We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkuaz Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turkuaz

Turkuaz
163 Bromley Road, London SE6 2NZ, England
2086974545
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,274 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Turkuaz Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I called in during the early part of the week and the restaurant was reasonably popular. It is a very comfortable and welcoming restaurant and modern in its approach whilst at the same time being very traditional.

I ordered peynirli borek which was ok but not quite as well cooked as I am used to. However, the main course Iskender Kebab was absolutely delicious and definately the best Iskender I have tasted outside of Turkey. Each dish is served with salad or rice so a two course meal here is enough to satisfy the biggest of appetites.

The total cost of the meal including a coke and a Turkish coffee to finish off with came to under £20. More than reasonable for the quality of the food they served. I would definately recommend this establishment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent delicious food, great atmosphere, super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I and my friend went there almost ten of us. we are all from different nationalities.
It was a very cold day so I had my soup there. Meze was great!
As a main course, everyone ordered different dishes so we can taste from eachother. Absolutely superb ! Red meat was perfectly cooked, vegetarian dish was ok, fish was v nice etc.
hospitality was great!
I travelled there all the way from Kent and it was worth it.
Well We should come n see belly dancer next time.
Thank you Turkuaz

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Really nice Turkish restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Turkuaz is small as restaurants go, but light with big windows on two sides. The food is cooked over an open fire. I usually have sea bream and it is always tasty and filling and well presented. The service is very good and attentive. There is a good wine list and Turkish and other beers. I can't count the number of times I have been to Turkuaz! It is a favourite! Between Catford and Downham in South London, it's worth a visit if you are in the neighbourhood (or even if you make a special trip).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Spot On”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Have got take away from here a number of times and always said " we should sit in and eat." Well, tonight we did and we shall be back! Service was great. Welcoming without being in your face, we sat and ordered drinks and shortly after warm bread and olives appeared which were delicious. Expecting to see them on the bill at the end we were pleasantly surprised to find they were complimentary ( when was the last time that happened?!). Atmosphere was great, mellow with a mix of families with young children, couples etc. As we were finishing up a chap sat down on his own, was welcomed by name and automatically brought out his favourite dishes - again, haven't seen that for ages. Ticked all the boxes and we will be back (eat in, not takeaway!) only shame is this restaurant is listed under London and not Catford/Bellingham so may not get the ranking it deserves

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Turkuaz Lewisham (A20) v.nice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely Turkish restaurant off the A20 in Lewisham. Have eaten here a few times now, staff are always friendly and helpful. Food is always very nice, not Michelin star by any means, but very, very nice. Portion sizes are good. It offers good value for money as prices are reasonable. The available drinks selection are varied (spirits, wine, beers, soft drinks and a selection of turkish coffee and turkish beers). The general atmosphere is good, relaxed and friendly. This restaurant is frequented by couples, family groups and groups of friends so should suit any occasion. Generally at weekends, fridays, bank holidays you need to book, but on quiter nights (Monday to Thursday) you can usually just turn up and get a table (but not always as they do get busy). There is a small car park and parking is available nearby in isde streets off the A20. On Friday and Saturday nights they have a traditional belly dancer (usually around 8:30 to 9:30pm). There is alaso an excellent takeaway service and a very good Turkish supermarket next door (not sure if it is the same owners but I assume it is). Overall highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkuaz also viewed

London, England
Bromley, Greater London
 
London, England
 

Been to Turkuaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkuaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.