We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 1,075 hotels in London
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Having stayed twice at this hotel, 2 nights at a time, I strongly recommend it. The rooms and bathrooms are modern, spacious and very well appointed. The staff are ALL amazing and really helpful. Excellent restaurant too with view over Thames. Free taxi to Clapham junction or pay for a taxi or use your car, which is valet parked at £15 per day. Spotlessly clean, new, and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    757
    261
    118
    38
    15
See reviews for
95
617
68
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010 via mobile

After reading the reviews we decided to spend our wedding anniversary here. Booking a junior suite for us and two smaller rooms for our teenagers.
From booking in to leaving I can say that the staff went that extra mile. Our room with card and cakes was simply stunning.
Our only disappointment was not eating in the restaurant. We had drinks and the food looked amazing. The boys want to move in.
You are away from central London but the free transfers and bus service means you don't miss out. The value is unbelievable. We are already looking at another visit in the new year.
Already recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Hi,

After our stay last week for my Fiance’s 30th Birthday (12+13th November) I would like to comment the below.

The Hotel was fantastic, the service 100% and the location was great for everything including central London, Chelsea and getting in and out of London when arriving and departing. The whole experience was perfect and our extended party in the bar later on Saturday night was also well catered for.

I will be looking to stay at the hotel again when on business in London with other associates of mine and also again purely for pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Drove up to the front reception and was met by 2 valet/porters, very pleasant and very helpful, in fact the staff in this hotel always went that extra yard and were pleasant, accommodating and a pleasure to spend time around, and that means every single member of staff was fantastic!! The hotel was very clean we stayed in a thames room which i highly recomend the views of the thames are stunning from the room, very clean the scent in the bedroom and bathroom was beautiful and even down to the scented loo roll!!. Bathroom was gorgeous and very luxurious. Bed comfiest we ever have experienced, Hotel very very quiet, the food and service was just great, and the service again second to none. We met the owner of the building who was a lovely man and was very nice company to. All in all thumbs up to the Rafayeln and all who work there, we hope you enjoy our tip, Mrs Maguire, thanks so much for a wonderful stay we will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Rafayel in early August 2010. I booked two nights and contacted the hotel and asked if they could do anything to make it special as it was my mans 40th birthday. I was stunned when they upgraded our room, provided beautiful cup cakes wine and a card plus a discount in the restaurant. So impressed was I that I booked a further night.
The staff are exceptional, the rooms are big, luxuriously fitted with thick carpets, multi jet shower and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever stayed in. The entertainment system was state of the art and the view was whilst not brilliant better than many I have seen in London.
The only thing which lets the hotel down a little is the location in that you aren't close to an underground but there is a free shuttle service which takes you to the overground station so it's no hardship.
The restaurant was a bit slow and the vegetarian options were very limited. My partner had a beautiful steak and still talks about it now.
I would definitely go back to this hotel and have recommended it to my friends. I would love to stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

First off the slight negatives - The location of the hotel is a little out of the way, though Victoria is easily reachable by bus from a stop directly outside the hotel. The shuttle service to clapham junction is also extremely helpful and quick in our limited experience.
The service is not quite 5*, though very nearly (the staff are very helpful if not entirely competent E.G. Our air conditioning did not work very well and despite a couple of tries the problems were never sorted.)

Now the positives - The cost - equivelent hotels in central London could be as much at 2-3 times the price.
This hotel has a beautiful setting on the banks of the Thames (despite the flats to the rear).
The views from the restaurant are excellent and the quality and value of the food on offer is difficult to beat.
The rooms are large and well appointed.

All in all a great offering in an up and coming part of the city. If the location suits book it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed on a Friday night during November and we weren’t disappointed.

Although the Hotel makes it very clear on the website the ease of getting there, the location was still a slight concern before we arrived, but frankly it was as easy as the website claims if not easier so all good. We didn’t take advantage of the hotel shuttle on arrival and chose to walk from Clapham junction which took about 10 minutes and found the hotel entrance quite easily.

The check-in experience was quick and easy and the staff courteous and welcoming although I did find the lobby/check-in area was slightly cluttered and confusing.
Beyond the lobby the hotel was very clean and well signed, and the room was beautiful. It looked like the picture which is all you can ask really, the room was stylish, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious and the view beautiful.

We ordered room service after midnight and only cold sandwiches were available which was slightly disappointing but having said that for sandwiches they were very nice. We had breakfast in bed and although it wasn’t exactly what we ordered it arrived in good time and was great.

Checking out was easy and quick and we asked about the shuttle service to Clapham common and were written on to a list, told it would leave in about 20 mins and asked to wait in reception and all seemed fine. However to cut a long story short the shuttle doesn’t seem to have been very well thought through, it only carries 4 people and luggage, and there were 6 booked onto our shuttle... and we were going to different stations which the driver didn’t seem to think should be happening.

I don’t mean to be harsh here but i didn’t think the driver we had was a particularly good advert for the hotel, i must say he was never rude or unpleasant but his driving style didn’t make it comfortable for passengers and frankly on a number of occasions his driving was pretty dangerous!

So in summary, the price was fair, the room was big and well designed, the food was great and the staff were polite and helpful. A few very minor things need ironing out in the organisation but once that’s done you’ve got a 5 star hotel! We hope to come back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in London
#76 Best Value Hotel in London
#167 Romantic Hotel in London
#180 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.