We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Mediocre Facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain House Apartments

Save Saved
You added Fountain House Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fountain House Apartments
1, Lancaster terrace, London W2 3PF, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 1,073 hotels in London
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location Mediocre Facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse over the holidays for 10-days. Based soley on the accomodations my rating would have been a poor rating however the location brings it up to average.

You can't beat the location. It is right accross the street from Lancaster Gate tube station and four blocks away from Paddington Station. Hyde Park is also across the street and it is a 15-minute walk to many other ammenities and shopping. There are also several good restuarants, pubs and small markets within a 5-minute walk.

The accomodations unfortuantely did not measure up to the rates charged or the impressive portrayal on the website. Also don't assume there is a grand lobby and concierge. There only exists a rotating manager that mans and office from 9 AM - 10 PM daily. Like several others have mentioned the apartment was in dire need of upgrades and repairs. Among the items which didn't work or needed repairs were; washer-dryer, heating system, light bulbs needing replacement thoughout. We brought all of these items up to the manager with either no action taken or attempts made with no sucess in fixing the faulty items. New flooring, painting, and window coverings would also be a big improvement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
1
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Poor maintenance. Washing machine broke down, heater broke down , cabinet door broke down very small amount Of utensil.
Service is poor even we complained that all dryer was not working. Lots of things broken.
It not worth staying in this apartment at all. Very poor service and no compromise for late check out. We asked for N hour late check out. The guy said I hv to pay half day.
We spent in this apartment 2 weeks with 3 bed room apt and 2 bed room apt.
The guy did not care at all even if this is my second time here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week over Thanksging in apartment #8. These could be fabulous apartments with just a few improvements. Ventilation fans in the bathroom would prevent all the peeling paint. Some paint color on the walls would add some interest and highlight the architectural details. There are no table or floor lamps - only overhead lights. The walls are completely bare - some lovely artwork on the walls would have made it feel more finished. A coat tree or wall hooks near the front door would have been welcome.

The kitchen has been recently remodeled and it is fully fitted, but not stocked well. There were 19 kitchen knives of all sizes, but not a single spatula, corkscrew, or serving spoon. 12 different frying pans, but no lids to fit any of the pots and no colander. I've never stayed in an apartment that didn't come supplied with basic spices (salt, pepper, sugar).

The bathroom is huge and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The tile is sophisticated and well done. Bad ventilation has caused the paint to peel very badly making the place feel cheap and dirty.

The beds are hard, but springy and not uncomfortable. We all slept well. The white sheets and duvets were spotless. It would have been nice to have night stands with bedside lighting. The supplied lamp did not work. A dresser in the master bedroom would also have been an improvement.

The living room is odd. There are two fold-out sofabeds facing each other. This layout makes it completely impossible to open either one. A glass coffee table between the sofas further complicates the layout and creates a hazard which we all banged into many times. There is also a large dining table that is difficult to sit around in the tiny room. The sofabeds are FILTHY and badly in need of replacement. We placed bath towels on them before sitting. Again, no floor or table lighting makes this a difficult room in which to spend any time.

The washer/dryer was the main reason we chose to stay here, but it would not drain or dry our clothes. The housekeeping staff graciously washed and dryed our laundry for us. Several complaints to the front desk did not result in any attempt to determine the problem with the washer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed about 1 week at the penthouse with 4 bedroom and 4 bathroom.
It is a nice penthouse, clean, spacious, every bathroom has bidet!, complete amenities.
Staff are helpful.
Very near to Lancaster Gate tube station and Hyde Park

Disadvantage:
You cannot park near the roadside since it is right in front of a corner. So it is really troublesome for those who travel with heavy and big bags. Plus, the lift is very small.......

Room Tip: Choose the penthouse :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

beautiful pent house at level 7 and very good service, very close to underground station, facing the Hyde Park every Sunday there will be a lots of people selling painting at the corner of the apartment.

Room Tip: if you come more than 3 person this is the place ask for pent house at level 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Visit London 2 weeks ago. Stay with my kids in fountain house was a great experience and excellent hospitality. Now I know that London people and very kind and friendly. We rented 2 bed rooms apt which was facing towards Hyde Park....when the sun come up every morning a very gentle breeze will fill the apt with fragrance of flower and fresh air.
Apt was excellent and rooms were cleans and staff was very friendly and helpful...during the stay we were feeling like at home.
Me and my kids enjoy our week of stay in London and have lots of fun.We will remember it for ever.

Room Tip: I like my 2 bed rooms Apt 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are a family of 5, we stayed in a 2 bedroom Superior apartment at Fountain House, we stayed end of August for 1 week. , the staff were very good and helpful.

Flat was nicely decorated and clean, Apartment had a good view to Hyde Park which is really a beautiful place and all you have to do is to leave the building

and cross over the street and you are there at Hyde Park, so many Bus Routes and also the Metro station is again across the street

Price is very reasonable, Location is fantastic, Service and Staff are friendly, the apartment itself is very nice and has A.C.

My other sister lives in America and next year we will meet in London hopefully at Fountain house.

Maid service is daily except Sunday. Just to say thank you for the good time we had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain House Apartments

Address: 1, Lancaster terrace, London W2 3PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space, freedom and easy access. If a central London location with good transport links and magnificent views of Hyde Park and the city appeal to you, look no further. Fountain House is a beautiful property offering 18 serviced apartments right across the road from Hyde Park and within minutes from Paddington Station and its Heathrow Express. This is the perfect base from which to take off and explore the best of the capital’s premier spots. Apart from the many famous attractions of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, Fountain House is close to the shopping hub of Oxford Street, world-famous restaurants of Queen’s Way and fashionable Notting Hill with its Portobello Street Market. All apartments are equipped with modern amenities, including broadband, satellite television and 24-hour monitored security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, CityZen and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fountain House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain House Apartments Hotel London
Fountain House Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.