We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel- Good for sightseeing trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel- Good for sightseeing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is lovely and clean, staff are friendly, and the food is amazing!
Stayed here for 1 night, came to London for a bit of sightseeing, which was great because the hotel is only a 10min walk from the nearest tube station!
Recommend if you dont want to pay central London prices but want easy travel access to the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    323
    151
    49
    26
See reviews for
110
726
81
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

we were staying here for the Chelsea flower show and that was good as the hotel is only a 10 min bus ride away on the 170 route. They have a free pick up from the local Clapham Junction overground station which is good but has limited runs so just to watch for..

Great free wifi and good speed compared to other inner city 5 star hotels I don't mention.

The bar area was not great... Only bar stools and one tired seating area, but the view was great out over the river.... No footie on a big screen which is a no no .

Breakfast was good value, a bit basic but still worth buying..... Better than many hotels, but short of the best in the same price bracket

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel and the Banyan restaurant for making our stay special! Even before we arrived, the team had prepared a birthday card and chocolates for my husband. They upgraded us to a stunning suite and the restaurant even created a personalised menu for our dinner party! All of this was unexpected and just showed that they wanted to give us the best experience ever.

The rooms were luxurious (especially the Jacuzzi bath with a built in TV) and the hotel overall was clean and well maintained. The restaurant food was delicious and the view of the Thames was an added bonus.

Looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. Top levels have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a lovely time here, apart from some of my bedroom lights not working but it was sorted giving me enough time to finally get ready and go straight to the Royal Albert Hall. View was terrible.. But design was beautiful. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel on the 8th May. We have visited the restaurant before which was excellent so we decided to stay overnight. We had a meal in the restaurant again which was brilliant. The staff are first class and so professional. The food in the restaurant is as good as as the first time. We definitely will go back - well done brilliant service

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Unfortunately this hotel will not be on my list of places I want to return to for a number of reasons.
1) Lack of sleep. Our room had a connecting door into the room next door, for which there was absolutely no sound insulation. Whilst I appreciate that the hotel cannot control the behaviour of other guests, and the fact that the party next door went on until past 7am was not their fault, the fact that we could hear every word spoken in the next room most definitely is. Reception sent someone up to ask them to turn the music down (which they did) but even at a low level we could hear it, and there were several people in the room, all discussing a variety of subjects all night.
Night two started off fine. We had confirmed that the noisy people were leaving, and agreed with reception that if we got back from our day out and it was a problem then we could move rooms. However, whilst we were aware of there being people in the room next door there was no problem with noise, and being absolutely exhausted we decided to stay put and went to bed at 21.30 (something to do with being awake all the previous night meant that we were both shattered)
Mistake.
At 22.57 next-door decided to turn their music on. Until 1am. My husband is a really deep sleeper and it woke him up and he struggled to go back to sleep. I could hear it clearly despite wearing earplugs. Whilst I don’t think it was a particularly sociable thing to do, I don’t believe that they actually had the music that loud – it just sounded that way in our room – possibly due to the set-up of the speakers? I don’t know, but it was exactly as though the music was in our room, and kept us awake for another few hours.

2) Location. It is not great. The hotel runs a shuttle to Clapham Common and Clapham Junction, which is very handy and we used it several times, but I would not have felt safe walking anywhere in the dark (not that there was anywhere very close by to walk to – except Travis Perkins and SafeStore) Our room had a view over the river in one direction (which was lovely) and a view over Travis Perkins and into people’s living rooms for the other two thirds.

3) At breakfast the staff insisted on addressing all conversation to my husband and pretty much ignoring me. Irritating at first, very tedious by the end of it (I was glad it was only breakfast).

4) The bill. Mistakes happen, but having a receptionist who didn’t show me the bill or ask me to check it before asking for my credit card (yes, OK I could have asked to see it but at the time I didn’t feel the need – it sounded about right) and then managed to mess up using the credit card machine was not a good start. Being charged for two cappuccinos that we did not have (then being asked if we had then and still not having had them taken off the bill) and a £23 tip in the restaurant where we had only eaten breakfast was also not good. I’m hoping they have all now been taken off my card – will have to wait and see.

5) Check-in. When we checked in the gentleman on reception checked us in, gave us the key and told us he didn’t have time to tell us about the facilities as he had another guest waiting, so he would phone us in the room to tell us. Again, very random.

6) Shuttle driver managed to jump a lot of red lights, as well as putting our suitcases standing up so the first corner we went round they went flying across the back of the van and fell over. He didn’t seem to be very enthusiastic about his job, and disappeared for 15 minutes at the time we were supposed to be leaving one day.

On the plus side:
1) The hotel staff (apart from the incidents above) were all very polite and charming
2) We were upgraded to a ‘suite’ which was a nice thought (unfortunately I suspect the original room might have been less noisy, but we were not to know that at the time). The room itself was lovely, the bed was comfy. It was described as a ‘partial river view’ which was exactly what it was, and it was nice to be able to see the river. Lovely size and nice and spacious - a rarity in a London hotel.
3) We also had a bath, which after walking 26 miles as part of the Moonwalk was very welcome
4) Requests for extra pillows, to open the safe (which was locked when we went into the room), to turn the air conditioning off and for booking the shuttles were all met promptly and very pleasantly.
5) When I phoned reception at 00:45 to ask them to get next-door to turn the music down they sent someone up within 20 minutes and then (I believe) kept an eye on it during the night.
6) The shuttle to Clapham is useful, and we used it several times. It would have been very expensive to get a taxi every time, and it was not walking distance, so it is good that the hotel have recognised this.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a lovely weekend. Son brought us the couples spa day for Christmas, so decided to stay for the weekend. Excellent service and staff very friendly. Would stay again, excellent location. Breakfast was very good, there is nothing like have an cooked breakfast looking out onto the Thames.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in London
#56 Best Value Hotel in London
#159 Luxury Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#246 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.