We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting a new standard in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Town Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 1,075 hotels in London
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Setting a new standard in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having travelled to London more times than we can count, and having stayed in a variety of places from private homes and aparments to five star hotels, we can honestly say that the Town Hall exceeded all of our expectations. We wanted to explore the east end of London more on this stay with our three young kids (age 5, 7 and 9). From the moment we arrived and were met by whom our kids call the nicest man in the world, head concierge Andrea set the standard for this stay. He more than aniticpated anything we may need, especially travelling with kids. Nothing was too small, or big, for him to tackle and this warmed us to the hotel even more than the stunning architecture, the history, fantastic restaurants, gym and pool (which the kids loved with rubber duckies in place!). We recommend this hotel highly, especially the two bedroom suites for families. And make sure you get the full tour - it's such an interesting hotel, in an interesting location. We walked from the hotel, down Bethnal Green, Shoreditch, Brick Lane, Spittafilelds market, Petticoat Lane and then on over Tower Bridge to the Burough market in one of our most enjoyable walks in London ever. Not to mention the museum of Childhood next door!

Room Tip: Families Choose a two bedroom apartment - G26 was unbelievable! No one above or below and can be tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am delighted to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our warm welcome by Andrea, for which he is famous for. It is always nice to know especially from an experience traveller as yourself that we were able to satisfy all your expectations and that you feel we are setting new standards in the industry. I am glad to hear that Andrea was always there ready to offer his assistance by sharing is great knowledge to entertain your children. I am also pleased to know that you found the building, the art deco of our public areas and the facilities the hotel has to offer to your like. Thank you also for mentioning all those areas nearby the hotel and for choosing the THH for your stay in London. I can confirm that I have already shared your comment with all the teams here and should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    592
    132
    39
    15
    12
See reviews for
185
287
43
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Be it for a business trip or with the family, staying at the Town Hall Hotel is always a good choice! Amazingly big rooms (with wooden floors - excellent for allergic people) and stylish furniture, with everything you need in it! Besides, the indoor swimming pool is simply incredible. The tube is also very nearby which offer a direct connection to London City centre. On the less positive side: the neighborhood is not too great and we would appreciate a bigger restaurant with a better choice of food for the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is great to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the versatility of the THH for both markets segments. It is also nice to know that you appreciated the style of our interiors and the facilities the hotel has to offer. Regarding to your comment on the nearby area, although not entirely developed, it still has many interesting things to be see and many places to eat out in great variety. Please do feel free to contact our concierge desk for more information on the area. Thank you for choosing the THH for your stay in London and I will share your comment with all the teams here. Should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Town Hall Hotel - during the Paralympic Games and were most impressed with all aspects of our stay. We'd heard that it was an amazing place - our son had previously stayed. Comfort, cleanliness and space were all excellent and of course, the decor and surroundings are certainly worth vewing. Our upgrade was also appreciated. We'd booked a table at Viajante for the tasting experience - WOW!!! If you have a special occasion to celebrate - DO GO!!! If not... go anyway. It was memorable. The cocktails and bar service were also wonderful.
Staff courtesy and friendliness was constant throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble - thank you Sandro!
The Corner Room's menu was delightful; even though the hotel is a little way out of central London, the tube and bus services are close by. Do visit - it's something different to enjoy and do tell others about this beautiful hotel! I can imagine our friends from the U.S. raving about the experience!
We'll certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is great to know that your experience here was an impressive one and I am delighted to hear that we managed to leave up to the recommendation of your son. It give us great honour to know tha the services, cleanness and comfort of the hotel, as well as the decor and spacious apartment, were all to your likes. I am also glad to hear that the you had a great experience at our Viajante restaurant and Bar, with it fantastic food and cocktails served by our friendly staff. It is great to know that every effort made during your stay has paid off with your generous score and feedback. Thank you for choosing the THH for your stay in London and I will share your comment with all the teams here. Should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel - the staff were warm and friendly without being imposing and the hotel is an architectural feast for the eyes. We were upgraded to a studio from a basic room and made full use of the facilities, eating at The Corner Room upstairs on our first night (lovely food and atmosphere) and taking a dip in the gorgeous pool (which we had to ourselves) the next morning. We often come to London for a weekend of galleries, theatre, museums and good food and use the hotel as a place to lay our heads (the tube is only a few minutes walk away from the Town Hall for exploring the rest of London), but this time we found that the hotel equally vied for our attentions and we enjoyed relaxing and exploring on the doorstep and indeed inside the building.
We would highly recommend this place to anyone who likes to stay in a place with personality and charm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our staff warm welcome and service. It is always a pleasure to know that you like the restoration and art decoration of the hotel. I am pleased to hear that your visit to our corner room restaurant was to your likes and that you made use of all the other facilities the hotel has to offer. Thank you for mentioning the upgrade of your room and for confirming how close and easy it is to travel from the hotel to most central parts of the capital. Thank you for choosing the THH for your stay in London and I can confirm that I have already shared your comment with all the teams here. Should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards. Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

