Arch London to your Saves list
The Arch London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England (Marylebone)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely respite from the bustle of London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at The Arch Hotel for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment of booking staff could not have been more helpful, providing excellent advice and assisting with other bookings for our trip.

Check in was quick, efficient and friendly. We were fortunate enough to be allocated a room upgrade and our room was ready early which allowed us to drop off our bags and freshen up. The room was excellent, quality fittings and furniture and lighting. We particularly liked the "night light" in the bathroom which avoided having to put the light on and disturb each other when using the toilet overnight. The bathroom was also high quality and I enjoyed watching tv while in the bath! We both slept soundly, both the bed and the pillows were extremely comfortable.

We had a lovely meal at a nearby restaurant which had been recommended by the concierge and it was just perfect for what we were looking for.

The buffet breakfast was adequate with more than enough options. There were also additional cooked options which would have cost extra but we didn't try these as we felt there was enough in the buffet.

As a person who hates the crowds and noise in London, The Arch was the perfect place to stay and we would definitely come back if we had to visit London again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    138
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
104
404
60
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Arch and the check-in process was efficient, which appreciated after a long flight and the room whilst on the small side (as expected in London) was modern, clean and slept well. The room service menu was limited, however tasty. We enjoyed the breakfast, the only let down was the hotel wanting to check GBP 20 to extend check out from 12 noon to 1 pm (despite being told the day before there would be no charge) the lady at the front desk who handled our request did not present herself as other staff members did (she was rude and abrupt). We enjoyed the breakfast and location to Oxford Street. If you don't try and extend your checkout we can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is one room right near the lift, that would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stay at The Arch London for 5 days. The location of the boutique hotel is really convenient -- just a few blocks from the Marble Arch subway station and the shopping area of Oxford Street.

The concierge was very friendly and efficient upon check-in. We found the rooms clean and enjoyed the amenities such as Nespresso machine with complimentary flavors. Rainfall shower was nice, and the heated towel bars were really helpful to keep our towels dry and warm (which is a plus when the weather is cold out). Housekeeping was good at keeping our rooms clean.

Several reviews mention that the rooms are small, which we agree. Then again it is what we expect for hotel rooms in London. Our room was small but still cozy, and since we spent most of our time outdoors size wasn't an issue. We were told the there was high occupancy at the hotel, but it didn't feel like it as we were able to sleep well (no noise) and didn't see much of the other guests around the hallways or lobby.

Didn't try the hotel restaurant despite reading some good reviews online.

The rates at The Arch are a bit expensive, so it is definitely not for you if you are on a budget. But, compared to other hotels in its class, I would say it is one of the better ones. Definitely will stay again on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Late in January 2013 we were preparing to depart London amidst all the snow and resultant dislocation that causes. We spent a horror day at Heathrow attempting to board a delayed flight to Frankfurt and then Sydney only to board 2 hours late and then sit on the plane for a further 2 hours before the announcement came that the weather was too bad to take off and land!

By this time it was 5.30pm and we were stuck in London for at least 2 nights!

We settled on a strategy couple of nights in central London at a quality comfortable hotel where we could relax and enjoy the extra time and thereby DESTRESS! After a few calls to trusted advisers we chose The Arch London - an excellent choice too.

Make no mistake here - we were NOT happy campers and highly stressed after that abortive day at the airport and we needed some help and service.

This is where The Arch really excelled. Their management staff on the phone were outstanding and assured us they would help and it was the same people who met us on arrival and really cared for us. The facilities were great and very comfortable and there was a room with a hot bath so we could really settle down.

The Arch is a converted set of London terraces right near Marble Arch and the main shopping precinct of Oxford Street so it is very well situated. We caught the Paddington Express train from Heathrow, well worth the cost and the time saving, and then a 10 minute cab ride to the hotel. Room 212 was great and the sleep quality superb.

We were too exhausted to go out to eat after a 12 hour day of non-travel and therefore we ate at The Arch. Can't say that was a great and therefore I recommend far better dining experiences in and around the area.

All in all highly recommended and really good caring service in this boutique hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are great as the double glazing is perfectly effective so do not get put off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

recently we visited London for a special occasion and we were recommended The Arch hotel. Well, it was one of the best experiences and surprises that we had as it is a truly a superb boutique hotel. from its location to the impeccable and warm service, to the well balanced and comfortable room. We are already telling all our friends to strongly consider staying there when visiting London.

Room Tip: we stayed in a superior room and it was worthy to pay a bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We loved this hotel. It was elegantly appointed and the service was top notch without a hint of stuffiness. The staff went out of their way to assist us from the moment we walked in. It's nice to be remembered and called by name. From the front desk to the restaurant and bar staff, folks remembered us and provided wonderful service. The rooms are luxurious and each day, the cleaning staff was prompt and attentive. We also loved the location. 5 min to the tube but not so close as to hear the hustle and bustle of traffic and tourists. While we were tourists on this trip, it was a nice mix of business and families staying at the hotel. We hope to be back soon- you should definitely put this on your list of places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Upon arrival at The Arch we were overwhelmed by the service we received and the quality of the room and ammenities, this really is one of few very high class boutique hotels in the city and is run impeccably. The staff are attentive and willing to go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and well looked after. The room was equipped and decorated to a very high standard, as my wife put it, she wished we could take the room home and put it in our house! The only low points were the food was not what you would expect from a 5* hotel, it was good, but not great, also my wife chose the oysters for a starter, and the next morning for 48 hours she suffered with servere vomiting and stomach cramps, we could only put this down to the food/oysters as I remained well. I have emailed the manager a few days ago to check if there were any other food related incidents, but I am still to hear back, its just a shame that after such a wonderful stay the weekend was ruined by this illness. We will definately go back, but next time we will eat elsewhere!

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#32 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London
The Arch London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arch London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.