We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mixed grill I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yialousa Greek Taverna

Yialousa Greek Taverna
18 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LU, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
+44 20 7837 4748
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,788 of 17,147 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Greek, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury / Holborn
Newtonmore, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best mixed grill I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I'd come again. And again, and again. Couldn't fauult the place. I must admit I was attracked by the fairy lights outside, but I'm so pleased I was.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    27
    29
    15
    12
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Meze marvellous !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Found this lovely little restaurant right opposite the Royal National hotel where we were staying overnight. Our party of 7 all went for the meze - which was a wonderful selection of different dishes. Was great value - as we had numerous bottles of wine (think it worked out at roughly 1 bottle per person), lager & soft drinks - and was roughly £25 per person.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A terrible example of Greek food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I ate here last year whilst staying in the area on business. We attempted to eat at local/non-chain restaurants during our 5 day stay in London and this was close to my hotel. The food was poor. I went for the moussaka thinking that a Greek restaurant should be able to create a good one every time - it was terrible and just thrown together with whatever ingredients they could put their hands on.

The interior was very scruffy and the waiting staff were not overly polite. At a table nearby, a man was having to have serious words with the manager as things had been added to his bill which he hadn't had, so we were careful to scrutinise our bill.

I would not recommend this to anyone staying in the Russell Square area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

had a very average meal here. nothing appalling but nothing i would recommend either. service was adequate but a bit disinterested. wouldnt go back

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, no table cloths, bright lighting, but nice food in generous portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This conveniently placed greek cafe is staffed by friendly, attentive people. The food is served in generous portions and is good quality. Presentation is sometimes poor, but if you are looking for a plateful of tasty food at a reasonable price you should not be disapoointed. The meze (£30 for 2) is especially good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yialousa Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Yialousa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yialousa Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.