We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise in East London.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Town Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Town Hall Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Surprise in East London.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment with a living room, small full kitchen and inter leading door. Lot of space for a London Hotel. It is a mix of Hotel and apartment, you have a full service Hotel experience in a equiped apartment, with dish and cloth washer. Good Towels, robes L'occitane products, espresso and tea machimes, 3 TVs. It is a brand new hotel with two restaurants. The Corner and Viajante. Simple Nice food in the first and a fantastic Michellin Star called Viajante. Perfect for families even with small childrens.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operataions at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel an restaurants, left on TripAdvisor. It is very nice to read feedbacks from families who use our hotel and room facilities finding them just what you need. We are happy that our hotel was a “Great Surprise” as you said and that the Viajante and Corner Room fine dining menus fully satisfied you. We hope to welcome you again soon. Many thanks and kind Regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    162
    49
    18
    20
See reviews for
220
354
50
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! The hotel staff were so helpful, very polite and eager to problem solve. Nothing was too much trouble. Not only what you would expect from a top hotel, but so much more.
Apartment was great. Modern and comfortable. Washing machine/dryer a godsend. Good shower. The amenities were excellent. Great gym and pool. We arrived late at night and were able to get a drink and light meal from their bar and casual dining restaurant. And we finished off our trip with a beautiful dinner at their restaurant Viajante. This hotel made a good holiday great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that our hotel was a “wonderful surprise” and that everything made it memorable. Rest assured that we will pass on all your kind words to all the departments involved. We are happy to read that our idea of comfort and our amenities added to your stay and made it a “great holiday”. We hope to see you back soon! Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My little apartment was excellent ,really,really nice. Lovely bath,great shower,nice soaps and stuff.Plenty of space and all the things you expect from an expensive room.Went for a swim in the pool which was lovely ....the staff were very welcoming and I would go back and yet I was disappointed ..Why? Well I paid circa £250.00 for a Tuesday night which is quite a lot of money and yet they didn't have a bar where we could get a drink..we were told we could have one in the lobby...not really very good and left me disappointed.We walked to Shoreditch and had a bottle of Champagne and three pints,probably worth opening the bar for!

Maybe I am just grumpy after drinking too much fizz!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review left on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent stay and the room did not fall short your expectations. I am happy to hear that despite the bar not being opened during your night stay, you still have decided to visit us again in the future. I do take this as a positive comment but I wish to apologise for any inconvenience caused in this occasion and should you decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will honoured to offer you a complimentary drink from our Viajante bar. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipari, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Town Hall Hotel is a great place you need to experience. Very close to the coolest area of London in the east side, the Thh is unique. Once you arrive there is a welcoming reception ready for you, guys are very helpful, smiling, I remember Timea, Victoria, Cavin Laszlo,but also the night team with Rachid & company, all wonderful! Concierge is the key to experience London in a very exceptional way, he will be your best friend there, Andra what a concierge :-)!
Everything is very very clean, girls are very nice and I would say 10 for the cleaning!
Reservation department was very kind and helped me to find the best solution for my needs, a big thanks for you !
Viajante and the Corner room, the 2 restaurants of the hotel, are very amazing, you have to different level in terms of price but the same quality, it is just a different experience and i suggest both.
I would like to mention also the security guys, alway ready and very careful!
So, at the end, to the General manager and the operation manager a huge than you.
Thanks to you and your beautiful team I felt at home!
Giuliana abate

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for you complete and thorough feedback about our property. It is nice to read that our long term guests feel at home here and that all the “faces” of the hotel are well remembered because gave the best of themselves to make your stay even more enjoyable. We are glad to hear that our standards as well added to it. We cannot wait to have you back for another “amazing” stay! Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassi Messaoud, Algeria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm travelling alot, in fact no fixed address for the last 4 years, but when I arrive at TownHall from the moment I walk into the foyer I relax and feel I've come home (well to a dream home!). The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at the front, the size and comfort of the rooms, and the highest level gourmet room service and breakfast, that would be enough....but throw in a very relaxing swimming pool and well....the oasis is complete. There is without doubt no better value for money hotel in London offering this quality.

The only downside is the location which is slightly out but the Tube central line brings you so quickly into the centre (Oxford/Bond) that it really doesn't matter....maybe adds to that oasis feel!

Room Tip: If you're staying a little longer, say 3+ days, upgrading to a one bedroom is usually only a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Let me thank you for your very kind words left on Tripadvisor. We are really glad that you feel at home with us and that we are able to provide the relaxing atmosphere you need travelling so much and being so busy. We are happy to read that our staff once again is able to provide the high standards they are well known for. And it is nice to read that our swimming pool completes the nice picture. We cannot wait to welcome you on your next visit. Many thanks and kind regards Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Everything about this hotel points to the extraordinary level of detail that was put into its design. The suites are spacious, with an enormous bathroom and full kitchen. The 24/7 room service menu is definitely "fine dining"—the cod is to die for.
There are all the modern comforts for the modern traveler: BOSE iPod dock, American and European wall plugs at the desk, L'Occitane products etc...
The only thing I did not like was the carpeting in the hallways, which made it difficult to pull my wheeled luggage.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the ground floor "G" suites. The layout is much more cramped than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice feedback on out TripAdvisor page. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our style, all what we put in our rooms and the “fine dining” room service menu. We are glad that our design once again meets the high expectations of our clientele and makes your stay enjoyable. As per the carpet, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused in this occasion and I hope you will not be detered from visiting us again in the future. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Many thanks and kind regards Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Awesome hotel, amazing sized 2 bedroomed apartment with inter leading door. So much space. Clean crisp white towels. Gorgeous bath robes..the service was fantastic. Nothing was ever too much effort. The concierge Andrea, exceeds himself. Make sure you go eat at the Corner Room. The food is delicious and cooked with finesse. I will definitely be back. The only draw back is last night there was a party and we could hear them cleaning up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words left on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to read about a nice experience had by one of our guests. When your stay is made very enjoyable by means of our professionalism, our smiles or our willingness to help, this is a confirmation that our hospitality philosophy is meets the guest expectations. We are glad to hear that our choice in matter of linens, robes fabrics and towel is a treat and that our staff once again is an asset to the hotel operation. Rest assured we will pass on to all the departments heads involved. We are sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by the cleaning crew, please accept my apologies, rest assure the information will be shared with all the relevant manager. We take you on your words and wait for you to “definitely come back”. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in London
#57 Business Hotel in London
#81 Family Hotel in London
#81 Luxury Hotel in London
#103 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.