We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel and a bargain room rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel and a bargain room rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

there were four of us staying here for one night and three shared an apartment on the 10th floor with a stunning view of the river whilst I had a room in the hotel. Modern, well furnished and well equipped and a short ten minute walk from Clapham Junction. But whilst my room perfectly ok the apartment was sensational, on a warm evening in London last night having a balcony in the sun was just exceptional, right opposite Imperial gardens and Chelsea harbour. At £119 per night it must have been the best deal in town. Obviously battersea is a bit out of the centre and there is some noise from the helipad next door but I wouldn't let that put you off.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    317
    150
    47
    26
See reviews for
109
720
79
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed one night at the weekend. Booked Premium deluxe a couple of months ago, on ringing on the day to check booking was told had been upgraded to junior suite.
Room was big with separate dining area and way bigger bathroom than normal.
Not certain but possibly traded down on a full Thames view for a partial view but taking account of the weekend being disappointing weather wise, for us we still felt well up on the deal.
Room was clean and in good working order, our two room service snacks were quick, reasonably priced, tasty with biggish portions.
Hotel occupancy was I think high but did not hear other guests nearby. An hour extension to check out was secured. Staff helpful, Ben being particularly polite. Will try to return as did not explore nearby much due to weather. Actual Hotel position is a little off track from nearest High Streets, did not use the shuttle so cannot comment. Had a meal at the attached restaurant, tasty food but would have been expensive had it not been for the 50% hotel guest discount ( 2 courses needed to include a main) but does include drinks. Ambience was a little noisy for our table for two on account of some large table parties, but service good.

Room Tip: Suite may be worth an extra £50 even if free upgrade not present. Represents way better value than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and each time I have been impressed by the service that I have received. On my most recent is it we were upgraded to a 2 floor apartment for no extra cost. Incredible views across the river, living room, 2bedrooms, bathrooms and an amazing kitchen. To top it off thy have an enclosed balcony with sofas. Very clean and brilliant value for London. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at The Rafayel hotel on April 2014 to celebrate my birthday with my partner.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything went smooth.
Great welcome, had an upgrade, box of chocolate and a card, nice touch.
What a lovely room and HUGE. Everything is modern. Good size bed and very comfortable.
The shower is amazing, make sure you put the mat on the floor.
The hotel is a bit far from the tube but they organise a free shuttle, needs to be booked 30min, to Clapham common or Junction.
The Spa was a bit disappointed. Quite small Jacuzzi, steam room seats 3 people but nice sauna.
It is not a swimming pool but more an exercising pool where you walk against waves in cold water.
Breakfast has a lot of choice, had only continental.
I will definitely recommend it and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I booked via a search engine and expected the worse as the price was very competitive for the location. Upon arrival I was delighted with the location and views over the Thames. The staff could not have been more helpful and the restaurant was amazing in terms of choice and quality of food. The room itself was clean, functional and very spacious. I am due back to London this summer and immediately rebooked this hotel for 5 days.

Room Tip: Try and get river side, albeit the road that runs outside the hotel isn't a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

two day stay in London (on a course) - so wanted something well positioned, good value and good quality- and not to have to pay through the nose for it.
Stumbled across this hotel.
Car parking available- member of staff drove down with me to ensure i could get in the garage, find a space and also get through door to get upstairs to lobby. much appreciated.
Rooms well appointed, very modern, very clean, everything worked - felt VERY comfortable here. i was too bust to have a drink or eat here so cannot comment but breakfast menu looked comprehensive and well proved. Rooms were cheeper than a premier inn which was next to my course venue in Blackfriars….
Each morning we were dropped at tube / train station by courtesy shuttle - and the offer for collection at night was also made.
this was an absolute sophisticated, superb and stylish hotel - i would definitely recommend staying here for business or pleasure/ visiting London purposes.

Room Tip: Beware windows which look out on street level with no voile etc - may give or get a surprise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very good and the staff were very helpful. We'd asked for a room with a bath but they hadn't received the request but upgraded us to an apartment. This was excellent. There is a lovely restaurant on site and when we were there there was an offer of 2 for 1, the food was excellent.
Note that the hotel is out of the way and is not served by an underground station which is a bit of an inconvenience. You have to use the overland train from Victoria, but there is a free shuttle into Clapham, we didn't use this but it seemed to be very convenient.
There is a good bus service but unfortunately the staff were not au fait with the bus routes - we had to find this out for ourselves! We stayed here as I was walking the Moonwalk marathon starting from Clapham Common so we weren't sight seeing or getting out and about much so the location of the hotel was fine for us, but this should be a consideration.
My one criticism of this hotel was following my booking I was asked to complete a private questionnaire by the hotel. This was very biased, giving only categories of excellent, average or poor. I would defy anyone to rate this as only average but excellent?? Not realistic. I am sure that the hotel will use this feedback to promote themselves unrealistically and wonder why when their feedback in Trip Advisor is positive. It left a sour taste after a pleasant stay in a very good hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in London
#47 Best Value Hotel in London
#156 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Family Hotel in London
#255 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.