We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like the old Brick Lane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meraz Cafe

Meraz Cafe
56 Hanbury Street, London E1 5JL, England (East End / East London)
0207 247 6999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #786 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: East End / East London
Description: The Meraz philosophy has not changed since 1974, it remains one of respect for cooking tradition, from which is born a consistency and an aversion to fads that is greatly appreciated by all. A respect for the patron's palate and comfort, innovating and striving to bring the best in service, atmosphere and presentation, and a passion for introducing Handi Cooked Foods to an ever growing audience.Unusual for Brick Lane, Meraz encourages BYOB.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“like the old Brick Lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

went back to Brick Lane after a two decade gap, the place looked a bit different but still had the same buzz. A lot of the places I remembered were still there but I was advised to try Meraz. Very friendly cafe with no frills but with some really tasty food at a very good price. I have been eating Bangladeshi for over thirty years and this still matches some of the best. Meraz does not have a licence but the store at the top of the road offers diners a 20% discounted price, makes it even better

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Not fine dining just good cafe style
Good food nice fresh poppadoms and pickle tray tarka dall very tasty as was all the other dishes we had no hassling to come inside another bonus was the BYOB with a discount was offered at the local offy so very happy hope to go back and would defiantly recommend

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on 16/3/13 before going on the Jack the Ripper tour.
We went after looking on trip adviser first because when you walk down brick lane nearly all the restaurants have someone outside trying to entice you in with a choice of free drinks or starters its very off putting you can't even look at a menu in peace .the meraz cafe was not like that.
We had a good meal although dishes a little small come in white bowls so ordered another dish ,it's a dry restaurant only soft drinks its bring your own bottle which we didn't know before
Service was very good food quite spicy the only let down was the toilet no hot water and nothing to dry your hands on and the kitchen didn't look that clean but couldn't fault the food
Would I go again yes but would take some sanitizer with me next time and a bottle of wine not the same with 7 up

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had read about this cafe on tripadvisor and so visited on 19 February 2013, it did not disappoint. Tarka Dal and steamed rice excellent, plentiful and inexpensive, thank you. I will be back next time I have meetings in London.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Bangladeshi Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is in my opinion the best Bangladeshi on or near brick lane. I've been going for many years & really love the food. It is a little spice at times, but that's just the way I like it. It's worth going for the specials - I think the nihari (Saturday's special) is amazing.
I've tried a lot of other restaurants nearby, but this is the one I keep coming back to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meraz Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Meraz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meraz Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.