We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time nice view, easy acces” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 1,066 Hotels in London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Had a great time nice view, easy acces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here after having a nice time on the west end, nice location easy acces.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    286
    134
    44
    21
See reviews for
103
664
74
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Stayed here a few days ago with my partner. After a previous bad experience elsewhere, we were very particular about the service and comfort of our room.
This place was outstanding on service, from the reception staff, to ushers between the hotel lobby and restaurant, the restaurant staff and the spa staff... all were slightly surprisingly very courteous and so helpful and friendly.
The room was excellent value for money and it was so stylish. We had the 'Mississippi' type room which was the smallest in type but still very contemporary and glamorous all the same.
The restaurant was excellent and the hotel had 50% off on food for residence so we got a great deal as the food was superb with a mix from Indian to western dishes... great cocktails...you can always judge a bar by the quality of cocktails prepared and my strawberry daiquiri was excellently done!
Overall, would and am definitely coming back!
Thanks Kuman and Mr. Taqi for your excellent service!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

This was our second, 3-night stay here, and there was absolutely nothing to fault. The owner, Mr Iqbal Latif, has raised the bar on absolute quality, 5-Star accommodation. After almost 80 years working in the financial sector between us, my wife and I have stayed in quite a few hotels - business and leisure! The Rafayel is different. For similar money, you could have a small room off Park Lane, overlooking heavy traffic and a few trees. Or you can pick The Rafayel, and enjoy a huge suite with picture windows and a panoramic view of The Thames. It's a "no-brainer". Think outside the box - forget the "posh" names and postcodes for a second, and let's ask ourselves what a hotel is really about. A good one should be measured by the comfort and convenience it provides, and the service detail from check-in to departure. Importantly, we should take away with us, when we leave, that certain "warm" feeling that says "spot-on - we really must come back here again, soon". Everything you can reasonably expect from a quality 5-Star is there - from "cannot-do-enough-for you" attention, through to impeccable detail and the very latest in fixtures and fittings. The investment in technology and eco-efficiency alone is class-leading, and something of which Mr Latif and his team can be justifiably proud. The Rafayel does not pretend to be one of the rather impersonal, "big names" in a fashionable street with price tags to match - it is simply a brand new, sumptuous boutique hotel that has been carefully crafted into something very special indeed that you will want to remember for all the right reasons. It cannot be praised highly enough. Be open-minded and try it. It works!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Excellent location overlooking the Thames River. My 2yr old grandson looked and pointed and said " swimming pool!". He looked at the helicopter on the hotel's helipad and said "Opter!". The family outing was wonderful for 3 children under 4 and a 7 yr old. The waitress exercised, hygiene by wearing white gloves to serve, the kitchens also went the extra mile to provide us with access to the dinner menu early. Its an ideal location for families and couples. All staff members were tolerate towards the children and dealt with us courteously. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night in an impressive sized suite with a separate living area. We had a huge bathroom with whirlpool and coloured lights! This was great value due to soft opening prices at the time.
Great bar at the hotel overlooking the river and helipad. The location not ideal as was not in walking distance to any attractions, however the free shuttle the hotel provided to Clapham Junction was extremely useful. Overall stunning eco-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I stayed here for ten days in the summer, while some work was being done on my house and i can honestly say I doubt I would have found better value for money anywhere else in London. I stayed in an Amazon suite for a reduced rate of just £120 a night, the room was huge, ultra modern and stylish with all mod cons. The bathroom was also huge, so large that is was bigger than some rooms in London i have stayed and very well equiped. The only let down was that the tv in my bathroom did not work, a problem that the hotel apparently has accross the board. Service also had a few issues, in the fact there were a lot of foreign staff who didn't speak English very well and at a guess had never worked in a hotel before - lets just say service was sketchy with a lot of mistakes. However to me its the room that counts as thats where you spend most your time and here you wont be disappointed. The gym is fantastic with all mod cons (including powerplate) and very well run. The spa was doing some amazing deals while i was there too. But what really makes this hotel are the little touches, the free wireless internet and complimentary cake and drinks on reception. For the price you really can't fault this place. I have recommended it to mkany friends who are in London for business and that probably says it all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

In our business we believe in the best quality and service in the industry.
From Hotel Rafayel we received the best service imagineable in planning and fulfilling our regional conference.
The facilities and staff were second to none, and we will remain a loyal customer in future for business and leisure.
This hotel delivers the same high standards we deliver in our industry.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in London
#71 Best Value Hotel in London
#132 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Family Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.