We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Visitor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boundary Rooms & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Boundary Rooms & Suites to your Saves list
Boundary Rooms & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-4 Boundary Street, Shoreditch | entrance in Redchurch Street, London E2 7DD, England (Shoreditch)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
“Regular Visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at the Boundary again last month, it’s become my preferred hotel on visits to London.
The principal attraction to me are the “corner” rooms on each floor, These are large rooms with big windows on two sides, each is presented in the style of a different 20th century designer and, perhaps unsurprisingly given the Conran ownership, this is beautifully done. This is not design at the expense of function, the rooms are well equipped and to a high standard.
If you are looking for imposing public areas, you’re in the wrong place! Reception is a corridor with a desk in it, the basement bar largely services the hotels Restaurant (which I have never used but which seems to get good reviews).
On the ground floor is The Albion Café which fronts onto the street and includes a food shop and its own bakery. It is popular with the achingly trendy young people of Shoreditch which makes it a fun place to eat. It serves all day from breakfast to evening meals. The food is simple but good quality, well cooked and service is generally efficient and friendly.
Not relevant on a January visit but a real pleasure in the summer months is the “Rooftop” serving drinks and food al fresco. It can get very busy on warm days (and I mean queuing in the street busy) but hotel guests can usually be fitted in. I believe is being refurbished for next summer with more indoor space.
Looking forward to my next visit

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Delighted you are one of our regulars, thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    20
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
45
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is horrendous. Rude front of house with apalling attitudes. No hot water coming out bath! Breakfast saw the waiter scratching his dirty long hair then touching my toast with the same hand without washing. Had to ask 3 different waiters for a drink. Really noisy at night time. Like really noisy! I know people have said that's the sacrifice for the location but it isn't! Go and stay at the Hoxton round the corner instead for half the price and you get treated with courtesy by all staff where nothing is too much trouble. And it's super quiet! Amazing hot power showers! And the best are more comfortable.

It goes without saying I won't be staying at The Boundary again. Ever! And I reccomend no one else does either.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBoundary, Manager at Boundary Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We did have a brief problem with the hot water, however it was at no point off for any length of time, but I understand the inconvienence caused. I am sorry that you felt so let down by the service provided and I would encourage you to email myself directly as I would like to know exactly what occured to make you write that our staff have appalling attitudes. I wish to apologise for your experience in Albion also.

Kind Regards
Tim Holloway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Boundary has a great location in Shoreditch within a very young and trendy area that is fantastic to explore. It’s near the Spitafields market and has the best Indian restaurants in town. Our room was very spacious with great closet divisions for luggage and an incredible big soft bed. The style and design didn’t sacrifice the comfort. I really enjoyed browsing the selection of books and magazines they had.

In the desk draw I found all the gadgets I needed while traveling. The hotel even provided earplugs in case the street was too loud since there are various clubs around, which was not the case for me as I slept like a baby.

In the evening we were sent a delicious dessert, with compliments of the hotel from their cafe (nice touch!).

The mini bar was my favorite as they carry every fancy thing you could think of. It’s just fantastic - they even had milk. The bathroom was very stylish and had the best products for your skin. The room service was very fast. I requested an iron, which was brought up to the room in a flash.

The concierge was very attentive. I arrived in a nasty mood due to our luggage having been lost and she handled me so nicely and in a professional manner. I felt better instantly.

I regret not having enough time to go to the downstairs restaurant. It looked amazing! This place is fantastic. We were very pleased with our stay as it was worth every penny for the great comfort provided while away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for the great review, we hope to see again you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This unique restaurant and hotel building is an excellent place to stay and eat in east London. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. The idea that the rooms are managed separately from the restaurants allows each services to be managed expertly. The restaurants are all great - I only managed to eat in The Albion and had the best breakfasts ever in London. The bakery is wonderful - freshly baked specialty breads and savouries waft through the Albion restaurant and shop to tempt your senses.

The service and attention to detail in the rooms is first class. Newspapers in the morning and evenings are delivered with a tempting cake from the bakery. This is heaven as a place to base yourself in London - close to the overground line and within walking distance of great restaurants in Spitalfields and Brick Lane.

A novel idea - executed perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for the sterling review, we hope to see you again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay at the Boundary, which was wonderful. We were able to check in early (5 hours early) and were very happy to be told we had been upgraded from a corner room to a suite.

Rooms are lovely. Firm mattress, choice of pillows, lots of magazines, coffee machine, tea making facility, robes. Bathroom was wonderful - double sink, rolltop bath with excellent power shower, REN toiletries, gorgeous tiled floor. Best bath I've ever had.. The suite had an upstairs mezzanine and downstairs, where there was a chesterfield sofa, arm chair, dining table and chairs, desk etc. Two tvs in the room, one with Apple tv.

Location is excellent. Shoreditch is a great area for quirky shops and cafes, Brick Lane, Spitalfields and Columbia road flower market are a few streets away, and there are lots of bars if that's your thing. With that, there is some noise from the streets late at night, but this is London so unavoidable.

Breakfast at the Albion downstairs is lovely, although definitely not cheap. You are definitely paying to eat in a "trendy" hotspot.

Rooftop bar was closed during our stay.

What sets the hotel apart is excellent customer service. From the moment we checked in, the gentleman on reception was wonderful, and even allowed us to check out 2 hours later with no problem. It's this kind of attention that means I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Delighted you had a great stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had dinner there this week and as on every other occassion it was wonderful. Staff are delightful, the decor is stylish and decadent. Start with a drink on the rooftop terrace (in season). Can't recommend it highly enough. If you need a hotel and have a budget of £250 a night or so, I'd opt for here. Between the restaurant, bar, cafe, and rooms - I'm ready to move in.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a room as high as possible. It's a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Boundary, your feedback is most valuable and really welcome. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have stayed here numerous times over the past 2 years. Rooms are nicely done, although some features are a bit quirky. Love the heated tile floors in the bathrooms and towel warmers. I find the single rooms preferable to the 2-storey suites. Staff are friendly and efficient. Albion restaurant on the ground floor around the corner offers a good but limited menu. Rooftop bar is delightful and always packed in fine weather. Liverpool Street Station, Spitalfields Market & Brick Lane are all within a 7 minute walking radius. 1 minute walk to Shoreditch High Street tube.

Room Tip: 2-storey corner suite gets pretty warm due to solar gain. Bathroom on lower level, bed on upper leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Boundary Rooms & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Boundary, your feedback is important to us and most welcome. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#339 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#92 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,738 reviews
The RE London Shoreditch
#609 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#133 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#239 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boundary Rooms & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boundary Rooms & Suites

Address: 2-4 Boundary Street, Shoreditch | entrance in Redchurch Street, London E2 7DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#163 Business Hotel in London
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boundary Rooms & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boundary Rooms & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boundary Rooms And Suites
Boundary Rooms Hotel London
Boundary Rooms & Suites London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boundary Rooms & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.