We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit - we'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Maison

La Petite Maison
54 Brook's Mews, London W1K 4EG, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
020 74954774
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #303 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Description: It has been around for over 2 years and is rated amongst London's top 20. Zagat rate it London's top Mediterranean restaurant 2009
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First visit - we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first visit to LPM in the UK - we have been to and really enjoyed their restaurant in Dubai, and wondered how the London branch would compare. Well, we were not disppointed. From making the initial reservation through to paying the bill we were really looked after. Our waitress was a super young lady who took time to guide us through the menu and had the most wonderful smile all evening.
The restaurant was really busy and buzzing which was lovely but the service was not compromised at all. We look forward to our next visit - it can't come soon enough!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    93
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Always a delight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lunch or dinner, week day or week-end, this place is always buzzing. We go at least 2-3 times a month.
The food is always very good. the pissaladiere is very popular, sometimes they run out. And the fleur de courgettes are amazing....all the food is superb especially the starters.
The food comes in no particular order, they serve whatever is ready.
They have a nice terrace for the sunny days.
And the restaurant manger is extremely nice

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food but a disappointing ending”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was taken to La Petite Maison for a birthday surprise by two girlfriends. We had a lovely evening the food was fantastic and our waiter was very helpful mixing just the right amount of attentive service whilst letting us relax and enjoy our evening. The pissalidiere and yellowtail carpaccio were amazing and the veal cop main is a must- best veal I've ever had.

The only regret of the evening was not being able to eat dessert. With no prior warning, having been left to enjoy our evening at leisure we were told that the table was needed for another booking in 5 mins and if we wanted dessert they would seat us at the bar. We were slightly bemused by this but what was most upsetting was the lack of understanding from the maitre'd who did not offer anything other than a shrug of shoulders when we asked why we had not been told this at the start of the evening. If we'd been offered a complimentary coffee or something we would probably have stayed as the desserts looked incredible but sadly service let them down here and we ended the evening abruptly on a slightly sour note. On receiving the bill they did waive the service charge although this seemed a little unfair on our waiter who had been great. I'm sure we were just unfortunate and I would go back to give it a second chance but it really did put a bit of a damper on the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Neither bad nor exceptional...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a popular restaurant at a popular part of the city. It is usually crowded during lunch hours. French dishes with an Italian touch. Starters are easy to make variety, main dishes are perfectly acceptable and good but lacking in reflecting the sophistication of the French Cooking. We had ordered 4 starters and 3 fish dishes as main courses. The restaurant served the dishes not at once but with intervals and as a result we had to share all our orders. In short service is disorganized. 3 course lunch menu with a glass of wine and coffee is around 70-100 GBP. At this price level one expects a better quality food and service, but this wasn't the case.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Just superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Celebrating my birthday here proved to be a real treat. Starting with fried calamari, pissalidiere, ceviche of yellowtail & beef carpaccio with a bottle of Pouilly Fume. Veal chop, lamb chops, duck for the main course served with broccoli, the best chips in London & potato gratin made for a perfect main course, served with a bottle of Volnay. The cheesecake for desert was truly outstanding.

This restaurant is to cheap. However the food that is produced in the kitchens is outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Maison also viewed

 

Been to La Petite Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.