We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, stayed in a Nile suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, stayed in a Nile suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We only stayed for a night but car was parked by valet, room was huge and lovely, very clean and good views, and a fab breakfast.

We paid £200 for the best suite, The room we had would have been £800 in Central London and an Addison lee cab was only £15.

Would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    330
    160
    51
    28
See reviews for
113
749
82
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in October as we were exhibiting at battersea evolution. We booked through late rooms and consequently our room offered extremely good value. The room was excellent, lovely soft sheets, a large bed, plenty of hanging space, quiet, good brands of tea and coffee, fridge, safe and a stunning bathroom with one of the best showers we have experienced. We ate at the Thai opposite which was excellent also. We had checked before booking that our extra long and high transit could be accommodated and although the car park has a height restriction the staff were very accommodating and ensured we could park on site. All of the staff had a can do attitude and were friendly and professional. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the Rafayel on 2nd November for one night and booked the hotel due to its Battersea location.

When checking in, we were delighted to be upgraded to a two floor, deluxe apartment on the 11th floor with stunning views across London. It was a real shame we were only there for one night!

Location was good, only a 10min walk from Clapham Junction. The bar/restaurant also had great views across the Thames & the cigar terrace was a great feature.

The customer service we received was faultless, Yazir was particularly attentive and helpful.

We'd like to thank the Rafayel for a wonderful stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Sat 2nd Nov was the 2nd time my husband & I stayed here, the 1st there were 4 of us & were upgraded to an apartment which was fabulous. Only 2 of us went this time so we didn't expect a room quite as good but we were delighted with room 216 Amazon style room , the attention to detail in the room was superb from bathroom to bedroom, it was very spacious, styish ,quiet & comfortable.We used the free shuttle to Clapham Common , very convenient. Overall the hotel & staff are lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed overnight on Saturday 2nd November. We stayed in a Thames room which had lovely big windows and a view of the River and was very well appointed with a big screen Philips ambilight television and nice comfy beds. There was even a telly in the bathroom! The reception staff were friendly and welcoming especially Yasir who deserves mention for his bright outlook and helpful approach. The restaurant for breakfast however was a real disappointment, with surly staff in scruffy uniforms and for £14.95 each the breakfast was average at best definitely not 5 star. So in summary I would rate this hotel as good for rooms (but maybe need to invest in better lighting its quite dingy) and good for reception staff but not so good for the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed for 5 nights in this hotel from Ocotber 26th to November 1st 2013.
One of the reasons to choose the hotel was the spa facilities announced on the hotels web site. It turned out to be something really disappointing. The so called spa has the smallest sauna we have ever seen. The turkish bath was not working properly, small and uncomfortable. The mini pool was closed due to maintenance works and not reopened during our entire stay, although the staff told me they would fix it "tomorrow". The worst thing were the opening hours with the spa closing at 8pm sharp. So after a nice and long sightseeing day in London, just when you would need a spa to relax in the hotel, it was about to close or already closed...
The gym was ok with new and a big variety of machines.
The rooms: high tech TV which controls the aircon system among others. Thanks to the option of switching the aircon off we could sleep, Otherwise the system was extremely noisy and uncomfortable even on the lowest level. Temperatures could only be set between 19 and 24°C. Surfing in the internet was not possible on the TV. The free Tv programmes were very limited. Almost no international TV programmes available.
We had a lot of noise of the water pipings. Each time other guests took showers in neighbouring rooms we could here the noise as if it was in our bathroom.
Design of the rooms. The bed was ok, but a bit too small. The bathroom was nice and big and in comparison to the room even a bit too spacious. We had difficulties to find space for our luggage in the room, but a super big bathroom. The main problem both in the room and the bathroom was a lack of illumination. impossible to get shaved at "candle light" in front of the huge mirror. The entire hotel was very dark.
The breakfast service was included, and served in the restaurant at the riverside. Nice place at the river but not the restaurant itself. The quality of the breakfast was at most average for a 3 star hotel, Service at the restaurant was unfriendly.
The hotel is located in the 1st to 3rd floor of a modern apartment building. In the photgraphs you will always see the entire building and automtically assume that the whole building is occupied by the hotel. The so called views on the Thames exist, but far away from what one would expect from the photos of the building.
All in all we felt we could have spent far less for the same quality and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest



Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Whilst we highly appreciate all feedback we receive, we feel the need to reply to some reviews which tends to show the hotel in a bad light.



