We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I was looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George's Portobello Fish Bar

George's Portobello Fish Bar
329 Portobello Road, London W10 5SA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
2089697895
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,425 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
Neighborhood: Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Excellent quality traditional cod and chips, a fair price and not a tourist trap. Exactly what I was looking as a fish&chips lover on a 4-day break in London. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Traditional fish 'n chip shop on Portobello market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

It's been there for longer than I can remember, maybe 20 - 30 years, and still serves great fish 'n chips, so go on a market day like Saturday and sit outside on one of the few pavement tables with your cup of char and chips in a paper bag and soak in the joy of local west London life, its just the best

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Fish'n Chips in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Restaurant will be to big word to describe the place, its more of an extended stand but never the less they do what they do very well.
And they are the experts for fish and chips (they also serve burgers) for 5.5 pound you get a plate with a nice piece of fish, chips and peas (or salad). You should try also the fries that they serve in paper ( if you will ask for fries they will tell you that they don’t serve fries but chips). The restaurant is at the end of Portobello market, so I strongly recommend to combine it with a (must) visit to the market.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Not really understanding that this was NOT a sit down restaurant, we went to George's for dinner while we were in London. OK so it is more like a Chicago Hot Dog Stand like "Paradise Pup" (great food, no seating) vs. a great sit down pub for fish 'n chips. That being said the food was excellent, cheap (for London) and was NOT a tourist trap. The neighborhood may be a bit "iffy" in the dark, but that may be just because we aren't familiar with the area. I highly recommend - but maybe for lunch.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

During my last stay in London I ate very good Fish & Chips at George's! I recommend to take the small deal for £5 incl. drink. That's enough! It includes Fish & Chips and a salad or beans! Please note: No indoor seats are available, only 5 small tables outside! The service is professional but very friendly! The best idea is to combine a visit to George's with a prior visit to Portobello Market on a Saturday!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Portobello Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to George's Portobello Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Portobello Fish Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.