We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex London Wall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Apex London Wall Hotel to your Saves list
Apex London Wall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England (City of London)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Boutique hotel feel, great attention to detail. We were upgraded to a wonderful room with a fantastic roll top bath. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, outstanding cocktails by Eduardo as well. We stayed with a Secret Escapes deal, and couldn't believe the value. We had a delicious a la carte breakfast in the morning with the papers, gorgeous coffee. Staff couldn't have been nicer at breakfast either! Stay at this Apex you won't be disappointed. Also, when we gave feedback, the manager Simon was really efficient in getting back to us and clearly cares about the customer experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Anna b,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were delighted to have the pleasure of having you with us. Eduardo in our Off the Wall Bar particularly enjoys engaging with our customers and I am delighted his party tricks entertained you. Please be assured that we will ensure he is acknowledged through our internal recognition scheme.

It was also pleasing to note that you found the room to be immaculate (we hope you managed to enjoy a long soak in your fabulous roll top bath) and that the quality of breakfast product was delicious. We look forward in the hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    235
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
94
623
65
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aikoaikoallday
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stay here - simply put, this is the perfect hotel. It is pretty centrally located to everything, it's near Moorgate Station, on a quiet street that is less than 100 yards from a main road (London Wall), and it is impeccably maintained. The hotel staff is professional and friendly in the kind of way that you wish larger “deluxe” hotels were. Lukasz and Aga stand out, but the rest of the staff is superb as well. I’ve stayed here few times, and the rooms are never less that pristine - I’ve never seen so much as a crumb on the floor, a smudge on a mirror or any hint that it is not perfectly clean. Everyone working here is friendly, and continuously working for guests to enjoy their stay. Television channels are pretty varied, bathrooms are nice sized, bedding and pillows are high quality and there is enough closet/drawer space. Whoever manages the hotel deserves a heck of a lot of credit.
Room service is relatively inexpensive and the food is very good. Business travelers will not worry about their budget when dining in. I’ve never eaten at the restaurant, but I’ve heard it’s quite good – I’ve checked the menu and it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Aikoaikoallday,

It was terrific to read of your recent experience at Apex London Wall. The team were delighted that following several stays each of your visits have been as positive as your first.

Your specific mention of Aga and Lukasz is greatly appreciated. They are both dedicated members of our team and we will ensure they are acknowledged for their efforts through our internal recognition scheme.

We pride ourselves on the standards of our cleanliness and work tirelessly to ensure that each room is checked to a very high level of detail prior to being let and it was pleasing to note that you have always encountered pristine standards.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other reviewers and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUFFOLK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We really booked this hotel because of the location, as it was close to the venue of a Ball we had been invited to. We arrived from East Anglia in the early evening and were greeted at the reception, the bar was buzzing, but as we had our evening planned we headed straight for our room.
The room was great, a large kingsize bed, dressing table flat screen tv, fantastic bathroom it made a real pleasure getting dolled up for the evening.
On return after our evening out the bed/bedding and pillows were really comfortable, the room dark for the best nights sleep, and the following morning we made coffee and checked out without a hitch. Really nice find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Boothy07,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were pleased that you enjoyed a good experience and felt that our quality of product was to a high standard and this combined with a central city location, having many great public transport connections on our doorstep, made us a good find.

We hope you had a great time at your Ball and we do look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to the city. When booking do consider visiting our official website, so that you have the opportunity to take advantage of our £ 10.00 credit voucher to spend in our restaurant and bar whilst still enjoying our best available rates and packages.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having refused at the front desk to fill out a comment card because we were in a hurry I feel obliged to write my first ever Trip Advisor on this hotel. I stayed in this exact property over one year ago and the difference is incredible. I was staying in the hotel at the weekend while attending a wedding. The room we received was alot better than last time and the reception staff were very friendly.( Whether we were lucky with the room I do not know but it was great). It had lovely spacious bathroom with King size bed and was alot bigger than alot of London hotel rooms we have stayed in.

We ate breakfast twice and one evening meal and it was all fantastic. A special mention to Daniel who looked after us all weekend literally from Friday evening to Sunday morning. Having spoken to other friends and family staying at the hotel their opinions were no different. He is surely destined for great things in the hospitality industry. The food on all occasions was great and breakfast was fast and efficient.

