We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heap's Sausages - well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nevada Street Deli

Nevada Street Deli
8 Nevada Street | Greenwich, London SE10 9JL, England
020 8293 9199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,404 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British, Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Heap's Sausages - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Having recently had a couple of nights in Greenwich, we came across Heap's Sausages after looking for places to eat nearby.

Heap's Sausages is located on Nevada Street which was a short walk from our hotel - the Ibis. When we arrived we couldn't see any seats available as it quite a small shop but the helpful gentleman behind the counter showed us to a table at the back of the shop. This meant I had a prime location for watching the sausages being made, which I found fascinating to watch.

Arriving for breakfast it seemed only right to choose the sausage buns, when they arrived it was clear these were special. Full of flavour and no horrible fatty bits of gristle. I was getting quite full so just ate the sausage and left the bun rather than waste anything!

For 2 sausage buns, a flat white and pot of tea the total was about £12 which might seem expensive but for the quality of sausage on offer it was very reasonable.

We left with some pork, apple & wildflower honey sausages to bring home with us.

Recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful sausages, great coffee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

So many places in Greenwich are now chains, so we were delighted to find an individual business doing it's own thing. The sausages really are quality, and the staff here are very welcoming & efficient. Their 'Flat White' coffee is one of the best I've had. This cafe is very small, so it may not always be possible to get a seat, but it is worth waiting for. We took some sausages home as well, and they were superb.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Sausages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We visited Greenwich for a 4day birthday break and prior to arriving we googled places to eat. Found good reviews for a small cafe/deli place that made their own sausages...Heaps. On day 3 we got round to visiting Heaps, had their sausage bap for breakfast and it was absolutely the best! We went back on our last day for another and were so impressed with the quality of their sausages, we bought 4 varieties to take home to Cornwall! The guy serving was really friendly and we wished we had gone their sooner. Really lovely little place and well worth searching out if you are in Greenwich.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sausages is the boys?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Every visit to Greenwich always has a visit to "The Sausage Shop" as my grandsons call it. It is one of their favourite spots and one of mine.The sausages are fantastic and the full Breakfast is to die for.The variety of sausages is terrific and if you cant find one to suite your taste,well?.If you visit Greenwich then this shop should definately be on your visit list.Small,not cheap but worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best sausage stop in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Heap's Sausages is a sausage cafe and small specialist butchery. Artisan sausage production takes place literally in front of your eyes, behind floor to ceiling glass screens just feet away from the handful of tables. The place is the brainchild of chef and sausage impresario Martin Heap, who founded his Simply Sausages business back in the 1990s, and who created the varied recipes (anyone for Recipe 666, Lethal Lucifer?). The pork and leek was excellent, as was a sausage whose ingerdients we couldn't quite guess but which seemed to contain spinach.

The menu is short - breakfast, baps, a few burgers; and the combinations are fairly limited - those amazing sausages, excellent dry-cured bacon, and eggs. What makes it memorable are the rich flavours and sheer meatiness of what's on offer, plus the fact it's all cooked to order on a griddle at the front of the shop. You'll never settle for another anaemic fat- and rusk-packed factory sausage again!

Service is swift and friendly, decor is simple but stylish, and prices are reasonable. It's licensed, too, if you fancy washing your sarnie down with a half of porter. And you can buy a few links to take away and cook later.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nevada Street Deli also viewed

 

Been to Nevada Street Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevada Street Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.