We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel with a nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 1,062 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely hotel with a nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here whilst attending a wedding in London that had both Chelsea and central elements. Great location to cover both, room was really nice as was both service and food in the restaurant. My only complaint that the room thermostat seemed to default to 25c and despite efforts we could not get it much lower making it somewhat hot to sleep in!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm_Bass, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comment about the thermostat settings and are looking into it. Had our front desk staff known, they would have arranged to have the system reset to a more comfortable temperature. Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
We look forward to welcome you at the ‘Rafayel’ again and assure you of our best at all times.


Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    311
    145
    46
    25
See reviews for
106
704
79
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had booked a deluxe room for a 1 night break, we were kindly upgraded to a 2 bedroom luxury apartment. Which was outstanding, river view amazing, very clean and everything you could wish for for a stay in a hotel.

Staff are all very friendly and were there for everything we asked, and were most helpful.

Evening meal was the best steak i have ever had.

I would recommend this hotel as one of the best i have stayed in.

Room Tip: River view room was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm_Bass, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
We look forward to welcome you at the ‘Rafayel’ again and assure you of our best at all times.


Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was more luxurious and much larger than I can imagine for this price anywhere and especially in London. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The service in all parts of the hotel was first class. This is the best hotel I stay in across all of my travels in Europe.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm_Bass, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
We look forward to welcome you at the ‘Rafayel’ again and assure you of our best at all times.


Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed here four times in the past few years. We are planning to stay again very soon. We got engaged here and had a very brief mini moon NYE 2012-2013. The staff are wonderful and always make you feel welcome. We have only had the opportunity to use the spa once as a couples treatment, AMAZING! Hotel offers a shuttle service to Clapham, however if you don't mind a bit of a bus trip which we did with our eldest son. A stop to Victoria is situated right outside the hotel. Short walk to Battersea Park, took a picnic along. The food and ambiance we cant fault. Sitting eating breakfast watching the Thames flow by tranquil. We would be here all the time if we didn't live so far away. We love this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm_Bass, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated as it helps us to better our services. Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
We look forward to welcome you at the ‘Rafayel’ again and assure you of our best at all times.


Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I really love this hotel. The rooms are huge, luxurious and very clean. The staff are fantastic and very helpful. They have always upgraded me if they had a room available. I will always stay here when in London. It's maybe a bit out of the way if you don't know Battersea, but it's very easy to get around. I walk down the embankment to Battersea Bridge, across that and then you are in the middle of Chelsea and Kings Road. Or you can go for a nice walk in Battersea Park. Buses outside the front door, and free car service to Clapham train station.

Room Tip: best rooms are on the river. partial river view also good but all rooms are very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm_Bass, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated as it helps us to better our services. Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
We look forward to welcome you at the ‘Rafayel’ again and assure you of our best at all times.


Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great stay at hotel , Upgraded to river view by manager. Room was very nice had a amazing bathroom with jets and rainforest shower. Nice large bed and good speakers in the room to connect songs.
Tv was very limited as not all free view channels were there.
Car was complimentary parked by staff and £15 pounds parking for the whole night.
We had lunch at the restaurant which is very expensive but you get a 50% discount if staying there. The meal to be honest was not the best chicken was not very fresh tasting and hardly no flavors at all, I wouldn't recommend this but i would recommend the afternoon tea for £35 pounds loved very nice.
The spa area is very nice for couple if you manage to get it free as the jacuzzi and small swimming pool is only really big enough to relax for 2 people.
We had it lucky as was always empty, The sauna was nice yet again small but good for couples. We was very disappointing as the steam room was not working for 2 days and was one of our main parts we wanted to use.
We didn't really have time for a massage but looked nice and kind guests. its £60 for full body massages and around £35 for back and shoulders.
Hotel offers free shuttle service like a cab to clapham station area were nice bars and restaurants, But as we was not informed by staff the shuttle does not run after 10 as i called to pick us up but they said its closed which i was disappointing about as we should have been told.
But hotel features are very nice and posh was very nice mood lighting. well maintained property.
Will visit again but most prob explore outer areas for meals.

Room Tip: Room on 3rd floor as spa is next door for a quick dip
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This is our second stay at Rafayel, we decided to return for a spa break having enjoyed the facilities the last time. Well what a stay! When we arrived we had been upgraded to a two bed room apartment which left us quite literally speechless as we walked in. Spilt over two floors its the size of a house, with a kitchen, an en suite bathroom a separate shower room and would be wonderful for a stay with friends or family. We had a partial river view and simply loved our stay. The apartments are accessed through a different lift to the hotel rooms.

We made use of the spa facilities which were lovely. There's a small 3 person jacuzzi, a small pool with a resistance function so you can swim as though in a large pool, sauna and a steam room though this was out of order this time. But that didn't matter we enjoyed ourselves. There is also a gym that was quiet too.

We met the hotels owner in the lift to the apartment who was lovely and told us there was jazz happening later on. We popped in after dinner (we ordered a deliverance take away but there is a restaurant and room service) around 11pm and there was a disco and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

I would have no hesitation to return and look forward to doing so. I think the hotel is well priced, with stunning views and friendly staff.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in London
#54 Best Value Hotel in London
#142 Luxury Hotel in London
#196 Family Hotel in London
#229 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.