We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best conferencing facilities in South West London, with outstanding accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best conferencing facilities in South West London, with outstanding accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

In our business we believe in the best quality and service in the industry.
From Hotel Rafayel we received the best service imagineable in planning and fulfilling our regional conference.
The facilities and staff were second to none, and we will remain a loyal customer in future for business and leisure.
This hotel delivers the same high standards we deliver in our industry.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    317
    151
    47
    26
See reviews for
110
720
80
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The staff and service were outstanding.I could not fault anything about the hotel and staff.I do not think that I will stay in any other hotel in london again unless another Rafayel pops up.The price is amazing for the quality.The rooms are spacious and impeccable,If hotel had a pool it would be Six Star.Even including a cab price to central london it is still incredible value.Sherry Murray head of public relations was professional,polite and welcoming,a credit to the hotel.
For the price it must be by far the best hotel in london.I have stayed at several hotels in central london ranging from 3 star to 5 star so I can make a fair comparison..
Well done Rafayel .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
compton surrey UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Hotel Rafayel is one of the best value for money hotels i have ever stayed in especially in London, this hotel is located exceptionally well, even with all this snow there was no trouble to get a bus or taxi into knightsbridge at a small cost also we could still go and do all our xmas shopping on saturday even though most places had come to a standstill and it only took us around 15 minutes to get to Harrods from the hotel, the rooms are brilliant especially the Nile Suite which has an absolutely brilliant jacuzzi bath in an amazing amount of space and very comfortable beds with lovely bed linen, the staff cannot do enough for you and nothing is ever a problem for them they are a credit to this hotel, HIGHLY RECOMMEND A STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Location was initially an issue but when I got to the hotel I have never ceased to go there. Like a magnet I stuck. A home in a hotel!!!

The staff are outstanding extremly nice. Kuman, Aman, Sherry, Chris to mention but a few.

Whenever you visit London or want a hotel to stay, Rafayel is the place. Worth every penny to spend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Swanky!!! Expensive but gorgeous rooms with lots of new technology. It was still being finished with new construction when we stayed so a few things didn't work yet (massage heads in shower) but the comfort of the room made up for it. WiFi in the hotel. Restaurant expensive but fish & chips soooo delicious. Heliport is loud next to the hotel but couldn't hear it from in the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

The Rafayel on the Left Bank proved to be a little troublesome to stage a conference. While the staff is very helpful and trying to sort out many things, there are mostly not enough people around to fulfill your groups every need and unfortunately not all of them speak very well english.

The Conference room presents a beautiful view and will be very nice in spring and autumn, but too hot in the summer and very cold in the winter, due to faulty construction of the heating and air conditioning vent. We had to use portable heaters to keep the group warm.

While the food throughout lunch and coffee breaks was very well received, the restaurant offers are considered to be a bit too pricey for the quantity and quality provided.

Breakfast has a good selection and hot and cold food is available.

Best business feature about this Hotel is definately the free Wifi, so checking emails and working while on conference was no problem.

The rooms are spacey, but most are facing the parking area or restaurant front so curtains have to be closed all of the time, or you feel like you're sitting on a presentation plate.

The bathrooms have a lot of space and a nice shower selection.

The overall location for this Hotel is not the best. While located on the river, providing nice views, it is a 30 to 45 minute cab ride from the City, out Southeast with not much entertainment in the immediate vicinity. Public transport is walkable, but not the easiest way to get around.

In general, the stay was pleasant but not overly impressive. As a business location, I would probably not use the hotel again, due to the room layout, the noise from the helicopter landing space and for everything else that was going on.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafayel, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your review.



It is our customers’ constructive criticism that continues to help us to improve the quality of our services. We would however like to point out that for a small boutique hotel like ours, we employ 66 full-time and part time employees in these difficult times is a big number. Our conference facilities are unique that these overlook the river; may be one needs to see the all around services we offer at a unique rate; this is how we are called as a uniquely affordable luxury brand, this uniqueness of our presentation is only possible due to our ability to offer competitive advantage to our customers i.e. we try to use our perceived weakness ( i.e. opposite Chelsea Harbor on River Thames) of location to offer customer a unique experience of size, space, technology and value. You pay for no extras once in. from Wifi to bottled Rafayel water it is all free including welcome pastries and teas.



