We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only drawback is the location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The only drawback is the location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

The hotel is nice but I had to keep getting into central london and hence had to take a taxi from the hotel to the train station. They have shettle service but only until 7:30 in the evening which is a shame. If you need to be more in zone 1 and 2 then i would not recommend this place. Plus there is no shops around so you will be stuck in a remote place. Everything else was good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafayel, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear Sir;

We thank you for your review. We note that you have given us top rating on all the features of our hotel with the exception of location. However, the location is something you opt for when you come in and make an informed decision on choosing Battersea. We offer very competitive prices – 40%-50% of what other hotels normally charged for which you get twice the size of a normal London hotel room and 5-star amenities and services, with a 50% discount on food.

As far as the shuttle service is concerned, we are always looking on ways to improve our services on suggestions from valuable customers like you. After your suggestion we have begun to implement an on-demand shuttle service that extends from 8:30 pm to 10:30 pm.

Thank you once again for your feedback, though we think to rate us as ‘poor’ only because of our location after 5 star rating on rooms and others was a little harsh on our business. We look forward to your continued patronage.

We profusely thank you for bringing to us some issues that we have remedied immediately.

Location, location , location are three L's of any great real estate property, we are where we are, as crow flies only 2 minutes from Harrods but 10 minutes to lower Sloane street on bus 170, definitely not very central if you want to be central.

Thanks once again Sir;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    773
    268
    123
    40
    17
See reviews for
97
632
71
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I stayed with my partner in this lovely hotel for one night during the week. I found very resonable offer on laterooms.com for £119 per night in this 5* hotel. Room was spacious, very clean in modern contemporary style. Location is not that great as take about 10 min from vauxall by taxi but views are amazing (make sure you book room facing river side). Absolutely would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stayed in Rafayel for the second time now. I travel to London a couple of times per year for various matters, professional and personal.
The hotel itself is brilliant. Nice rooms, gym, restaurant, technology of decent quality and views. We prefer the suite for studying and such but other rooms are of good size too. I've stayed in much more expensive hotels in london (langham,st martin) and have to say that the rooms are a bargain. I particularly like the bathrooms. Great beds, great claining staff. If possible, try to sound proof better between the interconnecting rooms in the suite. Minor detail, though.

Unfortunately the review doesn't end there.
Location is not very good if you're commuting to central london. A cab is some £20 to sloane sq area. If you use train/underground it is roughly 45-60 min to oxford circus. However, I feel this is adequately reflected in the price but maybe you don't want to spend time on a train if this is your first and only visit to london. For me, who travel frequently enjoy comfort and superior quality of the actual hotel rafayel is a very good option.
We ordered room service 4 or 5 times and every time we received the order something was missing. Also at one occation, saturday morning, we tried to call room service for 10 minutes but no one was picking up the phone so we had to phone front desk and they had to get hold of restaurant staff. Not good. I assume all of this was a one-off communication issue because a hotel with this ambitions cannot afford these mistakes.

So, if I were you trying to figure out whether this is a good option or not ask yourself: is the time spent commuting going to be a problem for the purpose of my stay? If no, this should be seriously considered for outstanding rooms and good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for the second time this year and although last time it was going through a soft opening on this occasion all aspects have dramatically improved. Staff are very friendly and helpful as is the Manager Iqbal who looks after the guests needs in an obliging manner. I stayed in an Amazon room and it was very large with Thames partial view and excellent standard of amenities-Large Flatscreen TV , plenty wardrobe space and lovely bathroom. Into the bargain the hotel also provide a fast free wi-fi internet service. Restaurant serves up excellent food although we noticed that yet again the menu was limited and was the same as our last visit. Location is very good with Clapham junction overground station just a 10 min walk although the Hotel provides a free shuttle service to both Clapham Junction and Clapham Common underground stations. The 170 bus also stops directly outside of the hotel and for a couple of pound you will be in London Victoria in 15 mins. All in all an excellent hotel in a quiet Riverside location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel is one of the few that I have stayed in that lives up to its own hype. I stayed here with my partner who had some business in the area and so this was the perfect location for her. Having read some reviews moaning about the distance to the underground I was not sure how it would suit me with my plans of spending 2 days sightseeing in central London. I needn't have worried. For those travellers obsessed with catching the underground from Clapham Common you are indeed right in that it is a long walk, but the FREE shuttle service from the hotel is every 30 mins and will get you there very easily. Alternatively you can just walk the 10 mins to the Clapham Junction overground station (or the 3 minute free shuttle ride from the hotel), which will get you to London Victoria or Waterloo within 10 mins. Where is the problem?
Service wise the staff were always happy and smiling and nothing seemed too much trouble.
The hotel public areas were immaculate with an amazing thames view restaurant although the menu was limited in choice, the food was amazing!
The bedroom was clean and comfortable with thick, soft carpets and almost sound proof floor to ceiling windows for a nice view, (and we only went for a mid-price room) with the most comfortable bed I have slept in for ages. The bathroom was huge! A 16 inch TV in the wall at the end of the bath was a nice touch but unfortunately was not hooked up yet (during their soft opening schedule, whatever that means!).
All in all this Hotel is amazing at the price and personally will be choosing this hotel for all my future London trips.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Having stayed twice at this hotel, 2 nights at a time, I strongly recommend it. The rooms and bathrooms are modern, spacious and very well appointed. The staff are ALL amazing and really helpful. Excellent restaurant too with view over Thames. Free taxi to Clapham junction or pay for a taxi or use your car, which is valet parked at £15 per day. Spotlessly clean, new, and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010 via mobile

After reading the reviews we decided to spend our wedding anniversary here. Booking a junior suite for us and two smaller rooms for our teenagers.
From booking in to leaving I can say that the staff went that extra mile. Our room with card and cakes was simply stunning.
Our only disappointment was not eating in the restaurant. We had drinks and the food looked amazing. The boys want to move in.
You are away from central London but the free transfers and bus service means you don't miss out. The value is unbelievable. We are already looking at another visit in the new year.
Already recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in London
#47 Best Value Hotel in London
#180 Family Hotel in London
#182 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.