We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in the centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square to your Saves list
Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Northcumberland Avenue | Northcumberland House, London WC2N 5BY, England (Westminster / Belgravia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good choice in the centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a good alternative to standard London hotels having a more residence feel, with an excellent restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The rooms are big by London standards and well equipped with excellent bathrooms. Free mineral water is a good touch, but the staff are the key difference particularly within the bar and restaurant who are very helpful and happy to help; even when the bar is closing! Breakfast can be a bit crowded but it is worth the wait compared with usual hotels as food quality is very good, just plan for a later start.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    375
    103
    31
    10
See reviews for
167
285
55
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I was very surprised at the poor service and quality of this hotel. If you need somewhere to rest your head then even a travel lodge or premier inn would be better. You pay for the location but the rooms are quite basic. When we checked in the girl behind the desk was quite rude, not making eye contact or smiling the whole time and giving abrupt answers to our questions. We asked for a queen bed and got a double. Had no glasses in our room and took 30 mins to get some sent up. When we checked out, services that we hadn't signed for had been added to our bill because they'd made a mistake with room numbers. They did refund immediately but seemed typical that this would happen.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Club Quarters between 25 and 29 October. Forget about the rest, for Central London the location is simply superb. The hotel is interesting in its own ways, being a historical building itself. The staff is always attentive and helpful from check-in to check-out. Although, to my taste the decoration of the rooms are a bit boring but I think anyone can live with that. Free wi-fi -which is a rarity in most London hotels- was superb in the room and we had a comfortable stay. The hotel's location is so ridiculously central that we just walked everywhere and anywhere. Definitely would stay again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Here on business for an overnight. Travelling alone, so didn't use public areas. Used self check-in, as reception was small and busy on arrival. I did not ask for a smoker's room, but was allocated one, which stank. Rang reception and was asked to go to reception to collect new room key, after a long day I declined and asked to meet a member of staff at the alternative room. The staff member met me at the room, and let me in using a skeleton key, then told me to go to reception to get a new key, again I refused and asked for him to bring it to me, which he reluctantly agreed to do. Room service was OK, but nothing special. There was a microwave and empty fridge in the room, and the new room had a strong smell of disinfectant. At £175 per night with enough milk and coffee/ tea for 2 cups in a (small)double room, no biscuits, nothing in the fridge over priced under delivered, will not be returning. There are far better places to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked this not knowing much about the hotel, but on arrival we had stayed there before? This hotel is the same place as the "Grand at Trafalgar" and share the same entrance and facilities. The hotel looks very posh but is very nice and the staff but you at ease as soon as you arrive. the hotel allowed us to store our bags early even though the room was not ready. The room was very spacious and of a very good standard. Our room had a small kitchen area with cooker, sink, fidge and everthing you would need to eat in if required. No noise from the outside world even though we were directly on trafalgar square. Great location for the west end and shopping, would definately return as the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: weekend rates better than midweek as aimed at weekday business types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The location of the hotel is good for theatreland however it is very basic for the price (£200 for 1 night without breakfast). The room was clean but very small and had a tiny window making it feel very dark and opressive. There are much better places to stay for the same money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Club Quarters hotel is in a great location, just steps from Trafalgar Square and within walking distance of attractions such as the parliament buildings, Big Ben, and Westminster Abbey.
My room was small but well-equipped and comfortable, with one exception: the temperature!! The thermostat did not seem to affect anything. The fan control worked, but blew very hot air around the room. With the fan on, my room would bet really hot - I would guess between 30C and 35C. Even with the fan fully off, my room would get very hot at night. This was also true for several of my colleagues in different rooms.
Housekeeping was spotty. One night, I had no shampoo. Another night, my towels were removed but not replaced. A colleague didn't have a TV remote. However, rooms were cleaned well.
I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but I did order from Deliverance, a delivery service recommended in my room information binder. The chicken tikka masala was fantastic! But on the second time I tried to order, the phone lines were jammed for 15+ minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square

Address: 8 Northcumberland Avenue | Northcumberland House, London WC2N 5BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in London
#189 Business Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#221 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square is an exclusive, well-appointed hotel located within the restored, historic landmark, Northumberland House. Featuring a spectacular entry hall, first-class restaurants and state-of-the-art amenities including in-room ergonomic work-stations and complimentary Internet access, the hotel is a true find. Just steps away from The National Gallery, Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace and other fabulous London attractions, the Club Quarters is an inspired destination for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters At Trafalgar Square Hotel London
Club Quarters At Trafalgar Square London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.