We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steer well clear of this ripoff tour!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Ghost Bus Tours

The Ghost Bus Tours
Northumberland Avenue, London WC2 N5BY, England (Westminster / Belgravia)
0844 567 8666
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #186 of 612 activities in London
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: All aboard the ‘orrible omnibus for a ride around the dark side of London. The Ghost Bus Tours’ classic Routemaster has been redesigned to give passengers London’s first ‘Fright Bus’ service. On-board actors and technical trickery combine to create the scariest tour in town. A creepy conductor provides the commentary for this sinister sightseeing show, revealing haunted places, unmarked burial grounds and the skeletons in the capital’s cupboard.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Steer well clear of this ripoff tour!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Please save your money & time for something else, like a Thames full day hop on hop off ticket for less than this hour long ripoff tour. It was neither scary or funny, more cringe-worthy embarrassing. The two actors tried hard, but the content & script is pathetic. The innuendo makes it totally unsuitable for young kids unless you want questions from them about prostitutes, a red hot poker up the anus & "scratching fanny on cock road". Sorry but we could not wait to get off at the end, we even considered getting off half way through. Judging by the long faces & lack of tips in the conductors cap at the end, the other poor sods on our tour agreed! Be warned, stay well clear!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    100
    22
    23
    46
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Thought we would do this tour as it's a little different and would break up the evening. The tour takes a more comedic look at the ghosts of London. There are some very interesting stories but your not really taking them in with the theatrics of the conductor and the tour guide going on around you. I felt it was overpriced for what you get at £20pp.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went on the Ghost Bus last weekend and had a great time, highly recommended if you are up in town on a night out - be prepared to have a laugh though as the guys on board move around the bus alot and scare the bejesus out of you! Quality!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was really looking forward to this ghost bus tour and expected some great ghostly stories. IT started off fairly well with a few sights but then rapidly went downhill. The instructor on the too-loud microphone went over the top with corny jokes and the guy playing the inspector tried to be some kind of scary mysterious figure but instead, just distracted me from seeing the sights and hearing about be ghost stories of London. the whole thing became a farcical and there were several weak attempts to scare us/make us jump, none of which succeeded. I just wanted to get off after 5 minutes. Don't waste your money!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trying hard, but not that ghostly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The positives first; the two guides on the bus totally make this attraction worthwhile as they are quite amusing and informative. The length of ride is about right at 1hour 15mins, any longer and they would have been struggling to keep us all entertained.Is it fascinating ? hmm not so sure and I love historical London facts..is it ghostly? well.. they tried ..Best suited for tourists who have children in their early teens I think. Top tip, sit at the top of the bus as the views are very good out of the Routemaster..oh and don't go on a hot night, it can get pretty hot on these old buses.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ghost Bus Tours also viewed

 

Been to The Ghost Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ghost Bus Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ghost Bus Tours to your Saves list