We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apex London Wall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Apex London Wall Hotel to your Saves list
Apex London Wall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% DISCOUNT
Ranked #27 of 1,065 Hotels in London
MD
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great City hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you're going to be working in London City, then consider this place. The location is great, the staff are well-informed and helpful, check-in and check-out were painless and the rooms were mostly good.

Our room was fine although the bathroom seemed to be about 10 degrees colder than the room. Mind you, that's one way to wake you up in the morning. Cleanliness and service were good.

The hotel bar needs a bit more ambiance and I had to instruct one of the bartenders how to make a Dark and Stormy. Perhaps it's me, but they do not have much in the way of single malt whiskies - and one must have a nightcap, yes?

Breakfast was less than stunning. Had to send the coffee back but if you want a rib-sticking porridge, the serving is huge and I didn't have to eat for the rest of the day.

Will I stay there again? Yes, because all in all, I can get breakfast in any number of the hundreds of places nearby.

Room Tip: Try not to get 401 - it is right next to a service door that seemed to be used most of the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jethrosdad,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are delighted that our central location in the city provided you a convenient base whist affording a "home away from home" experience.

We appreciate your comments regarding the quality of our breakfast coffee and the ambiance in our Off the Wall Bar and are disappointed that both of these areas fell below your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we have discussed your comments with the team and have implemented further measures to ensure that we are able to enhance the 'feel' of the Bar, and improve the quality of our coffee product during the breakfast period.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your future business trips to the city.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    211
    34
    7
    2
See reviews for
84
559
61
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I chose this hotel as it had good reviews and it was close to Liverpool Street Station where I would be arriving late at night to spend a two night weekend break. The hotel staff are very pleasant and the room was nice if a little on the small side but with all your needs catered for, my only gripe being the grout between the tiles on the floor of the shower cubicle had been washed away and since this is a newish hotel I was surprised although it wasn't worth complaining about. This hotel is in a great location if you have business in that area but at the weekend the streets are dead and none of the cafes and shops are open and it really feels eerie at night time, we were there in November and the hotel was very quiet. Another point you should be aware of is the close proximity of the hotel to the offices on the other side of the street at the time we were there these were being refurbished but I can imagine this being a little uncomfortable when they are finally occupied. All in all this is a nice hotel and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Lady_grey1997,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit to London. As you correctly pointed our location in the city does mean that the area is particularly quiet on weekends. We find that many of our customers enjoy this aspect as it affords a "best rest" solution with minimal traffic and pedestrian disturbance, whilst still having the connectivity to the "hustle and bustle" on their doorstep. As you alluded to the underground and mainline stations of Moorgate, Liverpool Street and Bank are all within a few minutes’ walk meaning the West End is only an 8 minute tube ride away.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the grout in your bathroom. This has unfortunately been the result of tray movement in the shower cubicles since our opening three years ago. I am pleased to say that over the next two months this situation will be fully rectified as we work with an external partner on addressing this area and arranging a complete shower re grout across the full hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night and have no criticisms. The staff were friendly, professional and efficient; the room was of a high standard in terms of comfort, cleanliness and facilities and the choice and quality of breakfast outstanding.

Would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Youngmotherhubbard,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful experience and felt that our quality of product was to a high standard, which was equally matched by the genuine friendly manner of service, that each of our team endeavour to deliver on a daily basis.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was possibly one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at (and as a business traveller I stay in a lot). The staff were warm and friendly, and the room was magnificent. We had a superior room and it had a lounge area and a bedroom. There were two TVs, a walk in shower, fabulous toiletries, and modern decor. Everything felt really clean and there were nice little touches like gowns and slippers, eye gel, and bottled water. We ordered breakfast in the room because it seemed almost criminal to go out, and there was a good selection of foods available. I couldn't comment on the gym, but the bar was quiet and pleasant. Location was good, there are two different tube stations in easy walking distance, and getting to theatreland, the London Museum, and south bank was easy.

Room Tip: There are some building works going on opposite the hotel... But they really do not disturb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Blue Rhubarb,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was nice to note that despite the building works in the office block opposite the hotel which are due for completion in mid November 2012 that you still enjoyed your overall experience and had a comfortable stay.

