We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible example of Greek food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yialousa Greek Taverna

Yialousa Greek Taverna
18 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LU, England (Bloomsbury)
+44 20 7837 4748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,832 of 17,752 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: American, European, Turkish, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A terrible example of Greek food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I ate here last year whilst staying in the area on business. We attempted to eat at local/non-chain restaurants during our 5 day stay in London and this was close to my hotel. The food was poor. I went for the moussaka thinking that a Greek restaurant should be able to create a good one every time - it was terrible and just thrown together with whatever ingredients they could put their hands on.

The interior was very scruffy and the waiting staff were not overly polite. At a table nearby, a man was having to have serious words with the manager as things had been added to his bill which he hadn't had, so we were careful to scrutinise our bill.

I would not recommend this to anyone staying in the Russell Square area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    54
    27
    17
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

had a very average meal here. nothing appalling but nothing i would recommend either. service was adequate but a bit disinterested. wouldnt go back

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, no table cloths, bright lighting, but nice food in generous portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This conveniently placed greek cafe is staffed by friendly, attentive people. The food is served in generous portions and is good quality. Presentation is sometimes poor, but if you are looking for a plateful of tasty food at a reasonable price you should not be disapoointed. The meze (£30 for 2) is especially good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yammas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We decided to try this restaurant only because it was opposite the hotel we were staying in and we were too tired to go further afield!
We were given a lovely welcome and we got the ball rolling by ordering an even lovelier bottle of Syrah!
We ordered greek sausage, grilled halloumi and broccoli soup. I didn't try the soup but apparently it was good and had a little kick. The sausage and halloumi were fine.
For main we had rabbit stifado, moussaka and lamb kleftikos. The stifado was very flavoursome, as was the lamb which melted in the mouth. I didn't try the moussaka but it was polished off and pronounced tasty! The portions were large and were served with beautifully cooked vegetables.
None of us could manage dessert but we did have coffee which was very good.
We left smiling!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Worst Greek Restaurant Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I will start with the best part. The waitress was pleasant and efficient. There is nothing else that I could praise. The starters were the best part of the meze. A few Greek dips scooped from a tub with cold bread.
The main course looked appalling; almost cold and with such an unappealing appearance my wife refused to touch it.We left very quickly without finishing - so did several other people. The owner did not ask anyone if they had enjoyed their meal. Not too surprising really.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yialousa Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Yialousa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yialousa Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.