We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant 5 Stars All The Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brillant 5 Stars All The Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Rafayel many times over the last 2 years , just recently xmas eve & new year eve 2012 , I would strongly recommed this hotel to any one who is travelling to London in the near future (you will not be dissapointed) Ick the hotel owner & his friendly team are are always on hand to offer advise & help with any questions you have.... we love particulary the amazon rooms & thames view room which are very spacious , & comfortable.
The bar area , & restrauant which over looks the Thames are stunning , and if you ask (Medin) the barman he will make you spectacular cocktail.
The menus for the restrauant & room service caters for all manner of taste & the food is excellent.
We will be returning again very soon.
Thanks again Rafayel

Mr Mike Pearce
Kent

Room Tip: Amazon Room No 215 Thames View Room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    287
    135
    44
    21
See reviews for
103
664
74
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

i can not say enough thanks for an amzing night at the rafayel on new years eve i love the barman who so looked after us with amazing cocktails and food and seeing the firer works from the top floor over the thamas where can you see so much and have so much fun a big thank you i highly recomand this hotel 5 star plus

Room Tip: pick a river veiw room x
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my family (2 teenagers) includuing New Year's Eve in Room 224, an Amazon Room. I had read all the reviews prior to booking and read all the information regarding the hotel so was completely prepared for the location and travelling around.

The Room was fantastic, really large which was perfect as we had two extra beds put in there. The only negative would be that the extra beds were not the most comfortable by my daughters got round this my putting the mattresses directly onto the floor. Lovely large bathroom with the best shower I have had in a hotel.

Check-in was quick and efficient and everything about the hotel was explained to us. Car was parked by member of staff.

The shuttle service to Clapham Common was excellent and coming back to the hotel at night we used the 170 bus which stops directly outside the hotel, so much better than using the tube.

Our room rate included breakfast, this was full english, best poached eggs and help yourself to the continental buffet, it was lovely.

We had the New Year's Eve dinner in the restaurant which was a set meal for £50, it was fantastic and the atmosphere in the restaurant was really buzzing. There was one small issue when we checked our dinner reservation earlier in the day, there was no record of this even though we had booked directly with the restaurant at the time of booking the hotel. However, this was dealt with efficiently by the manageress and we had a good table in the restaurant at our requested time. After our meal we had free access to the the 17th floor roof terrace to watch the fireworks, this was the most amazing view and certainly so much better than standing for hours on one of the bridges to watch the display.

All in all, it was a fantastic trip, lovely hotel with great staff and we will definitely use this as our hotel of choice on future trips to London.

Helen Tompsett and Family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The stay over new year was not good. The Amazon room was spacious but no view and everything was stained, dirty or didn't work! Stained carpets, blinds, leaky shower, broken mirror. The room service was expensive & awful food. The spa was fully booked so no treatments available. This is far from a 5 star hotel and wouldn't recommend to stay again at such hefty prices for a non luxury & disappointing stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you for review on trip advisor. However there are few things that we would like to address through this forum.


We have tried to identify you in our system Opera 5, in order to find out the room you stayed so that we can make our investigations. Yet, despite of our best efforts we were unable, you have left no clues and we had no response from you on our request to find the room from you.


If your purpose was to help us to improve our quality and cleanliness we should know your room to take the necessary steps. We feel it’s unfair of you to post a negative review and remain anonymous even to extent of not identifying the room.


We are a small fledgling business; one of the female directors of the company takes care of the cleanliness; for the last three years she has shown utmost care on details. You have criticised our blinds that are quite good, if any was not working we cannot find out because of the hidden nature of your review and your refusal to guide us to the room number. You are the second reviewer in last three years that we could not trace to the origin of the room. Otherwise, we would check out, send you the pictures and tell you how we plan to improve on our failure to deliver. For us our admittance of mistakes makes us stronger and a better company.


