We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Street Townhouse

Save Saved
You added Dean Street Townhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Street Townhouse
69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 1,075 hotels in London
london
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
1,917 helpful votes 1,917 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a lovely breakfast this morning at Dean Street. The hock ham hash was delicious. The staff were charming. informal and helpful. Our dogs Molly and Archie loved their sausages. Managed to eat on their front terrace with excellent heaters.Great value too,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    49
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
15
156
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is right in the heart of Soho, so perfect for getting out and about. The rooms are small but absolute quality. They are very generous with the Cow Shed products, which is a nice touch.

Only down side our room was over a restaurant and London was actually warm during our stay :) so when we opened the window there were quite strong food smells.

Breakfast in the morning is a must, we were there on a Friday and it was great being amongst all the cool media people having breakfast meetings, very buzzy!

Room Tip: Have breakfast in the restaurant if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The Dean Street townhouse is located in an historic building on a busy and animated Soho street. We had booked a "tiny room" for two nights and the room (which was very small indeed) was very well furnished with all what you may need (except for a wardrobe), and all necessary amenities (including tooth paste, ear plugs, deodorant, etc... ). Amazingly (given the location) the room was very quiet and we did not hear a noise during the night.
The hotel is in generally good condition and the small reception-lobby area is decorated with taste. A few other areas feel a little more oldish though, like some corridors suffering from really ragged carpets.
The restaurant is separated from the hotel (two doors down the street) but we have not tried it (breakfast not included).
I think the weakest point of this place is the service. The staff, which is quite pretentious, is a little too "cool" to be helpful. And practically, our room was not serviced before 4 pm.
Overall the place is okay and perfectly located, but for the price I would consider other options in the area (in Charlotte Street for example).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I have just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel.
Everything about this place is warm & welcoming & very stylish!
We loved the little touches they applied to make this little hotel unique.
The room was a perfect cosy size & had a fabulous rain forest shower with cowshed toiletries which were just Devine!
Breakfast was scrummy & even better knowing you can enjoy it in bed.
Great location,burger&lobster is recommended a visit across the road! All in all a lovely little find & already organising a return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We knew from the moment we walked in we had made the right choice. We where greeted by Mikey who is such a great host and full of Soho knowledge. The hotel is right in the center of the action with a short walk to almost everything required. Our room was facing Dean Street and we had no problems with noise. The cowshed products on offer where not only excellent but also extensive as well as the additional conveniences such as razors and toothbrushes. We will almost certainly be returning next time we are in Soho well done team Dean Street!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Laid back Soho House luxury with classy decor, the Cowshed treatment and an incredibly comfy if not a bit short bed. Had room 2 on first floor overlooking Dean St which thought would be noisy but wasn't. Had messed up our dinner booking at eponymous restaurant but quickly sorted it out. Made up with a very tasty steak!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was my second stay at the Dean Street Townhouse. And it won't be my last. This little hotel has a lot of charm, great service, a wonderful restaurant and one of the best locations in London. I'm sure there are fancier places but I find the Dean Street combination of low-key style and service hard to overcome.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Dean Street may have some views, but they can be a tad noisy. I prefer the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in London
#79 Business Hotel in London
#205 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Hotels.com so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean Street Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.