We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Street Townhouse

Save Saved
You added Dean Street Townhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Street Townhouse
69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 1,073 hotels in London
Miami
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Private stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very quiet hotel that sits next door to a more lively restaurant. We liked our room. I think we had a medium room. Main sleeping room was quite large. We asked for a shower and not a tub, so we were given a handicap room which had the coolest bathroom/ wet room- about 10' x 10' square wet room with toilet in one corner and the shower open in the other. The Cowshed toiletries were very nice- they have full sized shavers and ample creams. You really do not need to bring a toiletry bag. Staff was nice. Overall hotel design is amazingly nice.
London is expensive - that is the only downside.

Room Tip: If you want a shower and not a tub- ask for the Handicap Room- huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    50
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
16
160
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a very classy, elegant place to stay in the heart of Soho. The location could not be more convenient --- literally steps from most major theaters. Once inside, the rooms are very quiet, and you would never know the teeming throngs were right outside the door. Cowshed toiletries were fantastic! -- the hotel provides you with a wide variety of scents to try out and a small basket of complimentary bottles to take home. Beds are comfortable and the restaurant is a happening place in the evenings. The only downside is the size of the rooms -- very small, although they have done a great job of maximizing small spaces. Our bathroom was just about as large as the bedroom! Cost on weekends goes down substantially; on Friday and Saturday nights we paid roughly half what we did on Monday and Tuesday (which seems sort of strange for a hotel in the midst of the tourist district.)

Room Tip: If you, like we do, like to move around to more than one hotel during a week or more in London, cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pros - fantastic location, located right in the heart of bustling Soho, cute rooms, nice Cowshed toiletries, neat bathrooms (huge shower stall, black and white toilet.. and those dreaded separate taps for hot and cold water)

Cons - Indifferent staff, I would say tiny rooms, but this is London, and I don't expect spaciousness (we had the room a step up from the broom closet.. now I wonder just how small the broom closet is!)

All in all a pleasant experience. London hotels are expensive in comparison to other alpha cities, and we found this one to be in line with what a 4* in London should typically cost.

If you are looking for a quiet area, I'd avoid anything on this street though - happy hour starts early, and the partying goes til the wee hours.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, be sure to ask for a quiet room (I think ours faced the inner courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience here this weekend, had some friends visit from out of town and wanted somewhere a little special.
Had visited a few times before and loved the atmosphere.
Again I wasn't disappointed.
It's such a beautiful space, classic and charming.
The service was great, helpful, knowledgeable and very friendly.
Our food was delicious, simple fresh food that was tasty and definitely perfect for a cold night in London.
The waiter really paid attention, the service was quite American, attentive ... Refilling your glass when empty and almost knowing what you required before you did,whilst never in the way, something which is a world away from many restaurants in London. You are lucky to even catch most servers eye!

There was a nice atmosphere and was a perfect evening for a group of friends to catch up!
Can't wait to stay next time after a meal and a few glasses of wine!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday night having booked it last minute via the hotels website. On arrival we were upgraded from a small to a medium room... This was just the start of great service and an excellent overall experience. The foyer has a great feel too it, warm and smells lovely. Fresh fruit bowl, posh coffee and homemade cookies all on offer free. The room was exceptional; decorated to a high standard with nice little touches. The bed was so comfortable, and a bathroom stocked with Cowshed toiletries and a waterfall shower.

I would highly recommend this hotel; great location, great atmosphere and very good service. First class.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel and the adjacent restaurant were just fantastic! I loved the dining experience so much that we went next door and booked the room. We are not easily impressed, but the 'clubby vibe', and residential feel were great. The rooms were generous, but needed a refreshing. I would recommend this hotel to those who want a private and exclusive place in town, chic, understated, and definitely hip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My new favourite place to eat! Serves breakfast, bruch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Attached to a small hotel. The menus are amazing, the service is top notch and you can occasionally spot someone famous ;-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in London
#92 Business Hotel in London
#167 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean Street Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.