Room-service is without the 50% discount, we cry hoarse and write everywhere, that you please come to the restaurant to avail yourself of the 50% discount. You still decided on room service because you didn't want to come down. Now to criticise our pricing for your own decision based on your own comfort is little harsh and a steep call, Sir. If you had made the effort to come down you would have paid 50% less and moreover we really cannot decide what you ate because yours is such an anonymous review. We could not find what food we delivered and how much was charged. Also within the 100 percent paid, there was a service charge for Room Service, like in any other hotel.


The reason you couldn’t get a booking at the spa speaks volumes of our quality of service. We are usually full in the SPA well in advance though we cater for our guests and find special slots; if you had talked to the operations we would have done something.


We decline to acknowledge anonymous hidden vicious broadsided reviews with the only purpose to demolish our efforts in what is a very difficult competitive environment to survive. We respond to all our customers who post negative reviews and say sorry and explain our position and our mistakes. We do make them and we admit them.

It’s so unwarranted for an established business like ours who have served over 70000 customers during the past three years to be dismissed so hastily. Over 1% of these customers have reviewed our hotel and over 97% of them have given 5 stars for cleanliness and food. We bend backwards to keep our ‘stained’ carpets clean by employing additional staff solely for this purpose. We do have a problem of stains due to the light colour of our carpets with spillages of wines and coffee at times which are cleaned repeatedly and the carpets perfumed. Just ironically a reviewer after you from France has explained how good our carpets are; she felt as she was walking on cloud 9.


We are the only company that answers the reviews with the preeminent approach of accepting our mistakes. However, we do not accept your charges of an unclean place. You are totally inequitable and we request through this reply every other guest to our effort of spotlessness. Please help us and let us know where we are wrong instead of such crippling reviews, we are fair at addressing our problems. Please help us in these difficult recessionary times.


Over half a dozen reviews straight away after yours luckily have praised our cleanliness and that says it all. Fairness has to be from both sides and we feel that this has not been in the case of this review. We are sorry, we have to reply in a very straight forward honest manner, this is our livelihood and we try t make it through thick and thin and make sure that any criticism should be responsible and our mistakes be ratified and helpful for you and our future guests.


We thank you once again for your kind coprehension to listen to our side.

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall, I had a good time on NYE at the Hotel Rafayel- the music was good and watching the fireworks from the roof of the hotel was amazing. Unfortunately, it did feel as though the whole thing was a little messily organized. The stairways were maybe the service stairs, and there was only one lift which was in high demand. (Not very wheelchair friendly though!)

The cloakroom was unmanned, so we felt a little nervous storing our belongings there, but since there was no seating or tables anywhere, we had no choice really! There was also only one ladies toilet available all night, which got a bit frustrating and more than one girl resorted to using the mens toilets.

The bar had a queuing system, which could have worked if the staff had been able to keep track of it. After being sent to the back of the queue I saw at least four people cut in without being sent away like I had. We had also been told that the party finished at 2.30am, but everyone was turfed out at 2am.

The event was sorely understaffed; there was only one or two guys serving at the bar at a time, and staff also struggled to keep on top of dropped glasses and spilled drinks. Totally understand that NYE can get a bit mental but in future more planning and preparation could go into putting on an event like this.

The venue itself was stunning, and the views over the Thames and the Fireworks were breathtaking. The hotel itself is amazing, and we did enjoy our night, but it was in spite of the facilities and service, rather than because of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A nice hotel, but not a luxury one. A good 4 star but not a 5 star. The staff were great, friendly, warm but formal. We stayed in the Yangtze room, nice, very clean and big but bare, nice partial view of the Thames but can also see an industrial storage/dump site. Beds were firm but very comfortable. It was like staying in a contemporary apartment. Room service was prompt, the food we thought was very good, great chunky chips.
The spa was very small, and the pool was cold. Although I would still recommend the spa. Good equipment. We would still recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

we arrived on christmas day the check in was very helpfull and quick.they parked our car for us the asked if we would like our bags taken up to the room ..... the room was very clean and spacious.. the staff were excellent especialy medin (the barman) who makes very nice cocktails...
the food was good the view was good everything was well above par

Room Tip: 216 is the room we stayed in it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in London
#71 Best Value Hotel in London
#132 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Family Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 65 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel & Spa London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.