Firstly, with regard to your comments about our spa, our spa consists of a sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, gym and resistance pool covering an area of nearly 2000 square feet. These are additional facilities than you cannot find in most London hotels. Furthermore, these are provided free of charge for our hotel guests. The wet areas are concentrated on 350 square feet. Our Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna are 3.5 square metres each in area and are designed to accommodate four people at a time, which we find completely adequate given the fact that the spa is available primarily for hotel guests and remains empty for large parts of the day, because we are primarily a business hotel, frequented by businessmen and women. We have never received complaints from hotel guests saying that these facilities are ‘too small’. It is true that our resistance pool was out of use during your stay with us and for that we sincerely apologise. We are pleased however that you were impressed with “the new and big variety of machines” on offer in our gym. The opening and closing times was decided after much deliberation and observation of usage, and we are sorry once again if they did not suit your programme.



The average size of our hotel rooms is 280 square feet, amongst the largest of any hotel in London. You mention that you found our bathrooms to be ‘too spacious’. Our bathrooms have been intentionally designed to be large and spacious. We have a 2 metre long mirror in the bathrooms for a simple reason, because we think bathrooms in hotels should be spacious and should provide luxury. We are a small hotel and the building is designed in a kind of boomerang shape. Naturally, as a result of this, wet areas have to be on floors one over the other. The design demands that the size of the rooms and corridors are spacious. One can also make an observation that our corridors are too big but we didn't want to design a claustrophobic hotel. Regarding luggage space in the rooms, there is 1.4 cubic metres of inbuilt cupboard space in all rooms, which seems to be enough for the guests. We could have made the corridors and bathrooms smaller but would then compromise on the quality of the hotel. We believe that a true hotel is defined by the amount of public spaces available and the size of the bathrooms. This is what we considered when designing the hotel and we think we succeeded in achieving this with a large variety of public spaces such as our Japanese Garden, spa and cigar lounge which are all accessible to hotel guests free of charge.
In a city like London where living spaces are very expensive, we are proud of our achievement in offering such areas in the hotel. We are hereby explaining the concept behind our design and it was based on our earnest desire to exceed customers’ expectations.



We cannot help but repeat ourselves that we have a modern and sophisticated ‘Daikin’ air conditioning system which feeds clean air, and is noiseless. It may have had a faint hum though, and we are sorry if it disturbed you, but we were rather shocked to find that you had used one of the hotel towels to cover the ventilator grill, in spite of the air conditioning being switched off.



We are disappointed to note that you were not satisfied with the breakfast service in our hotel but never brought it to our notice. Our Public Relations Manager had been talking to you daily during your stay but not once was it mentioned that you were not happy with the layout of our breakfast buffet. May we highlight again that we pride ourselves in quality and service and most items of our breakfast is served ‘a la carte’, which we believe is the classy thing to do. We prepare everything fresh on site. Guests can ask for anything and we will seek to meet their requirements. Furthermore, we are an eco friendly hotel and thrive to minimise food waste and we sincerely believe in the principle that food should not be thrown away.



In our website we clearly mention that the hotel consists of 4 floors, with an area of nearly 56,000 sq. feet. Our records indicate that you had a partial view of the river from the room you booked. Had you wanted a full river view, you could have booked one of our Thames rooms, which as you can see on the website are merely a few metres away from the banks of the Thames and offer terrific views of the river. Our website also shows that we have 5 categories of rooms, which are clearly explained in detail.



In addition, we professionally manage 25 Luxury Apartments in the ‘Falcon Wharf’ building which are located from the 4th to the 15th floors and vary from 1 bedroom to 5 bedrooms. Most of them have panoramic views of the river and the city.



As a young hotel with a motivated and enthusiastic staff who loves doing that extra bit to help our guests we take pride in what we do. We have to ensure that the high quality and standards are maintained at reasonable rates to survive in a competitive environment.


We thank you for staying at our hotel and hope to see you at the ‘Rafayel’ again in the future.


Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rafayel on the Left Bank is a brilliant hotel.
The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
The rooms are decorated beautifully and they have all the mod cons you could want. I spent ages acting like a child playing with the speakers and air con as it can all be controlled via the TV.
The shower is wonderful - you can choose from power shower or rainfall.
It s slightly out the way but the hotel offer a free shuttle bus; if you need to be somewhere for a certain time make sure you give them at least an hours notice before you want to leave as it gets busy.
All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in London
#68 Best Value Hotel in London
#171 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Family Hotel in London
#247 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.