Our check out was great and stress free with again compliments to the front desk staff who were always bubbly and bright. Comparing our two stays over a period of 13 months the hotel in my opinion has moved from a 3 star standard at best to as close to a 5 star standard of a 4 star hotel I have ever stayed in. Keep up the good work Apex and we look forward to seeing you all again in the new year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear jjrob456,

Thank you for your extensive review following your stay with us at the Apex London Wall hotel. The team were so delighted with your comments and such feedback inspires them to continue delivering the high quality of personable service you enjoyed.

They work tirelessly everyday to ensure that our customer’s expectations are exceeded and we were so pleased that the manner in which they looked after you and your group measured up to the professionalism they consistently strive to achieve. Your specific mention of Daniel is greatly appreciated. He is a dedicated member of the team and we will ensure that he is acknowledged for his efforts through our internal recognition scheme.

We hope your travels back north to Manchester went well and look forward to having you back with us again in the New Year.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

As a family of 5, staying for a night, we could not have asked for more; booking made easy for two adjoining rooms (not always the case with 3 children); good sized rooms and bathrooms, and friendly staff; parking outside hotel (weekend) and location perfect for City, St Paul's Guildhall, Tower etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Jeremy S,

We were very pleased to have welcomed you and your family to the Apex London Wall Hotel. It was pleasing to note that during your 5 day stay you found our quality of room product, central city location and friendly “home away from home” service exceeding your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming your family to stay with us on your next visit to the city and would encourage you to consider booking direct with us, so that you have the opportunity of taking advantage of our £ 10.00 credit voucher to spend in our restaurant and bar whilst still enjoying our best available rates and packages.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a modern and extremely well run hotel. From the check in through bar service and check out the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a corner room (201) which was well appointed, nice change to have somewhere comfy to sit and watch TV (as opposed to only being able to lie on the bed). Bathroom was excellent with massive walk in shower and separate deep bath plus quality toiletries. Nice little touches like free newspaper and a voucher to use in the bar (which was even left open to use in a second transaction). The location is good though most smaller businesses immediately close by do close completely on weekends. Short walk to Moorgate (Northern Line) or Bank (central line is immediately accessible, and takes you direct into the west end whilst a little further walk for other lines including the DLR which gives quick access for a trip to Greenwich which we would recommend). Slightly further walk will take you either south over the river (to Borough Market / South Bank), east past Liverpool Street for Spitalfields and Brick Lane or north towards Old Street for Shoreditch and Hoxton. Good choice of restaurants, bars and pubs in these areas and lively weekend markets. Would certainly consider staying at this hotel again even though a less obvious location for a "tourist" visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Leeson,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and are delighted that it exceeded your expectations. The Superior room that you stayed in is very popular with many guests like yourself enjoying the added space and luxurious amenities.

Our location between Moorgate and Bank stations does afford us a fantastic tube network of connectivity to the west and east ends of London and we are glad you managed to do some exploring around the Spitalfields area.

Thank you for recommending us to other reviewers and we look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had booked with expedia and the price was very interesting (not so cheap, but low) so we didn't expect too much. At opposite we experienced one of the best hotels we could imagine. The position is in the middle of the city, near 'the wall' of the financial zone. 5 minutes by walk and then you are at the moorgate station or at the liverpool station or at the bus stop so you can enjoy london very easily. We used a lot the bus n23 that leaded fast in the center - going throug st.paul's cathedral and trafalgar - and was avalaible day and night. Rooms in the hotel are very confortable, the bed is very soft and - especially if in the night you wanna sleep - you have to consider that the zone is very very quiet from 17 to 8, due to the bank's opening hours. There are three pubs in a 7-8 minutes walk, so if you wanna have another beer you easily can have. Another word has to be spent for the kindness of the staff, avalaible for every need. Next time in london, i will come back at the apex!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Roberto b,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were pleased that you enjoyed a good experience and felt that our quality of product was to a high standard and this combined with a central city location, having many great public transport connections on our doorstep, made it a value for money experience.

We do look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to the city and would encourage you to consider booking direct with us, so that you have the opportunity of taking advantage of our £ 10.00 credit voucher to spend in our restaurant and bar whilst still enjoying our best available rates and packages.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex London Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex London Wall Hotel

Address: 7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#46 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex London Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, this four star deluxe hotel has 89 spacious en-suite rooms with a choice of city, superior, deluxe and suites. The rooms include 40" LED TV, Bose SoundDock MP3 dock, fridge, safe, spacious walk-in power shower, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board, free Wi-Fi and local calls. Other facilities include Off the Wall Lounge Bar and Restaurant, and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apex London Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex London Wall Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex London Wall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.