We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in a great neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Street Townhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dean Street Townhouse to your Saves list
Dean Street Townhouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Elegance in a great neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a very classy, elegant place to stay in the heart of Soho. The location could not be more convenient --- literally steps from most major theaters. Once inside, the rooms are very quiet, and you would never know the teeming throngs were right outside the door. Cowshed toiletries were fantastic! -- the hotel provides you with a wide variety of scents to try out and a small basket of complimentary bottles to take home. Beds are comfortable and the restaurant is a happening place in the evenings. The only downside is the size of the rooms -- very small, although they have done a great job of maximizing small spaces. Our bathroom was just about as large as the bedroom! Cost on weekends goes down substantially; on Friday and Saturday nights we paid roughly half what we did on Monday and Tuesday (which seems sort of strange for a hotel in the midst of the tourist district.)

Room Tip: If you, like we do, like to move around to more than one hotel during a week or more in London, cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwarrenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pros - fantastic location, located right in the heart of bustling Soho, cute rooms, nice Cowshed toiletries, neat bathrooms (huge shower stall, black and white toilet.. and those dreaded separate taps for hot and cold water)

Cons - Indifferent staff, I would say tiny rooms, but this is London, and I don't expect spaciousness (we had the room a step up from the broom closet.. now I wonder just how small the broom closet is!)

All in all a pleasant experience. London hotels are expensive in comparison to other alpha cities, and we found this one to be in line with what a 4* in London should typically cost.

If you are looking for a quiet area, I'd avoid anything on this street though - happy hour starts early, and the partying goes til the wee hours.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, be sure to ask for a quiet room (I think ours faced the inner courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flubetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience here this weekend, had some friends visit from out of town and wanted somewhere a little special.
Had visited a few times before and loved the atmosphere.
Again I wasn't disappointed.
It's such a beautiful space, classic and charming.
The service was great, helpful, knowledgeable and very friendly.
Our food was delicious, simple fresh food that was tasty and definitely perfect for a cold night in London.
The waiter really paid attention, the service was quite American, attentive ... Refilling your glass when empty and almost knowing what you required before you did,whilst never in the way, something which is a world away from many restaurants in London. You are lucky to even catch most servers eye!

There was a nice atmosphere and was a perfect evening for a group of friends to catch up!
Can't wait to stay next time after a meal and a few glasses of wine!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lovenyc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday night having booked it last minute via the hotels website. On arrival we were upgraded from a small to a medium room... This was just the start of great service and an excellent overall experience. The foyer has a great feel too it, warm and smells lovely. Fresh fruit bowl, posh coffee and homemade cookies all on offer free. The room was exceptional; decorated to a high standard with nice little touches. The bed was so comfortable, and a bathroom stocked with Cowshed toiletries and a waterfall shower.

I would highly recommend this hotel; great location, great atmosphere and very good service. First class.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBugLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel and the adjacent restaurant were just fantastic! I loved the dining experience so much that we went next door and booked the room. We are not easily impressed, but the 'clubby vibe', and residential feel were great. The rooms were generous, but needed a refreshing. I would recommend this hotel to those who want a private and exclusive place in town, chic, understated, and definitely hip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grw126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My new favourite place to eat! Serves breakfast, bruch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Attached to a small hotel. The menus are amazing, the service is top notch and you can occasionally spot someone famous ;-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessLizzie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked late deal on their website as was going to restaurant for brothers birthday .
Booked tiny room so wasn't expecting much , how wrong was I , amazing room with more amenities of style and class that I could use in one night. Exceptional toiletries supplied along with tea coffee mini bar . Staff were exceptionally attentive . Restaurant food fantastic
So central a must stay , pure pleasure of comfort and hospitality 10/10

Shane ( brighton )

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaneborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#9 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#19 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#148 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#357 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#24 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in London
#169 Family Hotel in London
#204 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Dean Street Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing