We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian food (at Italian food prices)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spaghetti House - Woodstock Street

Spaghetti House - Woodstock Street
12 Woodstock Street, London W1C 2AF, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
+44 2074080648
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spaghetti House - Woodstock Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,768 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Description: Opening times: Mon to Sat, 12.00noon - 11.00pm Sunday, 12.00noon - 10.30pm
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Italian food (at Italian food prices)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Italian food is expensive (see other reviews of mine). I do think that The Spaghetti House just off Oxford Street in London is slightly better value as often, you are paying for location in London.

The food was of a good standard, nothing truly special and the pizza did not blow me away. I just think £10.50 for a Carbonara is too expensive. There are no expensive ingredients in Carbonara, just the sauce, spaghetti and bacon. So why do people keep paying this much for food that just is not worth it. After visiting many Italian establishments, I do concur that pasta dishes are the most overpriced in the UK. The waitresses were a little rude also when I gave them a code from Vouchercloud.

I will not be returning to one of these establishments because it is average at best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forde, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had lunch at this restaurant and it was a very happy choice! The restaurant had a nice atmosphere, and the waitress were actually Italian. I chose a pasta dish and a mixed salad, and both dishes were very tasty, fresh and as the menu said, made with amour. The menu had a great selection, both pasta and pizza as well as antipasti and ragouts and such. Even though I have never been to Italy, I felt the food was genuinely what you could expect to be served in Italy. The prices were not very high, considering the quality of the food. I thoroughly enjoyed my lunch here, and would definitely come back another time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Yummy authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had the bruschetta, olive oil linguini with crab and the vongole linguini. Every dish was perfect! Highly recommended! Pasta served in a cute mini metal (wok)?! Bon appetite !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife & I had pre-booked for 7.30 on Friday evening & after the madness that is Oxford St. at Xmas etc.found the venue to be a real oasis. Genuinely vibrant atmosphere, due in no small measure
to the attentiveness of all the staff. The sharing platter of cold meats, cheese etc. was a good choice, complimented by a fine bottle of italian red for starters, but the main, (we both had the steak with mushroom sauce & fries) was gorgeous. As fine a steak meal as we have ever had. Full Marks.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hearty Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I do like the Spaghetti House Chain of restaurants in London. I have never had a bad experience and this visit was no different. Only complaint is that they do cram the tables in, but it is a small restaurant in Woodstock street and bums on seats etc...
The meatballs are delicious. I always ask for extra chilli and they don't hold back. Just as I like it. Very friendly and great service. Wine list is good and you get the choice of different size carafes if you prefer.
One great sign is that you always see many Italians eating in these places. Speaks volumes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spaghetti House - Woodstock Street also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Spaghetti House - Woodstock Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spaghetti House - Woodstock Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.