We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Hostel

Phoenix Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Phoenix Hostel to your Saves list
Phoenix Hostel
6 Daventry Street, London NW1 5NX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Poznan, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for a night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Close to the underground. Good location. Helpful service. Open 24 hours a day. No curfew. Free access to the Internet downstairs and a bar. Even though we slept in a dorm, it was clean and trouble-free. Recommended for an overnight sleep :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
2
8
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Phoenix Hostel for 4 nights and absolutely loved it!!

The Hostel has a great atmosphere, extremely well maintained cleanliness wise, great comfy beds and decent size dorm rooms with lockers, ALWAYS a nice hot shower to freshen up in with fresh shower mats and a clean surface which is hard to find!

John the manager is fabulous and extremely helpful & knowledgable with any questions we had. Sophie & Matilda who both worked behind the bar are also very lovely & helpful which was a breath of fresh air.

When we eventually head back to London we will most definitely be :)

Thanks team for a fabulous four days!

I would recommend this Hostel over its sister the Queen Elizabeth Hostel any day!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great hostel. Relatively cheap. Very personal and friendly staff, really welcoming. Cheap breakfast. Knowledgeable staff who can make good recommendations. Also cheap beer and brilliant Guinness.

Location isn't in central London but easily accessible by two tube stations

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I spent a few days here last week and had a great time. There is a great pub with cheap beers on the ground floor. The bar seemed to be only for hostel guests which was great and meant all the other hostel folk used it as the common room. The atmosphere was fantastic. Sean was always around to help with whatever i needed.
The location is perfect only a couple of minutes from the tube. The only negative thing is it was a bit cold one night but as soon as I mentioned it the heating was turned up and I had a great nights sleep.
I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Book early because they were completely full while we were there and it was midweek
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I love the Phoenix and it feels like home for me. John and Paul are so great and friendly, and they make you feel welcome and cool. The Phoenix is super close to the tube, buses, and is easy to get to places by foot as well-- awesome location and you really can't beat the price!! It's a bargain. Plus, it's a pretty small hostel, with about 80 beds, so you don't feel like you don't know anyone. Great vibe for chilling and having a pint, and outside guests aren't allowed into the rooms, so that helps to ensure that everyone gets a good night's sleep!
I met some cool travelers, but also didn't feel the pressure to go out all the time, so it was a great middle ground. Would definitely stay here again and would absolutely recommend the Phoenix to everyone coming to London!!

Room Tip: this is not for a room, but the shower on the top floor furthest back is huge and very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

As a solo traveller, I must say, this hostel was absolutely fantastic. The lodgings were good, a squeaky bed is about all I could say was the matter with it. The showers were hot and everything was clean which is always a big thing for me. From the moment I arrived I was taken in as part of a group, which is the beauty of staying somewhere that only sleeps about 80 people. The boys behind the bar definitely make this place rise above the rest, always helpfull and willing to point you in the right direction. Great stay guys, I hope I get to come back soon. Love Mr Australia...

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

With an average price of £12/night for a 6-bed dorm, the hostel provides an excellent opportunity for people on a budget needing to stay in London overnight. The place is clean and well-kept, and staff and the reception extremely friendly. The rooms are generally quiet, and all bathrooms are private. (Ie: No bulk showering) Wi-Fi is available for free in the lobby, although signal isn't always that great in the rooms. The place is only 5 minutes walking from the closest tube station and you can generally get to King's Cross within 20 minutes and Victoria/Westminster within half an hour. As a plus, discounted Guinness and close to many supermarkets/takeaway/cheap restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hostel

Address: 6 Daventry Street, London NW1 5NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Phoenix Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel London
Phoenix Hostel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.