had an excellent stay in this hotel in the first week of january. Im a frequent london visitor. this time for fun and to explore shoreditch/hackney districts that are just around the corner. for that it couldnt be better situated, but also the center is very easy reachable with the close bethnal green underground station. theres nothing to bad to say about the hotel really. rooms were spacious and clean. people were very friendly and helpful but as well and how I like it very discrete but if you needed their help they were there. the restaurants are absolutely fabolous, we had lunch in the corner room restaurant, the bit more casual one of the two. food was amazing. can only recommend that hotel. and yea, the building and style of interiors is absolutely fab.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. It is nice to hear that more and more this area of London is capturing the attention of visiting tourists and locals and yes the area is a vibrant place to be with many upcoming attractions but yet just a ride away with the tube or bus to the West End. The rooms are all different and unique in style, embracing the old architectural of this incredible building. We are always striving to deliver the best quality service to our guest with a personal touch to ensure our guests remains satisfied with their choices as well as to create a memorable experience for years to come. The Corner Room and Viajante are our in-house restaurants with our master chef Nuno Mendes creations, which yet again brings uniqueness to this fantastic establishment. Thank you so much for choosing the THH for you stay in London and should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I didn't review my first visit a year ago - it was fabulous. Went back on Friday night for a drink in the bar and ended up staying again! The barman was incredible and was happy to make cocktails off the menu. The concierge was lovely - offering toothbrushes for our impromptu stay and the receptionist was great at booking us in. Made use of Room Service after all the delicious cocktails, which was really good and then breakfast the following morning was delicious too. Shame the waitress couldn't work out how to bill us and I was overcharged! Never mind, it all made for a great weekend, thanks Town Hall Hotel.

Forgot to mention - the hotel is beautiful, original architecture and interesting decorative pieces throughout - a must stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a Signature Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments. I am glad to know that our service and vibe at the Viajante bar made you feel that it would be nice to stay with us again. I also pleased to communicate you that we have now created a profile in our hotel system for your future visit to the Town Hall Hotel. I pleased to hear that you appreciated our staff approach to service and mostly, thank you for brining the bill incident at the breakfast room to my attention, which I will share with our F&B manager and ask for further training to be provided immediately. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused in this occasion and I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future. Please should you require any further assistance from us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

stayed 3 nights during NY; after a tip from a colleague.
the building is very impressive indeed, and although not in the centre of it all, the underground is only a 5 minute walk
as we are a family with 2 kids, I booked the 2 bedroom appartment (G 4)
it's a very spacious suite, with next to 2 bedrooms a seperate bathroom, a kitchenette and a lounge; well appointed and with enough amenities.
the break-fast in the corner room is excellent, and you should check out Viajante (book ahead).
there is also a nice swimming pool in the basement, and a small gym.
the staff is very friendly and helpfull.
The only negative remark is that we "enjoyed" during nighttime the noise (from outside) and lots of light (from outside and inside) affecting our sleep (and especially that of our kids). this has to do with the glass in the windows and with curtains not fit for the room. I can imagine this is not the case for rooms on higher floors or further away from the street. If they can solve that issue, than both the hotel as this appartment are amongst the best you can get in London. we will definitely return, and bring earplugs and eye masks ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor on your recent stay at Town Hall Hotel & Apartments, it is great to know that the room met your requirements and all that you needed was supplied same as the Restaurant the Corner Room – a varied selection of food they have at breakfast to cater for all dietary requirements. The facilities do come with a well equipped Gym and swimming pool and is becoming famous. We do take all guest feedback very serious as we constantly want to ensure we strive to deliver quality service so all the noted areas have now been shared with the relevant Head of Departments. Thank you for choosing the THH for you stay in London and should you require any further assistance from the THH please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#27 Business Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
#46 Family Hotel in London
#69 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, LondonMarketing.com, Jetsetter, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments
Town Hall Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.