We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not where we should have been” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Grand London Paddington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Park Grand London Paddington to your Saves list
Park Grand London Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Queens Gardens | Bayswater, London W2 3BA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #409 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not where we should have been”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were moved to this hotel after arriving at our original hotel only to be told that is was over booked. The staff did not seem to understand that being further from Paddington was not convenient for us as we had my 80 year old Father with us.
The check-in when we arrived was very slow, and the receptionist kept us waiting ages while she tried to upgrade us for our inconvenience.
We were then told they would add a complimentary breakfast which was a joke as we had already paid for breakfast with our original booking.
The rooms we were moved to were obviously larger and of a higher standard than we had originally booked, that being said out room was far from perfect. The décor is extremely dark and a bit gloomy. There is no plug in the room that is close to a mirror, unless you root around behind the fridge, and if you want to watch the TV don't put things on the dressing table as this will obscure your view.
The breakfast the next morning was good and the staff in the dining room very helpful and polite.
The reception did organise us a taxi for the Sunday morning to get us back to Paddington again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHotelManagement, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Paddington, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you very much for choosing Park Grand Paddington. Please accept my sincere apologies as we had to transfer you to one of our sister properties due to some unforeseen situation. I understand by your comments that you had a very bad experience and once again I apologize for the same. I would appreciate it if you could send me your contact details to nitish@shaftesburyhotels.com in order for me to contact you directly and discuss the same in depth.

Kind Regards,
Sofia Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    545
    245
    87
    108
See reviews for
195
584
129
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Room was available before check-in time. Very friendly staff. Great buffet breakfast, wait and cooking staff extremely efficient and friendly. Room was small (as expected) but was sufficient for two people. Bathroom and room were cleaned each day and beds were very comfortable. Nice, short walk to Paddington Tube and Rail station. Wonderful neighborhood with lots of ethnic places to eat at a good price. Will stay here again and will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Book rooms directly with the hotel. We got breakfast included for free and a great rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHotelManagement, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Paddington, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Park Grand Paddington.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the service provided.
I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sofia Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driffield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

On arrival most impressed however we were given a key card to a room that was already occupied !!!, not a good start , only one lift working and this was taken over by cleaning staff with trolly's in so always full . After a wait was sent to a new room that was nice , very clean nice bathroom and was ok very small but lovely powerful shower . during the night the noise from the roon above was dreadful children screaming jumping around , we call reception and they did knock on their door but it only made it worse so we made another call and this time it did so quiter but once your woken thats it so we all had a very resless night . My son had an appointment at the American Embassy at 10am the next morning so we were all shattered. Breakfast was lovely , we had ordered a taxi the night before it was 15 mins late , and charged ue £17 rip off as we had only paid £6 the day before to get there from the same spot .Would i stay again don't think so .Staff were very kind but no comunication we had a reduction because of the noise , but then another member tried to charge it !!!!!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Rooms were nice and spacious. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was perfect - close to 2 tube stations and walking distance to Hyde Park as well as other shops and restaurants. Breakfast was also fine. The only thing they need to brush up on is their housekeeping. Rooms were not cleaned properly. Dust all over the place and the carpet not vacuumed properly- which made my hay fever and allergies even worse.Apart from that,the service was very good and we enjoyed our stay.will definitely go back.we requested a late check out as our flight was late evening and they were very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location, close to paddington. Its quite and a bit walk from paddington station to the hotel. Rooms are very small and not much of choice for breakfast unless you pay extra. Its okay to stay here for a few days but not for long..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHotelManagement, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Paddington, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us. It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests. I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members. We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the chance once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sofia Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jar
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Small standard rooms if you stay more than one night. Upgraded rooms are OK. Very quiet location. Bathrooms are small, but good and functional. OK breakfast, but in the basement. Common rooms are modern, but not very exiting. Service level sufficient, but could not give any recommendations for restaurants. Door keys had to be updated several times during stay. Location is 10 minutes walk from Paddington station. All in all an international 3 star hotel, not 4 star which is first-class. Can't understand what criteria AA has been using.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHotelManagement, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Paddington, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us. It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests. I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members. We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the chance once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sofia Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

It was like sleeping in an elevator! We booked a Queen room to discover that the hotel only has double beds!!!! The room was renovated but extremely small, don't stay here is you are clostrophobic. The bathroom was only 3'x3' including the shower!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHotelManagement, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Paddington, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Park Grand Paddington.
We understand that you found the room small, however I would like to inform you that we have different categories of rooms which are bigger and I am sure you will be comfortable with that.
I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
Sofia Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Grand London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Paddington

Address: 1 Queens Gardens | Bayswater, London W2 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#253 Business Hotel in London
#265 Luxury Hotel in London
#349 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Grand London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grand London Paddington Hotel London
Park Grand London Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Grand London Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.