We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamiltons Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hamiltons Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamiltons Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   32 Sussex Gardens, London W21UL, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #411 of 517 London B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We (me and my two teenage daughters) were in London for some vacation. The room is very small and the bathroom too. But for the price it was ok. We didn´t stay in the room for more then sleeping. 10 minutes walk from Oxford street and 5 minutes from the subway. Great breakfast you order your eggs and they cooked them. The man in the receotion was very helpful! The hotel is over all a place I would came back to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    8
    10
    17
See reviews for
8
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

At £120 per night, I wasn't expecting miracles in London (especially not during the Wimbledon tennis open) but I most certainly did not expect what I got at the Hamiltons. My room was on the landing, at the top of the first flight of stairs and did not have a number (it was in fact marked private). The decor was tired and uninspiring and the whole room smelled of mould, of which ample traces were soon found in the shower room. I was woken up the first night by a strong smell of smoke which turned out to have originated from the night receptionist who chain-smoked at the main door. Breakfast was ok but don't expect to be offered an egg every morning as the kitchen staff can be too busy arguing to look after the punters.

The only redeeming aspect was that the reception staff were friendly which was on the whole a small consolation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Perfect for our purposes--close to Paddington rail station and tube stops; friendly, accommodating staff; nice room with refrigerator, clean bathroom, good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz,CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We chose the Hamilton House on a busy weekend because it was one of very few hotels that had an available double room. We were warned that it was a small room and it was. We asked if we could get a larger room when one came available and the next day we scored a very large room for only 10 pounds more. They took care of moving our suitcases when it was ready so we could continue our sightseeing. The owner and his son were very friendly and helpful with recommendations of where to eat and directions to the Underground. The location, near Paddington Station is ideal for taking the Express train from and to Heathrow..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

the hotel is not new but it is OK not bad and the staff was very friendly
breakfast it was OK reception he is nice friendly person he always try to help any guest
i enjoyed with hamilton's hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamiltons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Hotel

Address: 32 Sussex Gardens, London W21UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hamiltons Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hamiltons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamiltons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.