We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base in Soho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Street Townhouse

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Dean Street Townhouse
69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 1,071 hotels in London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect base in Soho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Living close to London we don't tend to stay up in the big smoke, but as a surprise birthday treat my husband booked an overnight stay here. What can I say it was excellent, the entrance is like stepping back into an victorian london. We had a small room but it was so elegantly laid out and the bathroom was large and spacious just right for our one night. Breakfast served next door was so extensive and reasonably priced, if you can't find anything on there to satisfy your morning hunger you never will! Not only is this hotel great in inself, but you have the all joys of Soho on the doorstep and a small walk to Piccadilly circus and theatre land. Go on treat someone!
PS. The Cowshed toiletries were fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    47
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
15
148
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

So, you want a chic quiet centrally located personal trendy bolt hole in Soho with the chance to meet the odd celeb? Not too worried by the bottom line of the bill?
You want to feel at the top of your game for an important meeting, or just want that killer hotel to impress a new love (or wife of 25 years)?
You'll not do better in all London!
Expensive, sure! But has the comfy confidence of knowing what it does is excellent, and rare!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Was here for dinner a few weeks ago which was great. Yesterday was breakfast which was fantastic. Brilliant bramble porridge and a glass of pink grapefruit juice set me up for the day. Lots of people in so a nice atmosphere. Service very welcoming and attentive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from from staying 4 nights at The Dean Street Townhouse. The location was great, the Soho area. The staff was very accomodating. We had a medium room which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Coffee , fruit and fresh cookies were almost always available. The Cowshed products and amenities were plentiful..Great restaurant "Burgers and Lobster" located right across the street. We were able to get a reservation in the hotel restaurant for Sat. evening even though it was totally booked. Everything was great, except we did not have a laptop with us and there was no business center.(They did offer us the hotel computer, but we didn't feel comfortable using it for very long).

Room Tip: If money is not an issue book at least a medium room. I heard the other rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Only came here for High Tea with my sister and had a wonderful afternoon. Great central location that inside offered a cosy but efficient service. The comfortable wing chairs we were sat at had a great view of the rest of the room and in comparison to other venues we didn't feel like we were sipping our tea in the Lobby. The sandwiches were delicious and while not offered a choice we were asked if we had any allergies or preferred a vegitarian option. The scones were also very tasty and we both struggled but somehow found a way to devour the cakes to finish! When the bill came to just £16 per person we were both suitably impressed as on other occasions we have paid over £30 and enjoyed the experience far less. The word has already been spread to others to go and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed for one night on a Sunday evening and we cannot fault our experience. We knew that we couldn't check in until 3pm but the staff were happy to store our luggage until we returned later that afternoon. It was our first wedding anniversary and the staff, especially Anne Marie, couldn’t have been more accommodating. Once settled in the room a waiter arrived with glasses of bubbly for us - a very nice touch! The room itself was large and opulent and the bathroom was massive with a lovely roll top bath and plenty of Cowshed products to indulge in. The location of the hotel was excellent as we were so close to great restaurants, bars and shops. We would def recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fantastic location.
Cramped rooms (but beautiful).
Staff. too cool to serve.
Whilst the size of the rooms can never change, the management could employ less indifferent staff.
Still, I suppose they're not after repeat business - which is a shame really as it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms at front suffer from street noise, rooms at rear suffer from bottle clearing (about 1am). Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel
Dean Street Townhouse London, England
Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#79 Business Hotel in London
#155 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean Street Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dean Street Townhouse to your Saves list