We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay #2” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Town Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Town Hall Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #54 of 1,062 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay #2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Another great stay at a great hotel. The 2 bed apartment we had was amazing - so much space. Such a smart and stylish hotel but still welcoming to families. Food offered is more for grown ups (we had a lovely room service dinner) but staff were great with recommendations for places to eat with the kids. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It is nice to read that our idea of hotel “welcoming to families” is appreciated by our guest time and again. It is also nice to see that despite the inconvenience of not having specific food for our little friends visiting the hotel, the front desk was able to transform this inconvenience in a wonderful occasion to discover and enjoy the neighbourhood. Rest assured that we are working on this anyway so that your stay will always have this little something added to make it special! Kind Regards Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    143
    40
    16
    14
See reviews for
200
306
46
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I normally stay in Central London when on business in town but for the week in question, pretty much everywhere was full or stupidly expensive. Almost in desparation, I took the recommendation of Expedia and I am so glad I did. The staff are unbelievably helpful and courteous and as for the building itself, wow!! If you are into art deco you really cant stay anywhere else. My only criticism is that in order to get into the City, there's no choice but to take the overcrowded Central Line. If you have any luggage, don't even try - take a cab.
But do stay at this hotel. I can't fault it in any way.

Room Tip: Upgrade - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Let me first of all thank you for the feedback you wrote on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that despite the difficulties encountered you finally found what you were looking for, and that everything here at the Town Hall Hotel from the ‘unbelievably helpful staff’ to the’ building itself’ contributed to it. As per your ‘criticism’ rest assured that we are working on that, we have a shuttle who lives at two different hours from the hotel to the city on working days. We looking forward your next visit!
Many thanks and kind Regards
Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night, couldn't fault anything. Staff very attentive and hotel has the WOW factor! We had an evening meal in the Corner Room which was superb , I have a glutton free intolerance & the restaurant staff went out of the way to accommodate this. We then had cocktails in bar which had a brilliant atmosphere! Breakfast was cooked to order not like most hotels in London where it is pre cooked buffet style. On Sunday we walked to Brick lane & Spitelfields market well worth a visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment Brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Let me take this occasion to thank you for your nice feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that our staff time and again is going the extra mile in order to accommodate the different needs every guest has whether is a member of the front desk, of the Corner room or the Viajante bar. We cannot wait to have you back to help you to discover even more about the area we are in and enjoy all the peculiarities that make this part of London so special.
Many thanks and kind regards
Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff
Excellent rooms
Great nights sleep
What more could you want!
This hotel also retains its original building (local town hall) features fantastically. Has to be seen to be believed
Breakfast is nice and the facilities are great too. Highly recommeded

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Let me take this occasion to thank you for this very nice feedback left on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that our hard work is going to the designated direction, “the Excellence” and that you found our hotel “one of the best you ever stayed in”. Rest assure that this will be always our goal and you will find the same high standards every time you will be back.
Many thanks and Kind Regards
Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have the privilege to visit London quite frequently. A good Canadian friend suggested we give a try to the Town Hall Hotel as my wife and I were traveling this time with the whole family on vacations. I must say, I never stayed or even visited London's East End. The building is simply gorgeous. My wife, our daughter (20); and our sons (22); (18) and (10) stayed at the Town Hall Hotel for five nights in January 2013. We booked an apartment with two rooms and adding two beds; but very wisely, at our arrival to the hotel, the receptionist suggested us to take an apartment with two bed rooms for our kids and an additional room for my wife and I. The rooms are very well decorated and with elegant details. Breakfast was fabulous, not just the food but the buffet area really splendid. Great staff, always ready to serve well; special remark for Victor and Andrea. Finally, my wife and I were speechless after dining at Vijante: simply fabulous. Our 6 course meal was incredible. We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, the Lower Ground apartments are quiet and located close to the beautiful sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director or operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. It is always nice to read that our guests are our best advertisement and that whenever we are "suggested" by someone we do not fall short of their expectations. We are glad to hear that our double bedroom apartments are still the most popular among our units therefore many families come to spend their holidays break with us. It is good to hear that our staff at the Front Desk, the breakfast at the Corner Room and the fine dining at the Viajante made your experience memorable, rest assured that your comments will be shared with all the relevant departments. we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Town Hall. Many thanks and Kind Regards Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmjingham UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a lovely hotel just 5 mins walk from Bethnal Green tube. It is an up and coming area although there is still plenty of work to be done. The Hotel itself is lovely and staff are exceptionally helpful. Rooms (even the smallest one) are large and airy. Decor is comfortably modern with fridge facilities in the rooms. There is a nice small pool and gym too. I got a reasonable deal via Secret Escapes.

There are two restaurants inside the hotel. One pricey but busy and the other (The Corner Shop) more casual but really nice.

Room Tip: Go for a room above ground level (although note the views outside aren't great. It is all about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel Apartments. I am plaesed to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the THH and that you thought apartments are airy and well designed. Thank you for mentioning how easy it is to travel to the hotel to other parts of London and for mentioning of the upcoming area of Bethnal Green.
Thank you for you kind feedback and for choosing the THH for your stay in London. Should you require my further assistance from us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinfelden-Echterdingen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we had a very nice stay at this hotel. We have been in a lot of 5* hotels all around the world and this one was a very good value.
This hotel combined with the star-rated restaurant Viajante in the ground floor will make you very happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel Apartments. I am delighted to see your comment title "perfect" and pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Needless to say your comment from an experienced traveller as yourself is very much welcomed and indeed encouraging. It has been totally our honour to have had you here with us and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Should you require my assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
#65 Family Hotel in London
#73 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.