We firmly believe that breakfast is an important part of any stay and were happy to see that you enjoyed the quality of our wide English and continental selection from the comfort of your room.

We look forward to having you back with us in the near future and would kindly request that when arranging your booking to look at booking with us directly for our best available rates and packages.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights back in May. On check in the reception team couldnt have been any nicer or done any more. We were given a complimentary upgrade which was well appreciated! The room was amazing with a comfy large kingsize bed loads of pillows and cushions and a large flatscreen television. The room was also kitted out with an Ipod docking station, bathrobes,tea coffee facilities the usual in an upgraded room.
The bathroom was spacious and there was a power shower which was to die for.
We had a drink in the bar on both nights but there didnt seem to be too many around although to be fair it was a late night drink.
I would definitely reccommend this hotel. it is really in the heart of the business district as other reviews say but we didnt mind using the tube which is located nearby.
Definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Brid B,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were pleased that you enjoyed a good experience and felt that our quality of product and in room amenities was to a high standard combined with a central city location, making it a value for money experience.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have traveled many times to London and always wanted to try Apex. However, I have been avoiding London City for some reason.
What a mistake it has been! This hotel is a gem! I have traveled almost 20 years for business and rarely have I met such a friendly yet professional staff I met when checking in. I felt welcome from the first moment.
The room was beautiful, great bed, iPhone dock, separate bath and shower. The room was big on any standard, let alone for London.
The value for the money was great. My weekend rate included complimentary breakfast, dinner, and internet. As I reserved on their site I got a 10 £ voucher.
And there is no reason to avoid the City. Very convenient access by Tube to three nearby stations.
Absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Ppoh,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your first stay with us. We were pleased that you enjoyed a superb experience and felt that our quality of product was to a high standard and this combined with a central city location, having many great public transport connections on our doorstep, made it a value for money experience.

We were delighted that you had the opportunity of taking advantage of our £ 10.00 credit voucher to spend in our restaurant and bar during your stay and hope that you will again consider booking directly with us next time.

We do look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to the city.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at Apex on 10th November for 1night only and would 100% visit this hotel again! Only a 5minute walk from the underground station - we had the junior suite which was situated on the 5th floor room 513. On arrival the reception staff gave us a warm welcome and informed us what was complimentary in our room and what wasn't which helped us not pay any uneeded extras. We had security escort us and carry our luggage to the room. As we entered the room we had a living room with a corner sofa and a flat screen tv, further round we had a king sized bed with a chaise lounge at the end, another flat screen tv and further round we had a huuge bathroom with seperate shower and bath. This room was situated at the corner of the hotel which may have meant we had more space but, was definatly worth it! There was plenty of wardrobe space, a ipod docking station, tea & coffee factilities, iron & ironing board, plenty of towels etc. We we given a £10 gift voucher to be spent in the bar or resturant therefore we had coctails before we went out which were very nice also.

Would 100% stay at this hotel again - I will also ask for room 513 as the extra space you get makes such a difference.

Room Tip: Corner Suite was Beatiful! Room 513.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Green024,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and are delighted that it exceeded your expectations. Our Junior Suite room layouts are indeed very popular, with many guests like you enjoying the added space and luxurious amenities.

As you mentioned our location between Moorgate and Bank stations does afford us a fantastic tube network of connectivity to the west and east ends of London. It was pleasing to note that you took advantage of our complimentary £ 10.00 voucher for use in our Restaurant and Bar during your stay. This is a unique incentive that is available to all our customers who book directly with us through our official website which additionally guarantees you our best available rates and packages.

Thank you for recommending us to other reviewers and we look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex London Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex London Wall Hotel

Address: 7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
#48 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex London Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, this four star deluxe hotel has 89 spacious en-suite rooms with a choice of city, superior, deluxe and suites. The rooms include 40" LED TV, Bose SoundDock MP3 dock, fridge, safe, spacious walk-in power shower, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board, free Wi-Fi and local calls. Other facilities include Off the Wall Lounge Bar and Restaurant, and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apex London Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex London Wall Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex London Wall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.