We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel and it's people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Street Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dean Street Townhouse to your Saves list
Dean Street Townhouse
69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Cheshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“I love this hotel and it's people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here last year and loved it so much booked again when we went to London last weekend. I love the Soho House Group in general as regardless of who you are they always make you feel like a star. We stayed in the same room (9) by request, which is one of thier small rooms, but it's right in the middle of the hotel so really quiet. It has the most comfy bed ever, a big eneough bathroom and more than enough room to move around for the weekend. The hotel itself is ideally situated for most of London.
They are exceptionally welcoming and no request is ever overlooked and they do their best to accomodate.
We only ate breakfast there, which again was fab and reasonablly priced. The bar of an evening is very buzzy and a great place for pre or post night out drinks with a great atmosphere.
All in all I haven't really a bad word to say about this place. We would definitely recommend and stay when we're next in London again.

Room Tip: room 9 is right in the middle so no noise, otherwise ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    57
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
18
175
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Breakfast and Coffee.

I'm not a fan of Soho. I don't like how it's a little bit like Shoreditch where everyone wears glasses for no reason or how everyone says they work in 'media' when they actually mean they are an out of work graphic designer. I would never go there to be part of an edgy crowd where people lay about on sofas suspended in the air, so when a friend suggested going to this place for breakfast for his birthday, I was more than a little apprehensive.

But...what an absolute find. The waitresses were unbelievably polite, the host or manager (portly guy wearing a tweed jacket) was well mannered and seemed very comfortable despite the place being full and the atmosphere was delightful. I'd expect a place that was catering for as many people as it was to be a bit of a cattle market, but as it was we were sat down, given menus and weren't rushed in the slightest. The waitress came to order after a few minutes then returned moments after with the drinks. The tea was served through a tiny sieve quite common in places which put a lot of emphasis on authentic experiences but like in others I had visited there wasn't that sense of 'O look at us, aren't we posh,' it was more of a 'this will taste better if it's done like this.' The breakfast was top notch, the avacodo and eggs on toast (i think that's what it was) were excellent and the full english...was full.

I intend to take a few clients there in the near future as a safe spot in Soho. With regards to prices, you pay for what you get. I've paid double for an experience half as good before. I wouldn't stop going there if the prices were even a few pounds more experience.

I have to give it five stars because I can't quite work out anything negative, not enough to even bother wasting a sentence on anyway. Congratulations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Living close to London we don't tend to stay up in the big smoke, but as a surprise birthday treat my husband booked an overnight stay here. What can I say it was excellent, the entrance is like stepping back into an victorian london. We had a small room but it was so elegantly laid out and the bathroom was large and spacious just right for our one night. Breakfast served next door was so extensive and reasonably priced, if you can't find anything on there to satisfy your morning hunger you never will! Not only is this hotel great in inself, but you have the all joys of Soho on the doorstep and a small walk to Piccadilly circus and theatre land. Go on treat someone!
PS. The Cowshed toiletries were fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

So, you want a chic quiet centrally located personal trendy bolt hole in Soho with the chance to meet the odd celeb? Not too worried by the bottom line of the bill?
You want to feel at the top of your game for an important meeting, or just want that killer hotel to impress a new love (or wife of 25 years)?
You'll not do better in all London!
Expensive, sure! But has the comfy confidence of knowing what it does is excellent, and rare!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Was here for dinner a few weeks ago which was great. Yesterday was breakfast which was fantastic. Brilliant bramble porridge and a glass of pink grapefruit juice set me up for the day. Lots of people in so a nice atmosphere. Service very welcoming and attentive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from from staying 4 nights at The Dean Street Townhouse. The location was great, the Soho area. The staff was very accomodating. We had a medium room which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Coffee , fruit and fresh cookies were almost always available. The Cowshed products and amenities were plentiful..Great restaurant "Burgers and Lobster" located right across the street. We were able to get a reservation in the hotel restaurant for Sat. evening even though it was totally booked. Everything was great, except we did not have a laptop with us and there was no business center.(They did offer us the hotel computer, but we didn't feel comfortable using it for very long).

Room Tip: If money is not an issue book at least a medium room. I heard the other rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Only came here for High Tea with my sister and had a wonderful afternoon. Great central location that inside offered a cosy but efficient service. The comfortable wing chairs we were sat at had a great view of the rest of the room and in comparison to other venues we didn't feel like we were sipping our tea in the Lobby. The sandwiches were delicious and while not offered a choice we were asked if we had any allergies or preferred a vegitarian option. The scones were also very tasty and we both struggled but somehow found a way to devour the cakes to finish! When the bill came to just £16 per person we were both suitably impressed as on other occasions we have paid over £30 and enjoyed the experience far less. The word has already been spread to others to go and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in London
#80 Business Hotel in London
#196 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean Street Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.