We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay in good apartment hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Apartments Kensington 60

Save Saved
You added Dylan Apartments Kensington 60 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dylan Apartments Kensington 60
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   60/109 Warwick Road, London SW5 9EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #398 of 522 London B&B and Inns
the Netherlands
1 review
“nice stay in good apartment hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved to stay at Dyplan Apartments with my daughter of 15 years old. Close to the underground, the London bus, XL Tesco. With a little kitchen, a small bathroom and a small fee, it was nice to stay; we enjoyed it!

Didy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    21
    21
    65
See reviews for
12
56
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

As neither of us had ever needed to stay in a hotel in London before (usually we stayed with family) we had no idea on the cost verses level of hotel quality in London and we really did get ripped off at this place. We did check the reviews but didn't think that it was expensive for inner city. But the room was so small we had nowhere to put our bags or get dressed, the bed basically took up the room. There was a kitchenette but there was no supply washing up liquid or cloths and room service didn’t wash up? We also had to ask when our room was going to be cleaned and the sheets were never changed (we stayed 5 nights) and we didn’t get any fresh towels until we asked.
The drain in the shower filled up and nearly overflowed into the tiny cupboard bathroom. The room was very hot so we had to sleep with the window open and the noise from the room was unbearable. The location of the Dylan Kensington Apartment wasn’t in Kensington at all its in Earls Court (the name is just marketed that way to fool people). It was too far from anywhere to get something to eat so we walked a lot and caught cabs which was an added cost that we didn’t expect. I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone and the price we paid 70pound a night, it really should be half that price and even then I would say stay only a night if you had to.
How we found out just how badly ripped off we were is because we had another 6 nights to stay in London a week later (as we traveled up North and returned), if this place had been better we would have returned but we found the Shaftsbury Hotel Paddington which was LUXURY accommodation cheaper than what we paid at the DYLAN. So do some checking as where we stayed in Paddington was amazing compared the this hole.

Room Tip: Don't stay there are better places in London......or take ear plugs and a portable fan!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The star ratings here are for the RENOVATED ROOM TO THE BACK OF THE BUILDING ONLY. Our first night we were assigned an unrenovated room (9) on the street side of the building across the road from reception. First and for us most annoying thing: Warwick Rd. is a major, massive street with loads of traffic and very, very loud. It was a miracle we slept at all (thanks to valerian, earplugs and a white noise app on full blast). The room itself was in dire need of renovation and teeny tiny. The bed was uncomfortable and it was all just old and dingy. Honestly, that all wouldn't have bothered us as much as the noise, which was unbearable. Luckily on the second night we were able to move to a renovated room (415) on the back side of the building. HUGE huge difference! It was just as tiny but way nicer, with huge flat-screen tv and everything in much better condition, with a comfy bed. Even more essential: the back side of the building borders on a small park and it was very quiet with a nice view even!
As for location it is great, only a 3 minute walk to the tube (be sure to exit on the Warwick Rd. side, the other side [Earls Court Rd] means a 10 min walk) and several useful buses right there too. Additionally there's an enormous Tescos right around the corner (useful since there is a mini kitchen in the room, which was also a major plus by the way).
Overall, for the price the renovated room was well worth it. You'll be hard-pressed to find any decent room in London for under 100 euros / night and we wanted to have the kitchenette so we could eat some meals in (also a great way to save a few quid). However, unless you can be guaranteed a renovated room to the back of the building, I would think long and hard if it's worth it to save the money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Warwick Rd. are outrageously loud. Unrenovated rooms are in poor condition. Renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

No mice or pests in our room... they had moved out. We booked a twin room, only had a double room.. we had to send somebody to another motel. wish we hadnt prepaid. The front door didnt work, up 4 flights of stairs, lucky we are not old, the toilet had alean, like the rest of the building, the room stinks, the shower is small. Moved to a 'twin" room after 3 nights, the shower fell off the wall, the freezer was frozen over and it also smells. The staff were as helpfull as they could be, but that is as far as it goes. only stay here if there are no park benchs left.
Casa Mombasa Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked this hotel before checking the recommendations on Tripadvisor - but as I couldn't cancel without losing the price of the room, I decided to go anyway.
I however asked for a renovated room (top of the stairs), which I got and the room itself was rather pleasant. To be noted that he staff is very friendly and helpful.

Indeed, the place is old and in desperate need of a refurbishment as far as the corridors are concerned. Spotted old carpet, narrow hall... but the room was of a nice size, with a nice comfortable bed a small kitchen and respectable bathroom. Double bed with a good mattress, which could allow a good night sleep.

Unfortunately the windows are not new, and Warwick Road is a rather busy road which will not allow you to rest. I also have concerns regarding the cleanliness of the room - in apparence it was great, but there was a sticker of an apple on the bathroom wall, some dried toothpaste in the sink, and worse, a nice print of a finger on the reverse of the duvet (not sure what was the print made of, however the duvet seemed to be very clean as were the pillows and the rest of the room).

Not sure what to think about this place which very much appears in slow and steady transformation. I won't book it next time just because I need a good night sleep when I travel for work.

Room Tip: Not sure what to think about this place which very much appears in slow and steady transformation, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I believe that some get lucky and get a remodeled room. Unfortunately we were not the lucky honeymooners. And even after many requests to be moved, we were told it wasn’t possible. Even though we stood right in the lobby listening to one couple tell how they came to get their key to the new room they had been moved to (after we had already asked and had been denied). We were intentionally given the shrug off. We stupidly booked 13 nights in this dump online and they knew we were locked in. We were placed downstairs in the dungeon across the street where it smelled like mildew. They changed our bedding one time in the 2 weeks we were there. Oh the bed, the bed was so awful, every spring was felt. That is no exaggeration. And god forbid you want to make toast…it sets off the fire alarm. The room was the size of a closet, the bathroom was a decent size but forget taking a shower in the broken half working shower stall. One good thing I can say is that we received clean towels every day except one. The room wasn’t horribly dirty and there were no bugs that I could see. But this was less than adequate. Waking up and living with a back ache for two weeks while you are site seeing in London is something that isn’t worth the risk in my opinion among all the other unacceptable aspects of this “motel/apartments/dungeon hell hole.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Low end cost, low end room. Served its purpose for 4 27-31yr old men attending Eurogamer expo. Bed was comfortable. Definately looking to spend that bit more next year though. Stay here if all you want is a bed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dylan Apartments Kensington 60? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Kensington 60

Address: 60/109 Warwick Road, London SW5 9EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dylan Apartments Kensington 60 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments features include private ensuite facilities with showers, televisions and fully equipped kitchenettes with a full range of utensils. Dylan Apartments Kensington is only a few steps away from Earl's Court Tube Station and "Exhibition Centre". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, CityZen, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dylan Apartments Kensington 60 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Kensington Hotel London
Dylan Apartments Kensington 60 London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan Apartments Kensington 60, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.