We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rough Luxe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rough Luxe Hotel to your Saves list
Rough Luxe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Birkenhead Street, London WC1H 8BA, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 525 London B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

A fabulous place to stay. The building has its own unique style. The location in central London is great. Every detail, from the soap to the linens, stands out, and best of all, the service provided by Leo, the charming and ever-helpful manager, is beyond compare. All of its wonderful qualities will make you overlook the small room size. The breakfast was just as special as everything else at the hotel and Leo's homemade fruit drinks are not to be missed.I doubt if there's any other lodging in London with such an extraordinary decor. When I was leaving, Leo encouraged me to stop by if I was in the neighborhood; I'm sure he would have offered me a fruit drink and a warm welcome if I had been able to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
33
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I would like to thank Antonio and Leo for the wonderful night they gave us. Everything (room, bath, Proseco, Breakfast, conversation,....) was PERFECT.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

I stayed here for one night mid week with my husband and simply loved it! Such a perfect little find, so conveniently located right next to Kings Cross Station. Inside is a hidden gem of "eclecticness", an exciting mix of brutal roughness, delightful glamour and charming interiors! It was better than expected!!! Quirky yes, and such fun!!!
Room was perfect size for what we needed, bathroom was really smart (what an amazing shower)....they have used the limited space available to its maximum potential. There were also some with very sweet toiletries which smell amazing!.
Had a heavenly sleep, and awoke with what was quite simpley a fabulous breakfast. Sat outside on their terrace, the continental breakfast with top of the range, lots of choice, great coffee and juice, overall it was DELICIOUS!
We were able to park our car in the mews of the hotel which meant we could go for a leisurley stroll to the British Museum for an injection of culture before heading back to the South West!
The thing I loved most was its originality, its uniqueness and charming style. Hotel manager was so helpful, freindly without being too over the top. Excellent value for money!
I have not a bad word to say about Rough Luxe. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and can not wait to come back again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Whilst the rooms are not huge they are very comfortably appopinted and the art on display is interesting. The real high point is the excellent service from the staff. Particular mention must be made of Leo and Antonio. Very polite, attentive and utterly charming.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We were staying just for a weekend break and it was a surprise venue for my partner. A fairly shocked look on her face as we arrived told me what she was thinking. Unique Boutique style hotel i suppose would be what you would call it.

The room was a little small but the fittings very individual and the bathroom was definitely luxury. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and a bottle of champagne by Hector. It really felt very comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning was a really nice continental stryle on terrace behind the hotel. For anyone wanting something convenient and a little different this is certainly a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rough Luxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Luxe Hotel

Address: 1 Birkenhead Street, London WC1H 8BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 525 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rough Luxe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rough Luxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rough Luxe Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rough Luxe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.