We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Town Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Town Hall Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #54 of 1,062 Hotels in London
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and i visited my son who lives in East London.We stayed at this fantastic hotel that is in the heart of the East End.A magnificent conversion of Bethnal Green Town Hall.Great staff and beautifully appointed rooms.The swimming pool is amazing.And we were wowed by an upgrade to a junior suite.Its excellent value given the quality.So much better than staying in the usual boring 4 star hotels that are all over central London and that offer dubious value for money.
The best hotel we have stayed at in London.Ever !
Clive and Margaret Turner

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Mr and Mrs Turner
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. How delightful to received your generous feedback and needless to say that we are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the THH. It always great to know that my colleagues were at their best, providing you with what they know better and great to know that you loved the hotel so much that we became your favoured in London. It is nice to know that you were offered an upgrade to our suites and that this occasion was the best stay you had in any other London hotel. Thank you for choosing the THH and for highly recommend us. I have shared your comment with all the teams here and should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    143
    40
    16
    14
See reviews for
200
306
46
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As I stayed at the Town Hall for 8 months (worked paying of course) I felt that I must review the wonderful place I called home once!

Town Hall is about 5 minutes walk from Bethnal Green tube and just a 15 minute walk from Shoreditch. One thing that surprised me was how many Black cab drivers hadnt heard of the Town Hall but this also adds a little secret gem element to this place.

As the name suggests, it was once the Town Hall and all rooms have wonderful high rise ceilings and thick walls for added quietness. Loved the decor which is quirky but very much in tune with the quality of the furniture and just feels so classy!

The Town Hall hotel prides itself that every room is different. I stayed in 6 different rooms and whilst they vary in size and layout they were all amazing a different way. Each day you are left amazing truffles and you wont walk in any room without seeing a yellow rub which is very much the signature of the hotel.

The pool is amazing and rarely used. Likewise the gym which is well managed and always in use. The food is superb but you pay for it and plenty of other places elsewhere in the local area.

Finally the staff! All very well mannered and happy to help.

This place is world class and a massive thanks for everyone who assisted me during my stay. I apologise for those couple of nights when I had a few in the city and lost my key card, you know who I am!

Come see the Town Hall, you will not be disappointed!

Regards

Edd

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is a pleasure to know that you loved staying with us and a great honour to know that you considered the THH as your home away from home. It is indeed how we wish to be remembered by our guests and it is not the length of time alone that gives you that feeling of belonging but as you mentioned the keenness of the staff to be there every time with caring and warm approach to service. I guess after your title "British World Class” there is no much I can add, suggest other than being thankful for this fantastic review and for giving us the chance to be your host. I hope we will be able to welcome you back at the THH in near future and should you require any assistance from the THH, please do not hesitate to contact me direclty. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For our son’s wedding in October 2012 the Town Hall Hotel in Bethnal Green was the choice for the reception, they couldn't have chosen better!

Immediately we stepped into the reception area we were impressed with the welcome and the stunning decor.

We were staying over a couple of nights and our comfortable en suite room, complete with full kitchen, was available to us on the ground floor.

We had taken swimwear so could make use of the pool (next door to the gym) which we did on the first evening before venturing to the cocktail bar.

Wow! We were given a cocktail menu and took a while deciding, I chose a Ron Burgundy as I had never heard of it. What a theatrical but exciting drink, try!

Now to the wedding reception and the extremely efficient manager, Christine.

Every single thing was organised, from drinks on arrival to the choice of dining area. The meal and service was excellent, and as the wedding was for two nationalities the hotel provided large screens to show translations.

After the meal things were quickly cleared away and the celebrations progressed smoothly to the disco.

The whole of the hotel team get a five star rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the THH and it is great to know that you thought it was the perfect venue for your son's wedding reception. It is a great to know that from the very first moment you enter the hotel, you were received with a warm welcome from my colleagues and from that moment onwards, your experience enfolded with a pleasant moment to another. I am glad to hear that the suite, swimming pool, Viajante bar and all other facilities and services met you expectations so highly and with Christine looking after the reception later with great success. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a note of your experience and for choosing the THH. I can assure you that all your comments have been shared with all the teams here and should you decided to return to the THH in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful property, well appointed suites, a very attentive staff, and proximity to public transit all contribute to a great stay! This was my first time in London and the staff was very helpful in making me feel at home. The restaurants on site were also very good. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an apartment for an extended stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am delighted to receive your generous feedback and great to know that all our efforts contributed to fulfil all your needs and expectation during your stay. I it is a great honour for us to know that the care we offer to our guests, as made you feel like being at home. It is exactly this want we wish to achieve with each and every guest visiting the THH. Thank you for choosing the THH and for highly recommend us. I have shared your comment with all the teams here and should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent in every way.
Great staff.
Very clean. Very.
Great work out area.
Restaurants on site that are very good.
Rooms that are reasonable and well designed. Washers, full kitchens, open new bathrooms.

Thank you for the great refuge from the city!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel Apartments. I am not sure what else I can say or add to your generous AAA score and description of our product and service. I will, therefore only limit myself by offering you the greatest thank you ever from all the teams here at the THH. I really hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future and should you require my assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having travelled to London more times than we can count, and having stayed in a variety of places from private homes and aparments to five star hotels, we can honestly say that the Town Hall exceeded all of our expectations. We wanted to explore the east end of London more on this stay with our three young kids (age 5, 7 and 9). From the moment we arrived and were met by whom our kids call the nicest man in the world, head concierge Andrea set the standard for this stay. He more than aniticpated anything we may need, especially travelling with kids. Nothing was too small, or big, for him to tackle and this warmed us to the hotel even more than the stunning architecture, the history, fantastic restaurants, gym and pool (which the kids loved with rubber duckies in place!). We recommend this hotel highly, especially the two bedroom suites for families. And make sure you get the full tour - it's such an interesting hotel, in an interesting location. We walked from the hotel, down Bethnal Green, Shoreditch, Brick Lane, Spittafilelds market, Petticoat Lane and then on over Tower Bridge to the Burough market in one of our most enjoyable walks in London ever. Not to mention the museum of Childhood next door!

Room Tip: Families Choose a two bedroom apartment - G26 was unbelievable! No one above or below and can be tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am delighted to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our warm welcome by Andrea, for which he is famous for. It is always nice to know especially from an experience traveller as yourself that we were able to satisfy all your expectations and that you feel we are setting new standards in the industry. I am glad to hear that Andrea was always there ready to offer his assistance by sharing is great knowledge to entertain your children. I am also pleased to know that you found the building, the art deco of our public areas and the facilities the hotel has to offer to your like. Thank you also for mentioning all those areas nearby the hotel and for choosing the THH for your stay in London. I can confirm that I have already shared your comment with all the teams here and should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Be it for a business trip or with the family, staying at the Town Hall Hotel is always a good choice! Amazingly big rooms (with wooden floors - excellent for allergic people) and stylish furniture, with everything you need in it! Besides, the indoor swimming pool is simply incredible. The tube is also very nearby which offer a direct connection to London City centre. On the less positive side: the neighborhood is not too great and we would appreciate a bigger restaurant with a better choice of food for the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is great to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the versatility of the THH for both markets segments. It is also nice to know that you appreciated the style of our interiors and the facilities the hotel has to offer. Regarding to your comment on the nearby area, although not entirely developed, it still has many interesting things to be see and many places to eat out in great variety. Please do feel free to contact our concierge desk for more information on the area. Thank you for choosing the THH for your stay in London and I will share your comment with all the teams here. Should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
#48 Luxury Hotel in London
#64 Family Hotel in London
#73 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotel.de, MrandMrsSmith, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.