We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value High Tea in Central London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Street Townhouse

Save Saved
You added Dean Street Townhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Street Townhouse
69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Value High Tea in Central London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Only came here for High Tea with my sister and had a wonderful afternoon. Great central location that inside offered a cosy but efficient service. The comfortable wing chairs we were sat at had a great view of the rest of the room and in comparison to other venues we didn't feel like we were sipping our tea in the Lobby. The sandwiches were delicious and while not offered a choice we were asked if we had any allergies or preferred a vegitarian option. The scones were also very tasty and we both struggled but somehow found a way to devour the cakes to finish! When the bill came to just £16 per person we were both suitably impressed as on other occasions we have paid over £30 and enjoyed the experience far less. The word has already been spread to others to go and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    50
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
16
160
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed for one night on a Sunday evening and we cannot fault our experience. We knew that we couldn't check in until 3pm but the staff were happy to store our luggage until we returned later that afternoon. It was our first wedding anniversary and the staff, especially Anne Marie, couldn’t have been more accommodating. Once settled in the room a waiter arrived with glasses of bubbly for us - a very nice touch! The room itself was large and opulent and the bathroom was massive with a lovely roll top bath and plenty of Cowshed products to indulge in. The location of the hotel was excellent as we were so close to great restaurants, bars and shops. We would def recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fantastic location.
Cramped rooms (but beautiful).
Staff. too cool to serve.
Whilst the size of the rooms can never change, the management could employ less indifferent staff.
Still, I suppose they're not after repeat business - which is a shame really as it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms at front suffer from street noise, rooms at rear suffer from bottle clearing (about 1am). Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautifully decorated with an ample bathroom and roll top bath in the bedroom

Great selection of Cowshed products, toiletries and all other accessories you could possibly require

Complimentary newspapers - even Sydney Morning Herald!

Midday checkout as standard

We ended up booking another night here after enjoying it so much

Lovely breakfast by the fire in the morning, and dinner that evening in the restaurant with friends

Room Tip: If booking over the phone, request a room with a bath in the bedroom If the bar is rather busy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

There is no other place for me to stay in London, Location is wonderful, restaurant is great and service is just lovely. This non pretentious little gem is what you need after a 8 hour flight. In buzzing SOHO, close to everything and yet secluded. Quiet rooms, amazing bathrooms with the best products ever. All my meetings I had in the restaurant as it is just lovely. Cowshed spa around the corner, Virgin gym around the corner. Hotels in London I find a disaster, either over the top old luxury with bars filled of prostitutes or the so called wannabe ‘’cool’’ hotels. Dean Street town house is chic, happening in its own way and very chilled.

Room Tip: book the large or extra large, medium is also ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

By staying in this hotel one can really imagine how the rich lived in the eighteenth century. It is fabulous but not pretentious. It is a Georgian townhouse, lovingly decorated using beautiful colours and very high quality furnishings and fabrics.

Rooms are lovely, beds, pillows and duvets all very luxurious. There is coffee, with cafetiere , tea, biscuits all of a very high quality, a mini bar (charged as extra) should you require it but water is not charged for which is always a joy, I really hate walking into a hotel room and finding a ridiculous price tag on a bottle of water. The products in the bathroom are Cowshed which is fabulous. There is also a basket in the bathroom full of all those products that one may have forgotten i.e. razor, toothbrush, and toothpaste etc. - so thoughtful, only a nail file missing!

Breakfast is excellent with top quality products beautifully served. Service was a little slow on the Sunday morning we were there which was quickly corrected with a sudden influx of staff!

What is really good is the location of this hotel. It is in the centre of Soho which means there is no shortage of bars, restaurants and shops within walking distance, however Dean Street itself is quite quiet at night with just the lovely Quo Vadis restaurant and bar opposite, so definitely no all night revellers!

The hotel has a great bar and restaurant so there is hardly a need to venture out of this wonderful place if you just want to relax. The staff are all charming and helpful too. Just go and enjoy, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

CowShed products are the best! What a treat to check in and have a bath using all their wonderful product selection. (Splurge for a larger room with a bath in the center). Loved the location- close to shopping and theatre. Very friendly and helpful staff. Feels very English but also very contemporary- nice combo. Restaurant has a real buzz at night - feel like you are "where it is all happening". Two complaints- the rugs shed and there is no clothes brush in the room (after dressing pants looked like I had a long haired dog) and clock was without a battery when I arrived. Shouldn't have to ask. . Will go back for sure.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
#92 Business Hotel in London
#168 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dean Street Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London
Dean Street Townhouse London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean Street Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.