We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here! It is fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 1,054 Hotels in London
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stay here! It is fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I write this review as a somewhat of a hotel (and London) efficienado. I like quality linen, good sevice and peace and quiet. This hotel has it in spadefulls. I almost don't want to let the secret of this hotel out! It is a private discreet classy haven in an otherwise chaotic city. It is on the riverside in Battersea and you can just step out and stroll along to Battersea Park.

If you want to shop carry on over Chelsea Bridge to Sloane Square and on up to Harrods and Harvey Nics. Smaller budget? Turn left down Kings Road to the great British High Street.

Don't be put off that you are not next to the tube - rejoice that you are not near the tube!! Walk out the front of the hotel and pick up the 170 bus which for £2.00 will take you up to Sloane Square. If you are around for a while pick up a travel Oyster Card and top up.

But I digress, the Hotel.... huge rooms for London, very high quality bathrooms, some with TVs beside the bath and double showers! The bed linen is top notch as are the towels and the furnishings. The staff are friendly, helpful patient and genuine. I had a lite bite in the Restaurant and again top quality discreet friendly service.

I don't have enough space to mention the Library, beautiful Spa and gym and even the hall ways I find just really well thought out. Housekeeping - what housekeeping? You don't see them, you don't hear them - but your room will be serviced.

I have even taken a few photos for some home decorating tips for myself! Don't expect a mass market reception desk when you arrive - it is tasteful and efficient.

You might comment that you came to London to see the sights - trust me... after a day's sightseeing in London you will be overjoyed that you have the Rafayel to return to.

So stay here - I promise you will be glad you did - you can thank me telepathically ;)
Enjoy London!
(Orla - Room 116)
Things not to do - stay away from Clapham - tired and scruffy - head over the bridge to Chelsea and on up to town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    272
    124
    41
    17
See reviews for
97
637
71
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nr Geneva
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Loved it - the staff are charming, the rooms are great, the food is fabulous and the mojito was the best I've had. And there's a cigar lounge where you puff on a very relaxing and wonderful tasting (even though I don't smoke) hubble bubble pipe, meet all sorts of people and talk about all sorts of things. All completely marvellous and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Linea De La Concepcion, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

this truly was a great hotel from the minute we got through the front door...receptionist very professional and polite and the bellboy took out bag to our very spacious room...the very airy corriders and room itself smelt fantastic and all the eco things they have including the hand made bed,matress and pillows to die for made it a very comfortable day..
they have big floor to ceiling windows so you get maximum light exposure and the fridge is fully stocked..the shower is fantastic with some sort of hydro jet system (not sure what they are called), but all in all we wished we could have stayed longer to see the restaurant and the cigar bar along with the spa treatment!!! also the roof has amazing views over the thames and we will definately be back after the summer and would recommend this to anyone who appreciates a little bit of luxury at an affordable price!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kangainlondon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

A gorgeous room and hotel, which had 5 star quality and luxury but with a unique boutique feel. The hotel provides a great location for easy access to Kings Road, Chelsea, Battersea Square and Northcote Roads for great shopping and dining experiences. Also good transport links to central london. Will definately stay at Hotel Rafayel again, and would happily recommend for both personal and corporate affairs.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I hosted a hen party at the Rafayel this weekend and can commend them for their excellent service, facilities, food and rooms. The staff were brilliant at helping with any request, large or small and were also great in the planning stages of the weekend. We had wonderful spa treatments and delicious food in the restaurant before the team at the hotel booked us cabs to the Kings Road (a mere 10 minute/£10 black cab ride). I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to host an event such as we did.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010 via mobile

One of the best hotels we have stayed in ages - even being a global traveller. Staff is very friendly, the views are amazing and allthough you don't have the best connections to Central London, you will always enjoy your journey and the brilliant views on the way to Battersea. Did not test room service, however the Banjan Restaurant offers brilliant salads. Tasting an home-made cupcake is also a must.

The rooms are very well equiped, however try to avoid the Standard rooms if travelling as a couple, since they offer single size beds only - but have seen by far much worst in London.

The bathrooms are spaceous and very zen and the organic products and eco-friendly engagement have also convinced us to choose this place.

Only critic point: housekeeping was unable to arrange me cotton buds...

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

The Hotel:
Hotel Rafayel is very new and clean. The Mississipi room was very well appointed if a little small. The shower was great. There is a small cupcake boutique in the lobby which lets you have free tastings...and they were great.
The Staff:
Very helpful and friendly. One of the strengths of this hotel.
Location:
Not great. It is on the River Thames, but the neighbourhood is semi industrial which was odd. The train connections are also not good, with a 10min walk to Clapham Junction. The hotel does offer a great (and free) taxi service to the train station. The best public transport in the 170 bus which stops outside the hotel.

Overall a good hotel, but if you want to see the sights and shops in London, i'd go for something a little more central.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in London
#38 Best Value Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#176 Family Hotel in London
#186 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.