We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to while away the day by the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 1,073 hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place to while away the day by the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I love taking pictures of the river, and often walk along it enjoying many findings. I have from time to time stopped at, The Rafayel Banyan restaurant, for a Tea or coffee. On rare occasions, I have eaten a meal always sitting outside on the tables along the river. The food is good and the service friendly and adequate. I recommend this place for the above reasons. It is also a nice place to pass by and while away a few minutes! Hope you will try it too!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    774
    268
    120
    41
    17
See reviews for
96
630
71
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for one night as part of a quick stop over.

Staff, cleanliness and location all excellent. Onsite parking for £15 seemed good value too.

Although we didn't eat at the restaurant, it seemed to be a good price and looked to a high standard.

The best things about the hotel were definitely the very reasonable price ( for London ) and hands down, the best shower I have ever seen.

Worth staying just for the very powerful shower.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a gem of a hotel. Incredibly reasonable. Beautiful rooms, overlooking the Thames. Really friendly, helpful staff who went out of their way to help me. Nr battersea park, Chelsea, kings road. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth getting a room facing the Thames. Huge rooms, amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I were looking for a reasonably priced hotel, just for the one night and as a base to go and see a west end show. Imagine our delight to find not just excellent value for money - but with such great facilities and excellent staff too. We ate at the hotel restauraunt Banyan on the Thames, and the meal was very good and priced competitively. Breakfast in the restaurant the next morning was super and the staff very acommodating
Thanks to all the amazing team at the Rafayel. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked this hotel for a night away in London.
The room was beautiful, very clean and big. However that's everything positive I could say about this hotel. We found it to be very overpriced for what you actually get. You simply have your room and that's it, no breakfast, no complimentary drinks etc. As soon as we walked into reception, we felt the staff looked down on us because we are young so from that we definitely didn't feel welcome. On top of this, we had to give our card details over when we checked in, which we expected, however because we booked through a different company, and not directly with the hotel, they charged our card again for the price of the room which they never told us they were doing. We only found this out when we were out in London trying to pay for different things. Because of this we rung the hotel up because it was too far to travel back and the answer we received was rude and didn't really explain the reasonings behind why they took our money again. The only thing we were briefly explained was that once we checked out that they would return the money, however it would take 4-5 working days to go back into our account. Hence leaving us with little money for the rest of the week!
Overall we definitely wouldn't return to this hotel, the service was poor and the staff was rude. This night away was meant to be a treat and it was nothing but a waste of time and too much hassle!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Me and the wife stayed for 1 night as a treat. The price for the quality is amazing. Definitely worth the upgrade from the usual travel lodge. Didn't eat there or use the spa so i cant comment. the reception staff were not happy and smiley but the way they were spoken to by some of the other guests, there is no wonder. The free drop off and collection to the nearest underground is a great help but only runs till just gone 22:00. I was a bit thrifty and only booked the Mississippi room but next time will upgrade to get a good view over the Thames. At the prices they charge it really is a bargain, i wouldn't use any other hotel in London now.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room and it was fantastic. The posher rooms must be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at Rafayel on a week day in August. From the moment you step into the warm welcoming reception, you feel very 'at home'. Reception staff are attentive to all needs & here to help our stay a memorable occasion.
Bedroom was spotless, and very comfy, and very quiet.
Would very much recommend this 'little gem of a Hotel'

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in London
#47 Best Value Hotel in London
#178 Romantic Hotel in London
#179 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.