We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain House Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fountain House Apartments to your Saves list
Fountain House Apartments
1, Lancaster terrace, London W2 3PF, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 1,066 Hotels in London
United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We originally booked at the Prince's Square Apartments, but received an e-mail the day before we were to arrive that there was an issue with the apartment and they were moving us to the Fountain House Apartments. When we checked in, the clerk said that sometimes, with online booking, they overbook. We stayed 5 nights in a newly refurbished apartment on the -1 floor. Very spacious and clean apartment, but loud. We could hear the family across the hall and the emergency door that the housekeepers use makes a loud noise when it is opened and that is constant in the morning. The street noise is fairly loud as well. Great location, right across the street from Hyde Park and the Underground Station on the Central line. Was easy to get to the apartment from Heathrow and also easy to get to St. Pancreas for the Eurostar to Paris. Good pub, The Swan, around the corner. Noise level is the main reason for the average rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taraneh Z, Manager at Fountain House Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your input, I am delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services but I am really sorry for any noise inconvenience you have experienced during your stay.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the noisy staff door.
I hope that we will see you again very soon.

Best regards
Manager & Fountain house Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
1
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Greatest location and clean place to stay in for a holiday. Friendly staff. Don't waste your money somewhere else. Oxford Street is few minutes walk and Hyde Park is just steps. I would come again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taraneh Z, Manager at Fountain House Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments,
we all look forward to greet you back at Fountain house soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at Fountain House early October in a 2 bed apt opposite Hyde Park and tube station, many buses to best shopping in London, clean and large apartment, staff are helpf,. They were fully booked but made sure we check in as soon as possible. Any slight problem were solved quickly. As I said I come back and l will next year. I agree lift is small

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one week in October. The apartment is conveniently located next to Hyde Park and Lancaster Gate Underground Station. The Front desk clerks were nice. On the other hand, tenants were noisy, and you could hear their footsteps day and night. The apartments furniture needs more attention. The rug was dirty and the dresser's mirror was not fixed properly. Luckily it fell down when we were out and no one got injured.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taraneh Z, Manager at Fountain House Apartments, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind input. I am sorry for any noise inconvenience occupants of any of the apartments may have caused to you,
we really do our best to cater for each of our guests needs and we feel sad to see any unsatisfied comments from any of our guests.
just a little note, all flats carpets are recently replaced with new carpets and all flats with carpet flooring are regularly machine washed but I appreciate that you were not entirely happy.
We are hoping for another chance to prove how much we care.
Fountain house Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the apartments for 2 nights at the end of March, 2013. I chose a different hotel under the same group but was offered Fountain House instead since the former was full. I was initially pretty hesitant about the property, based on the mixed reviews I read in Tripadvisor since the reviews were mostly negative.
However, my hesitation was unfounded as my stay turned out to be pleasant. The apartments were very functional, with separate living/dining rooms and bedrooms. It was spacious, a point which i was concerned after having experienced London's notoriously tiny hotel rooms. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen and bathrooms were spanking new and very clean and bright. There were adequate heaters throughout the unit, an important feature especially during that week when temperature was almost zero. The only complaint I have with the unit was the carpeting which looked and felt old and jaded.
The reception was always present, although we didn't really need much help. The location is superb as the entrance to Kensington Park was literally across the road. The Lancaster Gate underground station was also across the road, less than a minute's walk.
Overall, it was a very functional apartment with generous space in a superb location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taraneh Z, Manager at Fountain House Apartments, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Just to say thank you for your kind comments, we hope to do even better next time.
Thank you
Fountain house Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Efficient and helpful staff. Large clean apartments, and very well equipped kitchens. very comfortable and relaxing stay. Housekeeping was so fast to respond to our needs and demands. This is a professional run Serviced Apartment, I will be straying here from now on. Very accessible to Lancaster Gate and Paddington Station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taraneh Z, Manager at Fountain House Apartments, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments,
hope to see you back at Fountain house very soon.
Fountain house Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Despite the location, opposite Kensington gardens, these apartments are not worth staying at. The place is so run down. There was maintenance work happening every day. This was not highlighted at time of booking. Someone then tries to kick my door in. And to top it off, the fire alarm goes off at 400am, no manager present to investigate or reset. This place makes Fawlty Towers look like the Ritz! There are plenty of better options in the Bayswater area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain House Apartments

Address: 1, Lancaster terrace, London W2 3PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux-ury Ser-viced Apart-ments in Bayswa-ter: if a cen-tral Lon-don loca-tion, good trans-port links and mag-nif-i-cent views of Hyde Park appeal to you, then look no fur-ther. Foun-tain House is a beau-ti-ful prop-erty offer-ing 17 ser-viced apart-ments sit-u-ated right across the road from Hyde Park (oppo-site Lan-caster Gate tube sta-tion) and within min-utes from Padding-ton Sta-tion and the Heathrow Express. This is the per-fect base from which to explore and enjoy the cap-i-tal with London's many attrac-tions close by. Foun-tain House is close to the shop-ping hub of Oxford Street, world-famous restau-rants of Queensway, fash-ion-able Not-ting Hill, Edge-ware Road and con-ve-nient trans-port links are on the doorstep. All the apart-ments are designed for com-fort and equipped with mod-ern ameni-ties, includ-ing broad-band, satel-lite tele-vi-sion, fully-fitted Kitchens and 24-hour mon-i-tored secu-rity by Recep-tion desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, CityZen and Odigeo so you can book your Fountain House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain House Apartments Hotel London
Fountain House Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.