Secondly, when you choose Rafayel it is an informed decision you make. Battersea is your choice when you reserve, on the other hand, you also pay good value. Our prices are competitive – nearly 40%-50% of what is normally charged by other London hotels, with that you enjoy rooms that are twice the normal size. We would like to differ with you on your criticism that most of the rooms face the car park. We have very clear categories of rooms – the Mississippi, The Yangtze, The Amazon, The Thames and The Nile – if you select the lowest category room, the Mississippi, which is around 220 sq.ft., it offers an urban view but that is what you choose. A room of this size and quality, with 5-star amenities and services in London would cost you more than twice the price you paid at Rafayel including VAT. We have clearly explained on our website that there are rooms with urban views, river views and partial river views. To select a designated urban room and then incorrectly describe that all rooms face the car part is an unfair comment, when in fact there are nearly 20 rooms with full or partial river views. It all depends on what you select for few pounds more you could select Thames or Yangtze or anile suite even a river side huge apartment.



As far as commutes are concerned, we have a free shuttle service and employed 4 drivers. We have recently extended the shuttle service timings from 8:30 to 10:30. None of our competitors offer the same kind of service. On the other hand, Bus 170 outside the hotel takes you to Sloane Square in 10-12 minutes.



The most critical of reviews we get our very friendly, with the biggest flak on the location. However, our guests also appreciate that that is the price they pay which is excellent value for money.



On pricey food- this is not a fair observation in our humble opinion; to increase footfall and gain a status of destination restaurant which we have achieved in short span of few month our restaurant offers a 50% discount on food; we have earned nearly 920 reviews on Toptable.com that has given us a gold star rating. (Highest number of reviews for a ‘new restaurant’ in London in least time) The menu is lauded for its fineness and exceptional value, for example, a 220 gm Angus steak (that we purchase for between £5.50 each raw) costs our diners a mere £12.50 and is praised for its succulence and flavor.



We represent a corporate culture where we take all criticism and improvement from customers as key to our survival, something we can do others are part of our position and design, we assure you that all your recommendations are treated with utmost care and we react to anything that can be improved. We are improving our service standards and continue to work hard on those issues where we fall behind. We intensely thank you for your review that helps us to develop and keep us on our toes. In our hotel the ethos we are trying to instill is to be transparent, to reply with integrity and complete opens admitting our failings; saying sorry and be available to serve with honor and dignity 24/7. Our feedback from our customers suggest that most of them make their way as a result of our honest straight responses which hare unique that they are not standard but address the issues that our guests raise.



Once again, we remain at your disposal and thank you for your review and hope that you return to our hotel soon.



Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

The hotel is nice but I had to keep getting into central london and hence had to take a taxi from the hotel to the train station. They have shettle service but only until 7:30 in the evening which is a shame. If you need to be more in zone 1 and 2 then i would not recommend this place. Plus there is no shops around so you will be stuck in a remote place. Everything else was good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafayel, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear Sir;

We thank you for your review. We note that you have given us top rating on all the features of our hotel with the exception of location. However, the location is something you opt for when you come in and make an informed decision on choosing Battersea. We offer very competitive prices – 40%-50% of what other hotels normally charged for which you get twice the size of a normal London hotel room and 5-star amenities and services, with a 50% discount on food.

As far as the shuttle service is concerned, we are always looking on ways to improve our services on suggestions from valuable customers like you. After your suggestion we have begun to implement an on-demand shuttle service that extends from 8:30 pm to 10:30 pm.

Thank you once again for your feedback, though we think to rate us as ‘poor’ only because of our location after 5 star rating on rooms and others was a little harsh on our business. We look forward to your continued patronage.

We profusely thank you for bringing to us some issues that we have remedied immediately.

Location, location , location are three L's of any great real estate property, we are where we are, as crow flies only 2 minutes from Harrods but 10 minutes to lower Sloane street on bus 170, definitely not very central if you want to be central.

Thanks once again Sir;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in London
#48 Best Value Hotel in London
#156 Luxury Hotel in London
#198 Family Hotel in London
#250 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.